How much do you spend on a car?

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:06
ThreadID: 52531 Views:5799 Replies:20 FollowUps:11
I am looking at getting a new car, most people who earn the modest amount I earn are buying new or near new cars in the vicinity of 25 to 35k. I cannot justufy that kind of spend and I am in the order of 10 to 15k max. So the quesiton, how do you work out a reasonable amount to spend without overdoing it. EG would you get your yearly income of 45k, split it in half to 22 odd grand and spend that? Just inteserested to have a comparo. Thanks.

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:10

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:10
It really boils down to how much of a deposit you can raise and then how much you can borrow (if needed), that will be manageable based on your circumstances. My last car was nearly $40k but the repayments are manageable to me/us.

AnswerID: 276480

Reply By: HGMonaro - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:14

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:14
I save up until I can pay cash (i.e. Bank Cheque). Unusual these days !
AnswerID: 276482

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:16

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:16
Yeah well up untill now I have always paid cash, my work car cost 3.6k. My wifes car under 10k but I am being told everyone else does it so why dont we. I dont have an issue with loans but I do have a problem with loads of debt.
FollowupID: 540372

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:17

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:17
"I am being told everyone else does it so why not me"

Hi F4Phantom, the next one who tells you that ask them what payments they are prepared to pay on your behalf!!!!!! LOL

You and you alone can work out what you want to pay for a vehicle and how you can pay for it, work out what you are comfortable with and find the best vehicle in that range.

Good luck with it.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 540410

Reply By: Geepeem - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:18

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:18
HI F4,
For what its worth I think it just depends on what stage of life you are at and your priorities. My personal view is minimise what you spend on depreciating assets (just as vehicles) until you can get yourself established in an appreciating asset (eg own home, unit or land etc). By doing this you can ensure your future financially which allows you to do many other things later in life - eg new vehicle, travel etc.
If you are young-ish I would suggest a modest car in the lower price range you suggest. If you are older with your own home or other assets go for it - shout yourself a brand newie. This is the advise I followed when starting work and did not buy my first new car until after I was married and had a home (and mortgage). Now our house is paid off and I can buy a more expensive vehicle with no guilt. Good luck which ever way you go,
Cheers,GPM
AnswerID: 276484

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:36

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:36
I am nearly 30!! but i do have a house, family 2 cars and a dog. (and some kids) I agree with all that and would prefer to drive a $50 car and put the rest in the mortgage. Wife would prefer I get her an 08 BMW wagon.
FollowupID: 540377

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:18

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:18
the only reason we bought a brand spanka was because we were given the large amount to do so!

I have always thought of the amount you spend on a car being 20% of your weekly earnings, ie bring home $600 then repay $120 per week.....but then again it all depends on your circumstances....mortgage, credit cards, school fees.....etc....

so if it was $120 / wk then over a yr it would be $6240 and over a 5yr period it would be $31,200....take in account interest.....Id borrow $25,000 max .......

Just my thinking....

Laura
AnswerID: 276485

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:31

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:31
I am conservative to say the least, so to me 25k on $600 a week seems quite a bit which is basicly why I asked the question in the first place. I have never actually thought about weekly % earnings to work out car buy price so it has me doing some sums.
FollowupID: 540376

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:42

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:42
yeah it is a little rich.....

I never thought of the % thing either espcially with the mortgage....i heard that most people are around the 23% mark.....we are nearly 70%!! (not including tax benefit stuff)....i just down on things like....normal milk costs us $20 / wk (3 kids....) and powdered milk $5 - $6 / wk .....

im glad the % thing has helped someone.....helps me now that i know about it!!

Laura
FollowupID: 540381

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:33

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:33
Depends on how long you want to keep the car, what plans you have for it.
If its a long term investment, yes, without doubt I'd spend 50% maybe more.

if its a disposable, then no I wouldnt.
AnswerID: 276489

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:59

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 20:59
I personaly think the amount of kms travelled a year comes into it as well. If your doing high ks , then you have to spend more to get the low km vehicle that will last some distance. on the other hand my bro inlaw just bought a 96 V6 Honda Legend with 200,000ks indicated, in immaculate condition for $6000, but they only do about 8000k a year. so that car is a good buy to them.

AnswerID: 276507

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:24

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:24
Tough question, depends on any existing levels of debt etc.

My only advice, regardless of the car, don't buy new, get a demo or a 1 year oldie etc. That initial depreciation upon sale and then in the first few years makes up a huge amount of money, money better off in your pocket.
AnswerID: 276520

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:37

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:37
the only issue with Demo models, they are flogged to pieces, cold, and right from 0klms on the clock.
FollowupID: 540396

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:53

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:53
Doesn't really matter these days - the new Nissan GTR engines are taken from hand building to the dyno and flogged to make sure they don't break before being fitted to the car. A few don't meet specs and are rebuilt.....and then flogged again.

It's also hard to bother flogging a Rio or Getz auto to death :)

10 years ago a mate bought a Mazda 121 bubble and flogged it to death out of the showroom. When he sold it 4 years later at 120,000 odd ks, the buyer remarked that it was the sweetest sounding one he'd driven.

PS: Rumour has it that a Nissan Patrol 3l is likely to die prematurely no matter how you flog it or don't flog it....
FollowupID: 540404

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:13

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:13
Na not so much nowdays truckie, most yards have the demo cars as the salespersons "company car", so they get driven ok, and when you demo the salesperson usually comes along or drives the first sector etc..

Our astra wasn't up to the 3 month tax mark when we got it, so the yard parked it down the back for a few weeks. They have to keep demos for 3 months for tax reasons. Mate i was more than happy to not have choice of colour and wait a few weeks for a car with full 3 years warranty to save around 7 grand.

Ger, LOL oh yeah bring on the patrol with added detonation :-)

All new cars get given curry on a set of rollers at the end of the production line stone cold for power assurance etc.. Then the spedo is activated.
FollowupID: 540556

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:46

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 21:46
Have you thought of talking to a financial advisor who can work out your needs, disposable income, priorities, etc.

My philosophy was to ALWAYS spend less than I earned, and only ever borrow for the home. Hence our first house was purchased for 40,000 using a mortgage of 25,000, deposit of 15,000 saved, and the stamp duty/legals of 2500 also paid from savings. Income then was 6000 - that mortgage scared the daylights out of me at the time.....

The car at the time was a cheapie, no loan, and the cheapies then were FAR worse than a cheapie today. It really does depend on how many ks you need to travel for work, etc, and if your wife really needs a car as well - back to the financial advisor for answers to this.

The family car then gradually became two cars, always second hand, until 10 years ago when we were able to buy the Monterey for me and 6 years ago the Sirion GTvi for SWMBO - both new, both paid in cash.

There's no place for "keeping up with the Joneses" where cars are concerned (or anything else for that matter) - you always lose money on cars, and you lose far more on new ones than 2 year old ones. The money you lose could be taking school books/excursions away from the kids.

Good luck !
AnswerID: 276526

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:06

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:06
Well dont let Roachie give you any advice, besides being in the market to sell you a loan, he uses the theory that you take a purchase price and triple it with extras !!! LOL

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 276529

Reply By: lifeisgood - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:42

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:42
I would suggest keeping it modest until the house mortgage is actually paid off. Then you buy better as a reward and motive.
Then get rid of the car loan ASAP and back onto investments for the future. Buy the wife an M3 (dinky toy version) so she can dream on ! LOL !
AnswerID: 276538

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:45

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:45
Depends how much you enjoy going away camping or off roading.

We have friends who would sooner spend $10000 on going overseas for two weeks and come back with alot of photos that mean nothing to anybody but them selves.

So for around $10000 per year over 5 years you can have a very capable 4wd with camping gear and go away for longer then two weeks a year.

We spend anywhere form 6 weeks to 12 weeks away each year.

Alot of people would sooner throw money away each year going OS the investing it in a vehicle and equipment.

We look at it as an invesment more then wasting money.

Spend as much as you feel comfortable with even if it only $1000 a year or $25000.

Enjoy life and enjoy Australia because tomorrow you may not be here or capable to do it.

Regards Richard

AnswerID: 276543

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:56

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:56
All good advice from everyone. I would just buy what you can afford and dont leave yourself struggling. Possibly higher interest rates next year, higher fuel etc it all adds up. Yes my wife and I could have gone and bought a new D4D prado and had one parked in the garage but I hate borrowing or should I say knowing that I have to pay it back with interest so bought what we could with the cash we had. The only money I actually owe like most people is a morgage and one credit card. We are lucky in a way as we dont have any kids which as everybody says cost a fortune. As a few people on here know my wife did IVF over the last two years and 20k later with no results and not covered by private health as its classed as cosmetic surgery. Had it worked I would probably still be driving around in the hilux and my wife would not have bought her brand new toyota last december. As metioned above maybe get a financial advisor and see what they say. Either way all the best with whatever you spend and hope it gives you trouble free motoring. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 276548

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:59

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 22:59
One thing to keep in mind. You will never use the vehicle as much as you think you will off road and camping. Also i drove past a Caltex servo today and diesel was $1.50 a litre, so the price of getting out and about is steep and it will only continue higher.. Yikes.... $1.50 in surburbia... Michael
AnswerID: 276549

Reply By: Kevndeb - Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 23:58

Thursday, Dec 13, 2007 at 23:58
We sold out house, during a boom, we had lived in the house for 13 years and because everything was developing around us into blocks that people could not swing a mouse in, we made a profit, our house was on 700sqm, people in the new estates were building 400sqm.

So we brought our first brand new car, with cash, though the dealer did not like, they get kickbacks on the finance. We paid around $47K , after the extras.

We don't even have a credit card....
AnswerID: 276556

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 01:52

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 01:52
Probably not much help to you but I always say that if you can't picture yourself saving up an amount of money then it's too expensive.

At the time I had nearly saved 8 grand and bought a 4wd costing 12 5000 which I could have saved in another 6-12 months or so.

Personally I hate debt and would rather drive around in a piece of crap for a few extra years and save for something better than take out a loan.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 276563

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 08:17

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 08:17
I spent most of my life in hock with cars, houses and other stuff and in my late 50's was able to cut up the credit cards and get out of debt forever. Never again will I be in debt.

Pay cash mate, and buy what you can afford. There are many people driving around in 25 year old 4bies and cars which run just as sweetly as the new ones

AnswerID: 276584

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 09:26

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 09:26
Yup, agree completely Willem.

The "booming economy" is great if one doesnt remember the lean times of the recent past and the worries that went with them.

In the last 3 years Ive helped the wifes son into a HSV ute, her daughter into last years RAV 4, halfway into a kitchen reno which when finished would have soaked up $10k and now the missus has fallen in love with the new Ford Focus.

Mean while I sit in my shed at times looking at the 20 year old Patrol with its home made roof rack,snorkel,etc...and the home made camper trailer and dream about a newer rig. But then realise how selfish of me....hehehe.

Im very happy with the ol' girl though. Shes my baby, shes reliable, tough, in great knick for here age and most importantly I trust her no matter what the terrain.

The best $5000 Ive ever invested in any vehicle in the past 50 years.

Cheers...Lionel.
FollowupID: 540468

Follow Up By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 10:43

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 10:43
Agree Lionel.
Without trying to get into a political debate, the whole "booming economy" is based on 2 things, 1)iron ore and 2)people spending their money to increase business sales.The economy got moving in the late 90's because the government encouraged people to spend.

A decade later it has resulted in the worst trade deficit in Oz's history (because everyone wants the latest wide screnn TV made in China). The worst amount of individual debt ever and a national obsession with consumer goods.

People don't need all of this stuff! The problem now is the economy is so reliant on people buying all of this crap they don't need, any government who wants to change it will be accused of destroying the economy!

Just my 2 bobs worth

Barnesy
FollowupID: 540475

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 16:17

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 16:17
Spot on Barnsey.

I did the consumer thing (a bit) some years ago - it's stupid - possessions do not equal happiness and never will. These days I'm desperately trying to get rid of "stuff" so I don't have all that crap hanging around my neck :)

One of the things I really like about going bush for a decent period of time is that it makes me aware of how much "stuff" I _don't_ need.

FollowupID: 540531

Reply By: JimDi - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 09:08

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 09:08
G'day F4,

Just a suggestion, why not pick out the new car you really do want. Say the beamer your wife wants. Find out how much the repayments are on the new car of your dreams and then keep your current car for six months. Put aside the repayments on the possible new dream car and see how you handle it.

Me, I purchased a new second hand 80 series 1997 model many years ago. It was almost new. Still going like a charm,I just maintain it as per the manufacturers instructions.

Jim
AnswerID: 276599

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 15:24

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 15:24
I would have thought the hard decision was
'what sort of car to buy'.

What do I want to do with the car?

Who is going to drive it most?

How often is it going to be used?

Is it going to be a commuter car etc.

All these questions before deciding how much to spend on a car.
10-15K will get you a near new Korean runabout or 10-15K will get you an older Mercedes. Or many others in between, including older Patrols and Landcruisers.

Bit of difference between the cars, but not much difference between the dollar spend.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 276649

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 15:55

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 15:55
Hello All

You have asked for a specific ammount of discretionary spending on one item . A financial adviser would lead you through a number of steps in the budgetry process , and decision making , to come up with a figure .

You can save on the financial advisers cost by going through the process yourself and then get the adviser to confirm or change what you have planned .

Start with your weekly take home pay .
1 Deduct weekly mortgage cost so that you provide a family home .
2 Deduct weekly ammount for all bills which will fall due over the year , include food costs , but no car costs .
3 Deduct an ammount for saving (investing} . 9% of gross salary has already been placed into super , so about another 6% of gross should be salary sacrificed . If you want money set aside for emergencies , invest all or some of the 6% outside super in an easily redeemable investment .
4 Pay yourself and SWMBO a weekly ammount to enjoy life .
5 What is left is available for discretionary spending on the car and other pleasures . First deduct other items such as hollidays , what is left is for the car .

A financial adviser would have included the car in item 2 , I have separated it out for clarity . There is a fair ammount of flexibility in some of the areas set out , for example at what age to start supplementing super and by how much . A financial adviser can quantify the effects of variations in your particular case .
AnswerID: 276655

Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 16:08

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 16:08
F4, doesn't answer yr question, but years ago I did pay cash for my cars. found it was an awful lot of money sitting there.
now do a novated lease under salary sacrifice.
cheers Tom
AnswerID: 276657