Nissan Patrol Wagon Problem

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:05
ThreadID: 52400 Views:2738 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
Need some thoughts from Patrol owners Please.
Situation, cruising along the highway sitting on 100k, went to overtake looked in review mirror and heaps of bluey grey smoke. Pulled up, motor runing like hairy goat. No bang or anything to indicate blown motor, turbo etc..
Vehicle is a 2001 3lt wagon owned by the BIL.
What do you think the problem could be?

Franga

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:19

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:19
Franga,

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news mate, but I reckon she's stuffed. What you have described are the classic signs of a 3L Patrol that has just sh@t itself.

I hope I'm wrong, but I think you BIL is up for a new donk.

Mate of mine has a good 4.2TD motor for sale in the Trader Section of this site for $4K....and it has a bigger/better turbo on it than the standard turbo too..

and I hope I'm wrong about the diagnosis

AnswerID: 275820

Reply By: Hoyks - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:41

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:41
Yep, sounds like a hole in No.3 piston.

Unfortunately, you are far from alone:
http://forums.overlander.com.au/viewtopic.php?t=50020&highlight=patrol

AnswerID: 275824

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:42

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:42
Sorry Franga but me thinks Roachie is right on the money

Cheers.......Dave
AnswerID: 275825

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:53

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 19:53
Hope for the best and plan for the worst!!

My 2.8 was showing 99% of the symptoms of a cracked head, and all the experts were saying have to take the head off for a look, but I told them it had been doing it for 50,000 KMS and I doubt a cracked head would hang on for that long. Turned out to be a small crack in the plastic header bottle.

So I am saying get a few opinions before the call is made that the engine is stuffed

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 275826

Reply By: Member - Kenneth Trevor B (QLD - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 21:38

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 21:38
check turbo hoses under that big cover happened to me hose blown off
AnswerID: 275843

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 21:42

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 21:42
Do a search on here for 3.0 Litre Nissan and you will soon see what the problem is.

Hope your BIL has deep pockets as its gunna cost him heaps, sorry to say.

AnswerID: 275845

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:32

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:32
come on john..
they fixed it in 2001.. I mean 2002...I mean 2003...I mean 2004...I mean 2005...I mean 2006...
FollowupID: 539757

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 22:06

Sunday, Dec 09, 2007 at 22:06
Could also be your EGR System

Mate had similar problem and that's what it turned out to be.

Heaps of Smoke
AnswerID: 275849

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 10:28

Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 10:28
Franga

One of the guys at work had a similar problem with his 2002 3lt.

He took it to his local dealer who plugged in the diagnostic computer. They replaced one of the electronic thingies, the air flow meter I think.

His was done under warranty but the cost should not be disasterous.

Then again Roachie could be right.

AnswerID: 275907