Deisels 101

Submitted: Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:04
ThreadID: 52549 Views:2391 Replies:9 FollowUps:13
Hi All were looking at buying a Deisel,
Never owned one before and only ever driven a few.

Now I have some basic skills when looking at a petrol vehicle, ie smoking, smoking after idleing for a while noises that shouldnot be there.

But Deisels they always seem noisy and a lot of em put out black smoke, so are there some siimple check I can use?

Any help from you Guru's out there greatly appreciated

Rgds
Ian and Nola

Reply By: wigger - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:26

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 14:26
Hi I and N
You need to ask yourself first why you want(or need a Diesel)because there is downside to them. I have a Euro type diesel which is very economical, has no smoke and is relatively quiet but I would not necessarily discount petrol engines except that I need need torque for towing a big trailer.
Pros
Better torque
Good fuel economy vs petrol
Engine longevity

Cons
Usually more expensive than petrol version
More intensive and expensive servicing
More frequent oil changes esp.on 'Hi Tech' diesels
Bigger batteries
Dirty fuel can be fatal
Increased weight of vehicle
Big bucks if your motor karks it
Can make the front end heavier
Non turbo engines are usualy dogs

So if you're planning on towing (or doing over 30k per year, YES
If for city driving, then a petrol engine may be a safer bet

You need to do a lot of research before buying and get an experienced bod to look at any pre loved diesel.
AnswerID: 276640

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 09:55

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 09:55
Thanks Wig.

I take your points and is probably this will be my first deisel at my age. We have decided to get a bus for a biiiig trip hence the deisel
Ian and Nola
FollowupID: 540616

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 15:23

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 15:23
Ian and Nola,

Have a look at this,

Diesel

AnswerID: 276648

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 10:05

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 10:05
Thanks Wayne
Had a quick look but will be spending some time reading this this afternoon great article

Rgds
Ian and Nola
FollowupID: 540622

Follow Up By: wigger - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 14:25

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 14:25
This is good too

http://www.carpoint.com.au/car-review/2445098.aspx
FollowupID: 541782

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:14

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:14
See My remarks in Diesel V/S petrol thread.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 276665

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 09:57

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 09:57
Thanks Dodg,
I didn't know the problem was spread all over Aus. Maybe a new Government? but I'm thinking not

Rgds
Ian and Nola
FollowupID: 540617

Reply By: trolute - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 18:48

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 18:48
Hey,

Generally speaking, push it at mid revs, but foot flat to the floor, and it shouldn't produce much smoke, if at all. If it does, then its injectors are not happy.

One of the great things about diesels is that they are generally pretty long lived.

But if you are really in doubt, you could always take it to a truck workshop and get their opinion

But altimately, check out at least a handfull of similar vehicles, and if something is really crook on one, you will know.

I once bought a 110, the seller assured me that all 110s had 'tricky' gearboxes, and stupidly, I bought it without testing another, only to find out that the gearbox output shaft spline was totally destroyed, hence the 'tricky gearbox'. Do a few roadtest of similar vehicles

Trolute
AnswerID: 276677

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 10:00

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 10:00
Thanks Tro,

Good tips will give them ago

Rgds
Ian and Nola
FollowupID: 540618

Reply By: morto1701 - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:17

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:17
Noldi, Wigger is spot on with what he is saying. I am not a guru but I love the naturally aspirated diesels but he is right that they perform like dogs on the road but everyone wants one for 4wding.
Petrol for City Turbo diesel for towing and distances. If you are looking at a pre-loved diesel beware if you purchase anywhere under14,000 there will be money to be spent.

DO it once and do it right. I have been caught once and it cost me about 6,000 big ones but I have a toy for the weekends.
If you are not sure either get a friend who does know or use the AUTOCLUB to help.

Good Luck
AnswerID: 276685

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 10:02

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 10:02
Thanks Morto,
Good point will give the RAC some thought

Rgds

Ian and Nola
FollowupID: 540620

Follow Up By: wigger - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 11:14

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 11:14
Hi morto. Didn't, realise that non turbo's had their afficianados, although the lack of complexity could be good. With 4wding do they have a better spread of torque at lower revs? I had to drive an early 90's non turboed Mitsubishi ute for work and it was pathetic around town so I have a distorted view of them.
FollowupID: 540627

Follow Up By: morto1701 - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:30

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:30
Good Morning Wigger or is it?

Fighting with the rum gods this morning as they feel I need punishing. Mate the old girls have their critics and may be slow on road but off road the old cruisers and patrols are the go. Up hill and especially down hill they are sensational. Towing with a naturally aspirated vehicle though has it's problems on the road especially if hills are involved by the time to get to the top you'd be lucky to be doing 40k an hour. BUt off road towing capability and in sand is great. As much as I love them (Ihave 1985 Sahara and a 1989 cruiser as well) and I have a d4d Hilux make sure you check out the later model Prado's as they wont let you down. That is where I am heading next time unless I can find a DECENT T.D 100 SERIES ALREADY OPTIONED UP.

Have a great day
FollowupID: 540755

Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:22

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:22
You first lesson.....it's spelt diesel!

Takin the bleep .....Leroy
AnswerID: 276686

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:18

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:18
Fair enough to point that out, hard to get good search results with bad spelling!
FollowupID: 540588

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:33

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:33
Hi Noldi,
First thing you should do is work out what make/model/breed you want, and compare apples with apples.
some models have their own little characteristics, and a sales man will say "they all do that", if you have driven a few you will know.

Spend a weekend looking around keeping BOTH hands in full view, and have a good look around, the only way you will get for whatever you choose is to compare a few.

Shane
AnswerID: 276704

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:07

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:07
Last paragraph doesn't make sense,

spend a weekend looking around, keeping both hands in view, that is to say away from you wallet,and have a good look around, the that way you will get an idea on how a particular model behaves, so you will know if you have a good one/dud
FollowupID: 540578

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 10:04

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 10:04
Thanks Shane,

Yep good point I have been known to be a bit impulsive before but your right

Rgds

FollowupID: 540621

Reply By: stevesub - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 11:08

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 11:08
Do your sums before you buy. With the extra cost of diesel and extra servicing costs, you will probably find that it is the same price or even cheaper to run a petrol motor. We are finding that overall our petrol Rangie is a similar cost to run as our Troopy once all costs have been taken into account - and the Rangie has twice the horsepower.

In reality, how many people run their vehicles for over 300,000km - all petrol motors made these days will do that mileage easy if they are serviced by the book so longevity of the diesel engine is no longer a factor.

With our boat (5 litre Mercruiser petrol) it is more economical than similar sized diesel boats from point a to point b as it gets there so much faster. Also we can buy a NEW small block chev engine if ours ever gives us trouble for under $4000 - what price for a NEW or even re-con diesel engine $$$$$$$$$. When we were looking at boats, we found that the diesel receipts for work done that we saw were horrifying.

Once again, the servicing is cheaper with a petrol than diesel.

I used to be a diesel convert but am rapidly going back to petrol but still love the low down torque of the Troopy when offroading.

Stevesub

AnswerID: 276757

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 13:04

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 13:04
Thanks Steve,
Unfortunatly what I have my eye on is a bus and not to many of them come with petrol donks,

I agree price wise there is not to much difference

Rgds
Ian and Nola
FollowupID: 540638

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 12:06

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 12:06
The newest Diesels are barely noisier than a Petrol and those with Diesel Particulate Filter produce NO smoke.

When it came to trade-in time, I was sure glad I'd paid the extra $2000 for the Diesel - no-one wanted to buy a Petrol 4WD.
AnswerID: 276764

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 13:06

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 13:06
Thanks Mike,

They always seem to be more popular especially if your going on long trips or towing

Rgds
Ian and Nola
FollowupID: 540639