I have a dream .....
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 09:07
Rosco - Qld
Well ... actually ..... sorta do. P'raps more of a pipe dream, but anyhow ... when I'm sorta ....a bit more ancient ... but not quite ready for the box ...if you know what I mean.
I have a yen, at some time in the future, to setup a 4WD motorhome/camper. Maybe a Hino/Mitsu/MAN/Isuzu or something similar and get hold of a 2nd hand van, knock off the running gear and mount it on the back of the truck. I reckon I could set up a pretty good rig for me and herself to do a bit of extended travelling/working in relative comfort.
Trouble is I don't really know
where to start, esp with regard to the truck. Where would I look to get an idea of what's available and at what cost?
I've sorta got an idea I could set the lot up for maybe $60-70K. Am I dreaming? How would I go about getting someone who knows their stuff to give a prospective acquisition the once over.
Or maybe I should have another Bex, a cuppa and a lie down. .... do you think I'm or . more bonkers than usual. ;-))
Reply By: KSV. - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:05
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:05
Another option is very clever campervan. I do not remember manufacture (can find it if you ask), but idea is put unfoldable campervan unit directly on tray of 70 series LC. Looks very neat and comfy to me and 4WD ability never get compromised. They claim that you can unfold it in less then a minute. Also big attraction that you can put topper on top of van, and this is somewhat cumbersome with higher vehicle.
Serg
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:32
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:32
Serg
Thanks for the input, but basically I'll be looking for something bigger than you can put on a conventional 4WD trayback.
I know it would limit my offroad options, but after having spent many months on the road with a CT, I'd be looking to go about as big as a caravan so I could use it as a mobile office + have a few creature comforts for an extended time on the road. To give you an idea, the size of one of those OKA campervan setups would be about the minimum.
Reply By: ob - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:31
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:31
Rosco-Qld
If you are nuts so am I. We were looking at the same concept. One concern I had was the ability of a standard caravan mounted on a truck (4WD of course) to withstand the shaking it would have to endure from a trucks heavy duty
suspension. From what I have seen a bus
suspension is a lot more compliant, some even run to air bags for passenger comfort therefor not so stiff. The problem is finding a bus of reasonable size with 4WD under it. The other option may be if you want 4WD capability would be converting a bus to 4WD and converting the inside to a camper. Just a thought.
Cheers ob
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:35
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:35
Ob
Your 2nd option is worth consideration. As for the 1st point .. very valid, thanks. P'raps the van could be mounted on airbags between it and the tray, or maybe retain
the springs in some manner. Time for the thinking cap.
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 11:43
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 11:43
Something like
this?
Click on the 4x4 or 6x6 link. The 6x6 link shows an old Acco getting the conversion treatment.
Reply By: Jimbo - VIC - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 11:59
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 11:59
Rosco you crazy old bastard,
There are heaps of buses out there that have already been converted to motor homes. Someone else has already done the work for you.
I've seen lots of them towing a little Suzuki behind them.
Cheers Cob,
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 12:06
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 12:06
Yep ... that's me
I've seen lots of them also, but was thinking more along the lines of a 4WD bus, so can go extended offroad without stopping at base somewhere and then taking off in the Suzi.
Cheers old mate and have a merry chrissie.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 13:27
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 13:27
You too and Valda as
well.
When are you coming down to civilisation again?
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 13:45
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 13:45
Jimbo
Flying in on 2/1/08 then driving to
Foster for 10 days fish'n 'n drink'n 'n generally play'n up like a 2nd hand lawnmower. Would be tops to catch up, but may be difficult.
Cheers cobber
Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 14:17
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 14:17
Mate,
You drive past my place to get to
Foster. How about dropping in and staying at our place for a night on the way down or back?
We've got two spare rooms, plenty of space.
I've lost your number.
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:23
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:23
Jimbo
Tried your old Myers addy but bounced back. Drop me a line at rjnicoll AT optusnet DOT com DOT au when you get a mo.
We'll work something out.
Cheers cob
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 12:08
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 12:08
Rosco, hop into your newsagent & check out the 4wd & Motorhome Trader mags...every sort of rig is in there, may find
one to buy or ideas to make one up, cheers...oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 13:06
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 13:06
And phone Smiths Trucks
Ballarat and get prices on ex military vehicles , they will have about 500 in stock . May have some with cabs on the flatbed . Don't use their website , its got a trojan today .
I may be corrected by the professional truckies , but I think that the hard ride might not be such a great problem as you add weight . If you went to half the rated load the ride should be improved but you are
well short of the heavy weights where damage is easily achieved in potholes . Adding
water for the shower could be the way to go [ or more beer ] .
Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 12:13
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 12:13
Dunno where you are in Qld- but a mate at
maryborough did just that. Got a Dyna Dual cab (had a pantec body- dropped it off an sold it)..Jacked it up and converted it to 4WD with Cruiser running gear. The fabricated a camper body on it. Has done many trips around Oz. Canning a few times. Is great on
the beach (
Rainbow & Burram Heads). If you're in that area I could give you his details.
He's in the process of doing a Coaster 4WD job at the moment..
Reply By: Kevndeb - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 13:23
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 13:23
I have a friend who has an Oka. Some of them come with campers already on the back, seen one on Ebay the other day, full fitted out.
He doing the Eyre Hwy with it this weekend too, heading for
Melbourne.
Debbie
Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 13:30
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 13:30
Rosco
I've seen exactly what you are talking about on a couple of trucks, both were tilt trays.
The first one was in the middle of the Simpson, a 4WD Hino 8 tonner tilt tray with a 20ft full sized van bolted on the back minus the
wheels. Just like a normal tow truck but 4wd. The bloke had a second set of leaf springs on a skid frame up near the front of the van and another skid under the original springs. No
wheels at all. The skids were bolted to the tray when it was in position.
The springs allowed the van to absorb the shock from the truck
suspension and he could slide the whole van off and sit it on the ground if wanting to
camp somewhere for an extended period.
At the front of the tray just behind and either side of the winch he had two of those galvanized pallet crates one with firewood and one with a 1,000 litre
water tank. The van sat comfortably behind them
He reckoned it just ate the dunes and sat comfortably at the 100k on the open road.
The second one was a a normal 2wd tow truck with a very similar setup, He had two motor bikes, a slightly smaller van and the Pathfinder on the lift behind being towed. Still had his towie plates and signwriting on the side so was obviously on holidays.
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 14:03
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 14:03
G'day Rosco
A mate of
mine converted a 6 cyl diesel Coaster to 4wd by installing 80 series diff, transger case etc and single
wheels on the rear. The Coaster is very capable off road and has done extensive desert treks.
Then you could build you own interior to suit.
I had something like this in mind for a while but the dollars weren't in the bank for such a project.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 16:11
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 16:11
gee. nothing like my dreams.
My dreams include 2x 25yr old twins with long hair,d-cups, brazillians and no voice boxes.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 17:16
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 17:16
"My dreams include 2x 25yr old twins with long hair,d-cups, brazillians and no voice boxes"
You forgot to add.......with small expectations LOL
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:20
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:20
You have to stop eating big meals late at night Trucky.
Jimbo
ROTFLMAO
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:25
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:25
its not the size of the prick that does the trick...
its the throb of
the knob that does the job....
10 mins
Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:29
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:29
Thanks fellas
Lotsa interesting and helpful info there to keep me going for a while.
I'll keep you posted.
Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:51
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:51
Hi Rosco,
truckhub.com.au will source a vehicle that may be of intrest, its deal on wheels as
well as a few other related magazines
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:43
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:43
word of warning the idea of a big truck 4wd cmper sounds good take it from somone that didnt even go that big they are too big to actually take many
places
and with all that weight if you actally take thm somwhere 4wd is needed they bog far easier than say.... a defender and it will take more than a cruiser to get you out
been there done that gave up on the idea
Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 08:45
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 08:45
Yep Davoe
I realise there would be limits as to where you could actually go. But I think it's fair to say you would get to far more spots than a Tojo/Nissan/Rover towing a similar sized van.
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:53
Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:53
Rosco,
A friend built a camper on the back of a Mitsubishi Canter 4WD truck, and made it out of insulated cold room material. Would have been cool in summer, as well as warm in winter, and because of the colourbond exterior, didn't need painting.
Wouldn't have been too heavy to lift off either....with some assitance,
Hooroo,