silly things you have done

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:24
ThreadID: 52383 Views:4178 Replies:8 FollowUps:11
we met some people this arvo that are new to vanning, got talking about thiings to do and watch out for, general stuff. the wife started to remind us about the first caravan park we went to. it was about 25 years ago, we were driving from Adelaide to brisvagas with the kids. we had a nissan blue bird and an old sun wagon.
we had free camped all the way from Adelaide to bald rock in the national parks, after doing the climb to the top of bald rock we decided to drive all night to reach Byron bay.
We arrived about 2am. there was a sign at the front office that said if arriving after 11pm just find a site and we will see you in the morning. so off i go and look for a site in the dark, came across a really nice one close to the beach. get out check the spot only to find a bloody great concrete slab about 250mm off the ground. I'm thinking, Ive heard about these flash storms up here and it must be so you don't get flooded, so out with the wooden blocks to try and get the sun wagon onto the slab. took three or four goes lots of abuse to the wife and kids but managed to get it up there and set up, this all took about an hour and a half.
next morning when we get up i find that we are the only van on the concrete slab and the rest of the fellow vanners all had there annexes on them. park owner comes down, normal small talk at first,then she askes, first time vanner are we. got sh%$ from the wife for years after that one. have plenty more but have got better over the years.

Reply By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:58

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 22:58
Tonight I went paint balling, sounds fun at first, now I am covered in welts and hurting. Its the latest thing on my long list of silly things.
AnswerID: 275714

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:06

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:06
Started adventure racing- ohhh the pain!!
AnswerID: 275719

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:09

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:09
whats adventure racing?
FollowupID: 539529

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:40

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:40
Come on Shane....its bloody obvious mate....you race an adventure.....DURRRH ! LOL.

Cheers...Lionel.
FollowupID: 539537

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:51

Saturday, Dec 08, 2007 at 23:51
i live a sheltered life.
FollowupID: 539540

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 10:58

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 10:58
Shane,

A good starting point is here: http://www.arocsport.com.au/

But to be seriously honest, the silliest thing that I have done, in hind sight, is to take a year off to study. Quite a strain on the family, relationship, mortgage etc.

As for camping wise, I never do anything silly, but that opinion may differ slightly from my wifes perspective ;)
FollowupID: 539564

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 00:36

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 00:36
Reminds me of the first time we went to N.T , camped at Caravan park out at Katherine Gorge , we got there after dark and set our camper trailers up, in the morning we kept on getting people walkin thru our campsite whilst we were trying to have a bit of a sleep in...well after about the 6th or 7th time i got a little bleep off and jumped out of bed got a pair of pants and shirt on and thought right ....next prick walks thru our camp is gonna get a good serving .....well guess what ??? lol stupid here had only set camp up on main walkway thru to the ammenities block .....talk about red faced ...hahaha

Cheers.......Dave
AnswerID: 275733

Reply By: time waster - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:59

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 07:59
Hi Shane,
Too many silly things to talk about, for our honey moon we bought an old pop top spaceline to go around the block, first night never towed before got to Portland and trying to back it in up a slight incline and forgot to put the brake lever down for reversing and got ourselfs jammed in with being too close to the other van in front took awhile to realize to get the missus to hold on the caravan habd brake while I eased forward, after that we changed sites.
How do you find the rapid ? we have just ordered an outback expanda after having enough of winding up and down the jayco eagle outback that we had.
We are in Adelaide too with two kids under 4 and like the idea of the lower beds.

Christian
AnswerID: 275750

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 11:58

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 11:58
hi christian, love the Rapid, took five years to decide on it. have had tents,sunwagon,full caravan and camper trailer in the past and the rapid is all the above in one. just wish i had more time to get away, only used it twice in a year.
we have it set up so we are completely self sufficient and can last in the bush for two - three weeks now before needing to go back to the rat race.
FollowupID: 539569

Follow Up By: time waster - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:53

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:53
Thanks Shane we have since kids gone from tent to cavalier style camper to the eagle and soon the expander I know jayco's quality issues being a previous owner but modify it to my liking anyway and also the dollars come into play.
\We were the same in the eagle love the bush camps the kids have so much freedom without the speedy cars in the caravan parks and in SA we have some great 2-3hour drive bush camps that we frequent every couple of months, having a 80w solar panel and a small kipor gen we could camp for some time with out supplies. The new expander I have ordered with 3x 90lt water tanks as it has shower/toilet (had enough of setting shower tent up and heating water and the to get up in the night to pack it away when it blows away) plus 55Lt in the car with pressure pump also have just picked up the honda eu20i generator as we sold the other with the eagle. Were are your favorite camps around SA?
http://www.newhilux.net/rides.php?id=227
A link to our tow lux.

Christian
FollowupID: 539658

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:17

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 09:17
Most of my recent "events" have been re-counted on EO courtesy of my so-called "friends".......things like my oil slick on the Stuart Hwy in June this year and the ripping-off of the ChevNissan's gullwing door at Alice Springs.

All good fun!! hahaha
AnswerID: 275755

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 11:42

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 11:42
Gday Roachie
You didn't mean to do those things on purpose , so they are just minor mistakes. Don't be so hard on yourself.
Murray (muzbry)

FollowupID: 539568

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 17:25

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 17:25
I cant wait for LUCY to reply to this thread, it will take him three days just to type out his reply, and with his short term memory, he will probably recount the same story three times in five different ways and blame six other people for it hahahahahaha

FollowupID: 539610

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 21:51

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 21:51
Not at all

The pair of you (Roachie & BONZ) are just a pair of 'Chit-magnets', everyone except you two are aware of that.

FollowupID: 539673

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 10:32

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 10:32
Too many to contemplate but recently ran out of fuel on a major freeway. Had been in a flat spin all day and not noticed that I had been running on the aux tank. Thought it was dirty fuel, as I'd filled the main tank that morning.
Had to explain to the RACQ that I'd managed (after calming down) to "get myself going again".
No excuses, I've known better for about 40 years !
I suspect it was red faces day.
AnswerID: 275766

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 12:19

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 12:19
footloose, know what you mean about being in a flap, i remember one time, in band camp,(sorry wrong story)
it was the week before Christmas and i had been on the road off and on for three weeks, had one more delivery to do to Melbourne. loaded up and set off. when i was topping up at port Wakefield ( not kidding) realised where i was, i could not believe how stupid i was. had to drive all the way back to Adelaide then off to melbourne again. my excuse was that i had driven from Adelaide to Lincoln and back dropping off at most towns, then Adel. broken hill, Adel. to wagga, Adelaide mt Gambia, Hamilton, in that three weeks and i was that stuffed didn't know where i was or where i was going.
FollowupID: 539572

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 12:33

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 12:33
I can relate to that ! First time I drove the family to Perth, Wollongong to Perth in 3 1/2 days. Had to get there for Xmas party. Fell out of car in Perth to ask girl in garage "where am I ?"
Her look was priceless. I meant which suburb, but it didnt come out that way. Imagine some wierd looking and foul smelling guy crawling in and asking that !
Took me 3 weeks to get over the trip, and came back more slowly.
FollowupID: 539574

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 17:40

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 17:40
Silly things I've done.... where do I start???? Naaaaaaaaaa I always get emabarrassed when people ask me for the fine detail...
AnswerID: 275799

Reply By: Member - Hurkmagurk (WA) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 13:48

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 13:48
We came in late and tired to a CP in Kalbarri. Tried to reverse the Triton into a very tight annexe beside a cabin. I managed to drive the rear wheel up 2 or 3 brick steps leading into the cabin, across the small landing, and then dropped it down off the other side. Bugger to get out again the next morning!!!!
AnswerID: 275930