Hand winch vs high lift jack.
Submitted: Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 10:20
KSV.
As we know high lift jack (HLJ) can be used as hand winch. So what advantage of “proper” hand winch would be over HLJ? So far I can see only one – HLJ need to be reset after a meter or so. Any other comments?
Serg.
Reply By: Wizard1 - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 10:28
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 10:28
Ummm, lets see, should be too hard.
Hand winch can pull some thing around 20 metres or the length of the cable while a HLJ travels around 48 inches. Could be a little more time consuming.
Not sure of the "pull" capacity of a HLJ, but it will be no where near as high as a hand winch which most start at 1.6 tonne verical lift.
PS Tha rated capacity of a hand winch eg. 1600 kg, is vertical lift not horizontal pull which would obviously be greater, put a snatch block ro two and it goes up again..They are rated for vertical lift as their Australian standards apply to construction lifting gear, which is what they are designed for.
Reply By: Wizard1 - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 10:29
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 10:29
Ummm, lets see, shouldn't be too hard.
Hand winch can pull some thing around 20 metres or the length of the cable while a HLJ travels around 48 inches. Could be a little more time consuming.
Not sure of the "pull" capacity of a HLJ, but it will be no where near as high as a hand winch which most start at 1.6 tonne verical lift.
PS Tha rated capacity of a hand winch eg. 1600 kg, is vertical lift not horizontal pull which would obviously be greater, put a snatch block ro two and it goes up again..They are rated for vertical lift as their Australian standards apply to construction lifting gear, which is what they are designed for.
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:00
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:00
Can't change a tyre with a hand winch ;-)
Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:53
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:53
Not supposed to use a High Lift for tyre changing anyway..
Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:58
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:58
Correct, but it makes an excellent bead breaker.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:04
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:04
Hand
winches are hard work themselves, lets see you drag your car 100mtrs with a High lift through mud..
is it school holidays already?
FWIW, never been with anyone who has used a High lift offroad ever.. seems like more of a toorak accessory to me.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:20
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:20
"FWIW, never been with anyone who has used a High lift offroad ever....." Yes you have. Used one in the Simpson. Used in the dairy too as a winch. On the other hand, have used the winch as a port-a-power too on the farm.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:21
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:21
Truckster I reckon your right. Some friends had to use one recently to lift a steel bar (break the weld) on a
gate support. Big security padlock had been vandalised. Poor bug**s would have had a real nasty trip back up some very steep, dangerous slippery hills if they had not had the hi-lift to do the damage for them. I was just about to ditch my hi-lift till I heard this story. I know the
gate in question and travel that track occasionally, have not decided whether to keep my hi-lift or replace it with a 12 volt disc grinder :-))
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:30
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 11:30
"" Yes you have. Used one in the Simpson."
I just be stoned... I dont ever remember being in the Simpson.. infact never been close to the place :(
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 12:33
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 12:33
Hey Trucky,
I guess MrR is stoned since buying that Sahara...hahahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 12:34
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 12:34
seen the error of his ways,his moment of pure weakness... but wont admit it.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 12:34
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 12:34
PS. at least it wasnt a Jeep...
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 12:53
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 12:53
Bruce, look at your tense, quote "FWIW, never been with anyone who has used a High lift offroad ever"
You didn't say I have never been with anyone when they have used one, ever!
Bro, I have never been stoned, since Kath or before. I didn't have to be stoned to notice Bruce would like an auto in his GU 4.2. I have one in Kath LOL She has a 4.2 engine in her too :-)))
Follow Up By: vuduguru - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 13:48
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 13:48
"lets see you drag your car 100mtrs with a High lift through mud"
Let's see you drag yours a 100m with a hand winch of any sort!
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 13:49
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 13:49
Ummm.....Bro...... I do recall a night of Imported Cognac in the southern antipodes whereby 'stoned' could have been a byword.....or was it only me?...lol
Auto...yer going soft, mate....hahahaha
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 13:51
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 13:51
with the use of snatch blocks many a 4b has been dragged thru mud where there were no other options
the night with the rolled ford courier ute up gemmy, would love to have had 4x High lifts instead of 4x turfors to drag that up, then across, then down and back on
wheels.. would have been there still... that was 4yrs+ ago..
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 13:53
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 13:53
> I didn't have to be stoned to notice Bruce would like an auto in his GU 4.2
I have an auto in my 4.2, not sure of ya point here?
PS.. you could only give a Toyota a womans name.. :P
Follow Up By: vuduguru - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:03
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:03
I'd have used my mobile ).
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:05
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:05
Nokia?
Follow Up By: vuduguru - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:06
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:06
Ha! trusty 6110.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:04
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:04
KSV
Take no notice of the comments of the above pack of 'pajeros'.
You sir, are the ONLY ONE who can figure this out for yourself .
I respectfully suggest that you borrow a Hi-lift and a Tirfor type hand winch and try both over the same test conditions.
Carefully drop/place your vehicle in a
creek bed or up against a
creek bank to give it some resistance.
Then ensure that you are recovering up a reasonable slope/incline to an anchor point approx 30-40metres away.
Then recover that vehicle to within 5 metres of that anchor point using both pieces of apparatus.
TIP: you will most probably require some ancillary recovery gear to be successful.
Also you may need an oxygen bottle as
well.
However I am sure you will have decided which one is for you.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:06
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:06
you forgot to add - do this on a 30+ degree day in the sun..
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:27
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:27
Very remiss of me Truckster.
Thank you for correcting my oversight.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:35
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 14:35
you had sun?!!
you were LUCKY!
try pullin' t' vehicle out bog in teeming rain!
'ail stones the size of melon
noooo anchor point in vicinity, or anchor
and when we got home our Dad would kill us and dance about on our
graves singing "Hallelujah."
but you try telling the
young people today......
Follow Up By: Johnnotoo - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 15:35
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 15:35
As I am aware, a hi-lift jack was never really designed for pulling, only lifting - which it does pretty
well (with limitations) I have experimented with using it to pull and it is bloody difficult , messy and dangerous. The loaded up hand lever will take your head off if you happen to lose your sweaty grip before it locks in each stroke. Plus it would only have the pulling power a fraction of a Tirfor. Like one of the other replies said, they make a great bead breaker and are handy for many things BUT NOT pulling a 4b out of a bog.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 16:22
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 16:22
ha ha ha
look here Johnno
no, i don't use a hi-lift for bogs Johnno. thanks for your concern :) But I don't mind a bit of Python where appropriate either.
hi-lift jack uses
but then again, I've always said there's nothing an agnostic can't do if he really doesn't know whether he believes in anything or not.
Follow Up By: Johnnotoo - Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 18:44
Monday, Dec 10, 2007 at 18:44
Sorry bushfix
I meant to reply to the original post, instead I inadvertantly pressed the follow up key and gave you a earfull!.
Loved the Python link. Takes me back - one of the all time great sketches.