Portable GPS- Which one???

Submitted: Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 08:09
ThreadID: 52546 Views:3358 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
I have been looking through the archives and checking out any information on google relating to portable GPS units and cannot come up with a preference.
There seem to be so many different units available these days.
Disregarding price, can anyone tell me what GPS to go for that is suitable for general road use and also (if possible) off road / bush tracks?

Cheers Brett

Reply By: KSV. - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 08:42

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 08:42
For a few years I am using this unit. It serves me well, however have one inconvenient feature - due to "single-dimensional" antenna it need to be levelled to get information from satellite. This unit has some "three-dimensional" antenna and suppose to catch signal in any position. A bit more expensive, bigger in size, has bigger screen and can float. Both units have built-in compass and altimeter and I like them a lot.

Serg
AnswerID: 276591

Follow Up By: KSV. - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 08:48

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 08:48
Bugger, I have stuff it up with links.
This one https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=145&pID=163 I use for some years and quite happy. Biggest problem what I have with it – it need to be leveled to receive signals properly. This one https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=161&pID=183 free of this restriction because has some “three-dimensional” antenna. It a bit more expensive, bigger in size, has bigger screen and can float. Both units have built-in altimeter and compass – indispensable, altimeter in particular.

Serg.
FollowupID: 540464

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:00

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:00
If you use the little button provided for Links and add the URL to the top line, making sure not to double up on the http // and then add a title in the bottom line it works better, and to make sure it works before pressing SUBMIT press PREVIEW first

#

FollowupID: 540502

Follow Up By: KSV. - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:43

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:43
Thanks for hint about PREVIEW, definitely will use it next time, but editing still would better!

Serg
FollowupID: 540512

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:50

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:50
Serg
Same thing mate , when in preview you can edit then press Submit

#

FollowupID: 540515

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 08:51

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 08:51
This unit is very portable
Garmin Quest

#

AnswerID: 276593

Follow Up By: wigger - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:53

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:53
Doug, earlier you told me about getting 'Tracks4Aust' and you put their homepage up for someone else.(What was the post#)
Was going to wait till I got another navigator but now want to load on to garmin 510. Have got a 2mb card ready. Since you are now retired would you mind giving me a 'step by step for dummies' rundown on how to go about this (monosyllables only)
Incidentally I really only need something that will give me details of light off road stuff (such as filling in the big gaps roadwise in the area to the Southeast of the Flinders ranges) because workwise I'm having to use a 2wd ute.Should i just stick with HEMA ? The Garmin already has lots of these roads on V7 but how reliable is this. If travelling from Boolcoomata creek to Mingary via Kalabaty and Boolcoomata, is the break (that shows on Where is) in the road at Kalabaty(running east) actually real. The Donaghue hwy link from Boulia to Tobermory is not complete so how good is this software.
FollowupID: 540517

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 15:18

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 15:18
wigger
T4A is a great mapping software that operates within the GPS unit , No laptop needed with Ozi , BUT...T4A is being upgraded to a Far better system , as I said to someone yesterday will be like comparing Kindy to Uni , You will need a 2GB SD card for the new OZtopo V2 when it is released soon, I got an Email today advising on a delay , I would suggest you get it and add it to your GPS , you will need another Garmin software to use with it and the cheapest is the Trip and Waypoint Manager And to read a bit about the new software click this
OZtopo V2 Pre Release Information
I would be looking at maybe getting a 4GB SD Card to fit the mapping Software, POI's , and a big range of MP3s.

Below is the email I recieved today
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Unfortunately we are going to delay the release of OZtopo V2 until Mid Jan 08. There have been an number of factors, Vista testing, DVD production, Christmas Silly season that have contributed to this decision. We are still hoping to have preloaded SD cards ready for distribution next week but will not be in a position to confirm this until Tuesday.

Kirsten
BKK Enterprises
trading as GPSOZ.com.au
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

#

FollowupID: 540524

Follow Up By: wigger - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:34

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:34
Thanks Doug, Where do you get Mapsource trip and waypoint manager from or do I wait until Oztopov2 is ready and get both together.
Once you have all this, can you use your own PC (using a card reader) to look at maps, or is it only accessible on the navigator?
Your thoughts on whether this is overkill for someone currently without a 4wd???????
FollowupID: 540538

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:02

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:02
Wigger
No I don't think an Overkill, it's good to sit at the PC and browse over the maps .
Yes you can use the maps on the PC , and yes GPS-Oz has all you need

GPS Maps

#

FollowupID: 540555

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 10:59

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 10:59
Brett

Check out the HP iPAQ 300 Travel Companion.

http://h10010.www1.hp.com/wwpc/au/en/sm/WF05a/1090709-1113753-1113753-1113753-1117925-80593258.html

I have the previous model and it is excellent. It has TomTom for on road and Ozi CE for off road. Portable - can be used in the car or whilst walking.

As it is a PDA has heaps of functions not available in other GPS units.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 276610

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 12:00

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 12:00
I bought a Garmin GPS60 mono screen - great for bushwalking and vehicle use - about $350 I think - all the usuals and saves trails etc - the AA batteries last very well (some units chew up power but not this one) - added an external antenna to the car - plus a suction windscreen mount and cradle - a great, basic, all round unit in my view.
Best prices for me were at www.gpsoz.com.au - postage is free.

AnswerID: 276622

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 12:10

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 12:10
Hi Brett
I have had a magellan god for 3 years now never any problem. I have had others in the car at the same time and they seem to loose contact with the Sats and take a while to re establish it, specially with lots of trees around. I know they don't make this model anymore but I would look as the brand again

Rgds
AnswerID: 276625