4Wdriving around Nowra

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:07
ThreadID: 52509 Views:2444 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
Hi guys
I am new to this site. I have just myself a Pajero and am keen to get back into the scene as I have been out of it for a few years since I sold my 92' Troopy. I live in Nowra NSW and am keen to put the Pajero through it's paces over the Xmas break but I don't know anywhere to go as yet, I am just asking if anyone can point me in the right direction of good 4wdriving tracks around the Nowra area, I don't have a GPS as yet hopefully Santa will drop one under the tree for me. Any help would be great guys.

Thanks in Advance

Maxy

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:21

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:21
G'day Maxy
I'm sure Laura can give you a few hints!! But maybe the 'Mahindra Special' might not make the grade !!
AnswerID: 276372

Follow Up By: Maxy2216 - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:33

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 10:33
Hi there Signman,
Who is Laura? are you calling my vehicle the Mahindra special? if so why, just curious. After seeing your truck makes me miss my troopy now, I take it that you go a fair bit, nice photo's by the way. I take it that you don't know of any spots down here then.

Cheers Mate

Maxy
FollowupID: 540282

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:31

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:31
Dont worry Signman...Im to the rescue....I reckon I might know this Maxy.....mmm....

Laura
FollowupID: 540375

Reply By: mick smith - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:55

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:55
Mate,you are in the thick of it there,Yalwal and surrounds have some great tracks.Go to the map shop and do some bloody homework!Most of all have fun!
MICK
AnswerID: 276465

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:28

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:28
Hey Maxy.....Im Laura with the navara called "Mahindra" (thats another story .... lol...)

We're in West Nowra.....Yalwal Road...Glenair Ave.....anyway...for 4wding.....head out towards Yalwal itself and, cannt remember the KM's but there is a "major" turn off....as it gets in the bush....track / road is Deans Gap Road....about half way along there is another "major" turn off and this is Wombat Flat....

this will take you through the valley and up again and join with Braiwood Road....

Its not overly hard..took first timers on it 18 months ago in a brand new prado and they were fine......

your real name not ben by any chance??

email me....

nlkabarnes4@bigpond.com

Laura

ps this is one of extremley many days of fun.....
AnswerID: 276487

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 07:24

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 07:24
Bloody hell Maxy

Your in trouble now,,,,, Laura is ( maybe ) zero-ing in on you, hehehehehe

Don't worry mate, you are in good hands.

Cheers Mate

AnswerID: 276570

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 07:37

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 07:37
Maxy,

if you are after Maps, Dept of Lands has an office in O'Keefe Avenue Nowra opposite Aldi. Its on the ground floor of the NSW government offices building. There is limited parking out the front.

As many have already said, Yalwal is a good place. Yarramunmun Fire Trail (if its still open), Plus there are plenty of tracks in the State Forrest on the eastern side of the Nerriga Rd and between the Nerriga Rd and the Highway. 12 Mile Rd, Messmate, etc.

There is also the Old Burrier Rd which links up to the Yalwal Rd. Off both these tracks there are some other tracks too. There is a nice lookout off the Old Burrier Rd. Great place to stop for lunch or a cuppa.

But get yourself some good topo maps (they should have most of the local ones in the Lands office - or you can buy the lot on DVD)

cheers,
Sam.
AnswerID: 276576

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 07:40

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 07:40
Should have also added, if you want to get a bit of an overview, check out http://imagery.maps.nsw.gov.au/. You will need to load the plugin for the imagery to work, but from the list of display images in the bottom right of the screen, you can un-tick best available and put a tick next to "topographic maps - current series" and then click the white arrow next to this and you will get a mosaic of all the topo maps that you can then zoom in to.
FollowupID: 540455