Submitted: Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 11:39
Member - Brett (WA)
G'day guys,
well the new ML Triton has really performed and I couldn't be happier with it. She's all done for touring, got the rooftop tent on there and that has been fantastic!
I've had her in some
places that I thought she'd never go but she's done really
well.
I don't think you could ask for much more with a tourer like this. Still have a few bits and pieces to do here and there but everything is pretty much set up and ready to go.
All the new photos are in my rig profile.
Still got those Landcruiser shots there, can't get rid of those but they're a good reminder of how quickly things can go pear shaped when out in the scrub.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 12:42
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 12:42
G'day Brett where abouts was the photo of you doing the
creek crossing over the logs?
Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:18
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:18
Hey Duncan, thats down by Brunswick
Junction, had a weekend there a couple of weeks ago, really nice area. I think there's a WA ExplorOz trip lined up down there next year, I should be getting along to that pending on work commitments.
Reply By: mike w (WA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 14:03
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 14:03
nice lokking 'rig/4wd/car/ute/PC term' for an offroad vehicle.
Looks like a lot of thought and work has gone into the setup.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 18:30
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 18:30
Nice unit! One would think the No Plate on the other vehicle would be EYESHTUKNOT.
Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:20
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:20
HA!! Now that'd be a good plate!
Reply By: Member- Tony C - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 22:05
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 22:05
G'day Brett.It sure sounds like your pretty impressed with your new Triton.She looks like a top rig.
I ordered
mine last week and can't wait for its arrival in a few weeks. Will be interested to see how it goes compared to the cruiser.
Did you have to change rims to go to 265/75/16 tyres and any issues re clearance under guards,gearing etc. going to that size tyre.
Tony
Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 10:40
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 10:40
Keep the standard rims Tony, saves a lot of dollars. I've got the 265/75/R16's, Cooper ST's and there's plenty of clearance and it also calibrates the speedo. The standard tyres throw the speedo out by about 8% to 10% so as soon as you get the 265/75/R16's, that'll sort out the speedo.
I match
mine with my GPS unit so the speedo's now correct.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 09:57
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 09:57
Good Morning Brett
Does the Triton have MacPherson strut front end??
If so, have you strengthened the towers?? And fitted a strut brace??
Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 10:43
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 10:43
The only thing I've done to the
suspension is upgraded to a 40mm OME lift. Didn't do anything else to strengthen the struts.
They're already pretty strong, I think Mitsubishi learnt a few lessons after Toyota started using the IFS on Landcruisers and Hilux's.
I haven't heard of anyone having issues with their
suspension, not yet anyway.
Reply By: Member- Tony C - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 22:36
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 22:36
G'day Brett,
Fair dinkum speedo with standard tyres out by 8 to 10%? Iam surprised thats out a fair way. I would have thought speedo would be calibrated to show the correct speed with standard tyres.If speedo is out i suppose fuel consumption figures and distance will be out by similar amounts also.
Sounds good though because i was going to change tyres but was concerned going to 265/75/r16s would throw things out to much.
Tony
Follow Up By: Member - Brett (WA) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 22:40
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 22:40
Yeah I was pretty surprised by it too. Fuel consumption's pretty good 100kms.
Reply By: rambo7 - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 08:08
Tuesday, Dec 11, 2007 at 08:08
that speedo thing was interesting checked
mine on gps and its out by 5kph from 60 to 110 ks the triton is great got an auto diesel heaps of power