satelite phones

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 14:07
ThreadID: 52521 Views:3854 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
Our son works on a 2 million acre cattle station in SW QLD and we are thinking of getting him at Satellite Phone for Christmas, any recommendations, thinking may be Iridium TM may be the go??

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 15:02

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 15:02
Yes, that would probably be the go. See if you can round up some pre paid cards also, so that you don't keel over at the call charges :)
AnswerID: 276416

Reply By: Robert from Real-Ezy Trailers Pty Ltd - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 16:58

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 16:58
Thanks for that, looking a lot like a Globalstar now as plans are a lot cheaper than telstra.
AnswerID: 276435

Follow Up By: KiwiAngler - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 17:08

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 17:08
Please take the time to search through the many many reports on this site about Globalstar - I wouldnt be rushing into a plan with them if it was me.

I have an Iridium connected Motorola phone into which I put my GSM sim card which is activated for global roaming, no plans but quite high per minute rate costs.
FollowupID: 540330

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 17:09

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 17:09
Errr... do a bit of a search on this forum - I don't think Globalstar works worth mentioning.

FollowupID: 540331

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 17:32

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 17:32
Shhhhhh Kiwi and Mike..........

Hi Robert

I have a great Globalstar Handset just out of contract you can have for a Price well below knew, hardly used (usable), would make a great CDMA phone for a couple of months, occasional use for a sat phone possible when all of the planets line up,

Sorry for being sarcastic, but I used to defend G* as they weren't too bad for a while there, but they are getting worse. In a recent email from them, they told me the CDMA would stop soon, but the service fee would stay the same, followed by an apology for it......

I'm not that happy with my $2000.00 handpiece that I could probably sell (with a clear concience anyway) for about a carton.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 540336

Reply By: KSV. - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 17:54

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 17:54
Do not forget about rebate

Serg
AnswerID: 276448

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:06

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:06
Good point. There is a commonwealth rebate of up to $1500 if you can show that you'll be out of normal mobile/comms coverage for more than 3 months in the year. Most of the dealers will have the paper work. It's easy and quick to get a result on. I have the globalstar digital and have gone over to Carrier pidgon! The service and reliability is lacklustre at best.

Cheers. Mick.

AnswerID: 276451

Reply By: Pete and Lez - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:08

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:08
I would go Iridium, and as I was advised look at plans through TRTelecom, think that was right. Check on google for site address.
Cheers Pete and Lez
AnswerID: 276452

Follow Up By: Robert from Real-Ezy Trailers Pty Ltd - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:24

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 18:24
Thanks everyone for your very informative feedback so far and looks like I had better give Globalstar a miss due to their very "fast" service. Will look into Iridium now and see what I come up with and will certainly qualify for the rebate.
FollowupID: 540345

Reply By: furph - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 19:45

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 19:45
It would very much seem that with a satphone you just get what you pay for.
We have owned a Westinghouse/Optus connect satphone for the last 10 yrs. which works 100% of the time, no dropouts, no system failure. Can access voice, data and fax.
It is not the cheapest by any means, but what value does one put on a life threatening emergency.
We work (seasonally) in SW Qld. and have used it once to contact Charleville RFDS (all RFDS nos. programmed in) in an emergency call.
furph
AnswerID: 276476

Follow Up By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:53

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:53
Have to agree Optus are the best....we have a NEC S2 Optus mobile sat phone and cannot praise the service enough plus cheap calls.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 540429

Reply By: Member - BIGDOG G (WA) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:48

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:48
Globalstar...................Got a good one here..............cost me $2000 12 mths ago...........you can have it for $100

Cheers...............BIGDOG
AnswerID: 276495

Follow Up By: blue one - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:52

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:52
Why don't you guys mount a class action?
FollowupID: 540383

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:45

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:45
Robert,

We purchased an Iridium phone through Telstra, a couple of years ago, and have found it quite good.

Are on the $50/month plan which gave us the full $1500 rebate, and $20 of free calls per month.

While travelling, we have assisted other travellers, once for a rollover, and the other for vehicle breakdown. Occasionally, we use it for private use, or when our Telstra system is cactus. With retirement not too many years away, it is to be part of our travel plans.

The station has a Globalstar phone, and while the clarity of calls is excellent, one can rarely ever make a call, because there's no service!

I'd say an excellent choice for a Chrissy present for your son, and very useful.

We live on a one million acre place, not so big after all!

Hooroo,

AnswerID: 276542

Follow Up By: Robert from Real-Ezy Trailers Pty Ltd - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 23:30

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 23:30
Thanks for the info Bob, everyones input on the forum has been a great help in gaining information on all the models and service providers. 2 million acres is large and he calls our 40 acres here a front yard............
FollowupID: 540438

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 23:02

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 23:02
Globalstar could well be a cheaper plan but if you wish to make or receive calls that is not an option they can guarantee, at least not until 2011

Neil
AnswerID: 276550

Reply By: Dean - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 12:07

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 12:07
Definately go Iridium, if you want a plan forget about telstra, other resellers have better deals, if you dont want a plan do as suggested, use a gsm sim in the phone.
A bloke told me early next year new handsets will be available for iridium, heaps smaller than my 9505A which is nearly 3 years old, about time they upgraded, might be true, who knows.
Dean
AnswerID: 276624

Follow Up By: Robert from Real-Ezy Trailers Pty Ltd - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:02

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:02
Just found out from Safecity Services that there will be a "NEW' Thuraya Satellite Phone released early January 08 is GSM as well and all the features of a mobile phone and colour display!! for around $1600, might be worth waiting to check it out!!
FollowupID: 540536