Submitted: Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 17:57
troyza
had cruisers, troopy but now a disco "98". Want to set it up for touring. Whats best for a lift?, does it really need a locker in the rear?, racks? Hope to tow a camper with a tinny on it also
Cheers all!!!!!!!!
Reply By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 18:51
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 18:51
Yeah....sell it quick and buy another toyota....fast....when only the best will do....toyta.
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:01
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:01
"when only the best will do....toyota"
Maybe thats why he moved on, not all Toyota ownership experiences are great....
Mine nearly bankrupted me.
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:16
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:16
And driving them like your rig pic it's no wonder ;-)
Cheers Craig............
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:40
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:40
"And driving them like your rig
pic it's no wonder ;-)"
Toyota do make cars other than 4WD'S
It was the 1990 Cressida that put the HUGE dent in my bank! :)
Cheers Stefan
P.S The old 1977 Corolla was a different story though Great car
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:33
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:33
Stefan , i know where your coming from with the cressidas, my niece had a late eighties mod, the f...k...g thing near gave me a ulser as her dear old uncle axle was the only family member to help her out, One of toyotas biggest stuff ups Me thinks!!, Apart from the 3b dyna engine, and the one to follow!, Any how enough about chit box toyo engines!......lol.
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:41
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:41
G'day Axle,
If I remember
mine was the 7MGE motor I think??????? GREAT car when working, BLOODY EXPENSIVE car when not!!
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 12:47
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 12:47
Wan7er
Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:18
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 20:18
Well believe it or not mate!!, your sitting with the best, and most reliable mod disco out there! ( providing its been looked after a tad)probably Whether it be the 300tdi or the guzzling V8 petrol, in that particular year they where landrovers better models.
With out knowing your off road intentions, in standard form they are probably one of the best out there!!, Before releasing heaps of loot, i would hook up and do a run into something rough and take it from there.
Follow Up By: foxtel - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 22:23
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 22:23
Yep I agreed, I had a 300tdi that I went
places that tojo could only go with arb diff locks with mud tyres and
suspension lift and I had AT tyres and standard
suspension. It's will get 9.5 -10/100kms driving at 110km. A never missed a beat. To bad BMW screw up the D2, make a Landrover into a Toyota, if I want to take anywhere would have to buy ARB lockers and to get the TC work in sand you need muddies. Should have keep the 300tdi
Reply By: Member - Rotord - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 22:28
Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 22:28
Hello troyza
I thought the Series 2 started in 1994 ! If the tail light assembly is low down near the bumper , it's a Series 1 , if the tail light assembly is almost halfway up towards the roof , it's a Series 2 . If you install Old Man Emu springs and shocks you will get 2 inches lift and vastly improve handling and ride . But it makes sense to wait for the original shocks to deteriorate [ which wont take too long ] .The Series 1 came with a manual diff lock and this was dropped with the early Series 2 . Serious offroaders fitted diff locks , but it may not be justified for touring . Is it deisel or petrol ? The deisel is thrifty but gutless ,you would want a light weight camper . If petrol , it will tow a heavy camper at speed up hills in overdrive . If you tow a camper the roof rack wont be necessary so don't have the extra drag stuffing up your economy . The Longranger [via ARB] fuel tank is a good mod , but make sure that your tow bar is fitted first .
Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:12
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:12
Series 1 Disco 1989 to 1998
Series 2 Disco 1998 to 2004
Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:26
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:26
LandRover Series I 1948-1958
LandRover Series II 1958-1966
LandRover Series IIA 1966-1971
LandRover Series III 1972-1985
Discovery S1 1989-1998 (200&300tdi + V8's)
Discovery S2 1999-2004 (TD5 + V8's)
Discovery S3 2004-on.
Disco
Reply By: Redback - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:21
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:21
troyza, is it a V8 or 300 TDi ?
A 2" lift, ATs, maybe a bullbar, a winch if you like but not necessary, spotties, a locker if you want, but if you put a locker in, you'll need to upgrade you axles too.
This is a great Land Rover resource
AULRO
Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:26
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 08:26
Oh yeh as Axle and foxtel say, the 98 Disco 1 is a great reliable beast and very good offroad, alot of guys are holding on to them and not going to the Series 2.
Follow Up By: troyza - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:47
Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:47
Hey thanks
Its a TDi, got, b-bar, At's but would like a lift, being a short wheel base its an unreal climber. Not sure what those two guys were on about at the start of this log but im guessing they have never had one, just like most critics!!!!!!!
Reply By: Smudger - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 16:23
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 16:23
Mine's a '97, last of the Series I upgrades. Always amuses me. They finally got it right, then decided to go back to the drawing board it and stuff it up with a new model. Took them another 4 years to finally get the Series II right.
Front and Rear lockers? If yours is a '98 I reckon it came out with no Centre Diff Lock. LandRover reckoned that traction control would do the job, but it was hopelessly inadequate. Most definitely yes, at least rear Locker.
If it's the later Series II with reluctantly reintroduced Centre Diff Lock- they took a while to admit they'd stuffed up - it depends how serious you are off-road. This is my second Disco, (with Center Diff Lock) and in 8 years have only once wished I had a rear locker. in that instance I could have taken a longer route, but decided to boil the billy and wait for a couple of hours until the track dried out. I've put my dough into setting up the inside for
camping. It's a question of priorities.
Lift? IMHO the Disco's factory supension setup is excellent. We've done heaps of touring across the top end and in the outback.
Have never got hung up, and rarely bottom out. Pick your line and save your dough.
Racks? Fine, if you never want to go into shopping centre carparks. Disco's are taller than most, you'll soon learn to watch for the height signs.
Welcome to the club, and expect to get heaps from all those Tojo owners who are jealous of your Disco.
Just smile and say .."It's a Landie thing. You wouldn't understand."
Follow Up By: troyza - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:51
Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:51
Yeh the 98 came with a centre diff lock as it has one, factory.
Thats a classic bout the Tojos, i once was one but like most they give a heap of stick cause they never had one!!!! It was hard to be open minded, but glad i was!!
Follow Up By: troyza - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:52
Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:52
the 98 is still a discovery series 1. yes low rear lights......
Reply By: Smudger - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 16:37
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 16:37
Here's an alternative to diff lockers for Series II Disco..
http://www.amv.com.au/SeriesIIDifflock.htm
Follow Up By: Redback - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:08
Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 18:08
Smudger, it's a Series 1 Disco that he has, the last one before the series II, not a Series II, so the CDL is standard.