Excellent campfire safety info ..

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 13:49
ThreadID: 52361 Views:3153 Replies:5 FollowUps:5
If you reckon sand is the best option for extinguishing your campfire, you need to look at this...

Site Link

Reply By: bware - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:15

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:15
Smudger,

A great post. Thanks. I hope it gets read by many.
AnswerID: 275621

Reply By: Member - BIGDOG G (WA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:34

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 14:34
G'day Smudger,

Yeah, we think we know it all eh. I know I have been guilty of useing sand, wont happen again.

Cheers for that.........BIGDOG
AnswerID: 275626

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 15:41

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 15:41
Pretty basic common sense.

One thing I fail to understand is why people use rocks in and around a fire. Pick the wrong rock and you might be in for a big surprise. If using an existing campfire I normally remove the rocks.

Normally I kill the fire with wash-up water and then cover it with dirt or sand to as to smother any resisting fire.

AnswerID: 275636

Follow Up By: Member - BIGDOG G (WA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 18:38

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 18:38
As I said, "We think we know it all" then along comes Willem to tell us Its "basic common sense"
Then promptly states he.."cover it with dirt or sand to smother any resisting fire".
Oh dear, dear.....What resisting fire......Read the original post again Willem.
See what I mean, We think we know it all.

Regards............BIGDOG

FollowupID: 539438

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:11

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 19:11
Yerr mate

I do things my way and don't rely on some Government Instrumentality to tell me how to suck eggs.

I knew I would elicit a response from someone.

It is still common sense. The sand/dirt bit is to cover any latent embers there may be as a doubling up of killing the fire. Quite often you will have a piece of wood still emitting steam after being doused with water. Sometimes the water does not penetrate right to the core of the wood. Hence the sand/dirt should smother any fire still smouldering inside the wood. Covering the charcoal embers of a fire makes certain that if a wind sprang up and there was still some fire smouldering then the sand/dirt should stop the start of another fire. And on top of that, covering your dead fire, makes your camp site look tidy.

FollowupID: 539443

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:10

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:10
The link refers to what is best in Qld.
Last time I looked, Qld had lots of beach sand and not much desert sand. On a beach you have plenty of water. Like Willem says, its all common sense. Use water in those places because water is best.

In the desert, you don't have plenty of water. You also don't have kids running around burning themselves ( not on my trips anyway :-)) Again, use you common sense, and covering up your last remaining embers with sand is the best option in a desert.
FollowupID: 539457

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:30

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:30
Spot on Willem, douse it wth the washing water and then cover it with dirt, only way to put it out completely without wasting all yer water

FollowupID: 539518

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:04

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 20:04
The booklet is good, but I am surprised that it shows a person simply chucking water on the fire from the bucket. That really wastes the water, and usually there is not much available for further chucking on.

I was taught in the Scouts a long long time ago to splash water from the bucket on to the fire. A handful at a time really gets into the embers and you can move slowly around the fire making sure it comes from all angles. A bucket full (including the wash up water and maybe the wash hands water) generally douses it pretty well and gets most of the embers out.

It does not take long to do and makes sure the fire is well doused.

FWIW
Max
AnswerID: 275682

Follow Up By: Smudger - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:13

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:13
Maybe it was dishwashing water in the bucket. Good grief ..it's a bloomin' dramatisation.
FollowupID: 539510

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:49

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:49
I also think people need to consider where they are in what they do with a camp fire.

Water and cover with sand in the middle of a desert I don't see any major issue, but water and cover with sand at a popular camp site is simply asking for someone to get hurt.

I'm a bit pedantic in relation to putting out camp fires but I don't feel I go over the top I'm just VERY aware where I am is all.

AnswerID: 275713