Diesel v/s Petrol

Submitted: Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:10
ThreadID: 52555 Views:3649 Replies:15 FollowUps:11
Those that are contemplating a diesel vehicle need to do their sums very carefully. It seems that the dreaded oil companies are aware of the frugality of the modern diesel and are raising the price of diesel accordingly.
Here in down town Dubbo Diesel is 19 cents per Ltr more than unleaded. Now who is getting the short end of the stick?. And yes I do own an oiler.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:20

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:20
It's a bleep poor price point, really is annoying, and on top of that they dish us up the worst Diesel in the world..! Then throw in the Bio Diesel makers that do not offer a price incentive for their product.! The whole thing sucks , no doubting, what are the alternatives..? Not sure..?
AnswerID: 276666

Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:03

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:03
Yes, I've been annoyed that the biodiesel sellers always seem to set their price at 1c below the price of dino diesel.
Was pleasantly surprised today when I filled one of my tanks at the local SAFF (Pooraka, SA), and found the price of biodiesel was 15c below the price of dino diesel at the other servos around the area.
PLUS....they are now giving a 5c/litre discount on fuel purchases with the easyfuel card.
So I can go back tomorrow and fill the other tank for $1.289c/litre.
Gotta be happy with that.

Glenn
FollowupID: 540543

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:21

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:21
Dodger

I own a diesel and agree with you. The oil companies & Govt. are ripping us off.

Tjilpi

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 276667

Reply By: KSV. - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:27

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 17:27
It is f#$%&*g ridiculous! Diesel cheaper to produce and diesel has a tad less tax then petrol, so WTF? Unless government starts to interfere we will see nothing good ahead. And government currently much more worried about lesbos’s and gays’s rights then about our rights! Funny enough I recon this situation has nothing to do to us using diesel 4WD (or other passenger cars) because we consume drop in the ocean, but rather something to do to trucks – they will fill at any price and pass cost to us.

Serg.
AnswerID: 276669

Follow Up By: ob - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 18:24

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 18:24
KSV
Ithink you are right on the money especially the last bit about the costs being passed on

Cheers ob
FollowupID: 540540

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 18:26

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 18:26
Another big user is the mining industry.
Remember doing some mods to some of the big mining trucks.
They needed upgrading to 3000 litre tanks with 75mm fill points so they could run for 12 hour shifts without stopping.
Makes my 4wd usage look piddling, just over 100 litres for 12 hours driving.
Some big diesel gen sets need the 20,000l tanks filling almost daily.

As you say, I don't think diesel use in 4wds is a major user of diesel.
FollowupID: 540541

Reply By: Kevndeb - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:01

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:01
Having filled up in Perth this afternoon, I noticed I big difference in prices on the highway V's the out of way truck stop in the industrial area. 147.4 on the highway, this out is back by a supermarket chain. Independent, non supermaket chain, truck stop...141.3 with driveway service.

Since I have owned the TD, I have been going to the independent, and I feel as though I am helping to keep at least one person in a job, filling my car up.

Debbie
AnswerID: 276681

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:22

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:22
I still think diesel is priced for the huge consumption levels of the commercial market (where they can claim it on the Tax as an expense)....IE they pay less in the end....... as far as we private consumers are concerned ..... we can bugger off if we don't like it..... the volumes aren't a worry to the producers.
AnswerID: 276700

Reply By: Craigjackaroo - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:29

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:29
I think the fuel rebate dished out to transport,primary producers and industry plays a significant role in the pricing strategies. Whilst the diesel is cheaper to the major users preventing them from changing to other fuel forms in mass droves then the price will remain at these levels. I have read in other forums that the profits made on Diesel helps subsidise the discounting on petrol allowing the fuel companies to lower their margins slightly in an attempt to placate the masses.
AnswerID: 276702

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 21:53

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 21:53
You lot have got to be kiding me. Yes we get a rebate from the government for the diesel we buy,,,,then we bloody pay tax on it.
The vast,,,and i do mean vast, majority of us do not,,,,,,,,i'll say that again,,,,,,,,DO NOT get anything else. The new's/government/everybody else blame the rising cost of everything on transport costs,,,yet we don't see any extra in our earnings at the end of the month. Diesel pricing is set by god only knows who and we have to pay for it,,just like all the diesel users. The mega companies may get a few cents discount from the producer of the diesel,,,but the majoriity of us have to wear it.
When fuel cost for us are running at over 35% PER DAY, as they are now for many of us,,,we have to bear the cost out of our own pocket, which means we have less of a wage to live on. Combine this with ever increasing : rego/insurance/tyre/repairs/servicing/phonebills/repayments
and follow it up with rates that we are being paid today that are years old, and our wage drops even further.
For a transport operator,,the general rule is anything over 25% fuel cost means you are paying out of your own pocket just to survive. Combine this with all the other costs that heve gone up and we are only just scrapping by in many instances.
AnswerID: 276714

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:52

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:52
DERRR!! Now lets see.. A litre of diesel is $1.50 and a litre of petrol is $1.32... OK you get about 100km out of 11 litres of diesel and about 100km out of 18 litres of petrol.. Gee thats a hard one!!!!!
AnswerID: 276727

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 08:11

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 08:11
Michael,

I think that's over their heads LOL

FollowupID: 540608

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 14:23

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 14:23
DERRR!! A diesel costs an extra 10 - 15k to purchase, let's say 10k.
You reckon that your GU 4.2 gets 9km/lt, must be one of only 2 here that does (somebody else on here said they get 10-11 km/lt a while back, can't remember who now ) most diesel GU patrol's and 100sereis cruisers get 7.5 km/lt (13.3 lt/100km ) when doing the speed limit.
Also most modern petrol's get far better than 18lt/100.
Now let's use your figures, at 20,000 k's a year,
diesel uses 2222lt's
petrol uses 3636lt's
petrol uses 1414 more lt's at 1.32c/lt = $1866 / year
That would take 5.5 years to break even. How long do most people that buy new 4wd keep their vehicle for ?
People that buy 2nd hand keep theirs longer but are also up for more expensive repair costs with diesels.
Now using the same calculations as above but using a more realistic diesel consumption figure of 7.5 km/lt it would take 7.8 years to break even !
These figures do not include extra servicing costs or the extra dollars that most diesel owners throw at their vehicles looking for extra power, chips, exhausts, intercoolers etc.
Now take into account the extra power, quietness and smoothness of a petrol. Gee, that's a hard one :-))

Pezza

FollowupID: 540644

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 14:59

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 14:59
its when you go to sell your TD you see why you payed the extra money
and as for consumption on a return trip to Perth from kal I would use around 100l less than my mate in the petrol (same model vehicle)--- and thats not even a more economical TD thats about $120 more just in a 1200km trip
FollowupID: 540646

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:10

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 15:10
Daveo, i was about to sat the same thing, My GU ST 4,2 is about 4 1/2 years old, it cost the same as a GXL. 100 V8.. at the time. Try and sell a 100 series and see the difference, possibly $10,000 and you get to selll the diesel the same weekend as you advertise it.. Im glad i dont have a petrol 4x4 to sell today...Michael
FollowupID: 540649

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:13

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:13
So are you guys saying that when you sell the TD you will get more than the extra 15k it cost over the petrol?
In any case you have to have the extra money i suppose.
FollowupID: 540735

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:45

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:45
show me a TD that costs 15 grand more than its petrol equivelent
FollowupID: 540779

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:58

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 13:58
bit of redboom research shows cruiser diesals at 10 grand more, prados at 7grand and patrols actually cheaper than the petrol equivelent.
Trust me you will have zero problems in 3 years time selling at least 10k more for your twin turbo v8 200 series cruiser than the old v8 with fuel hovering at $2 per litre
FollowupID: 540782

Reply By: Simon75 - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:57

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:57
Dodger,
I think every diesel owners gets a little annoyed when they go to fill up, and notice that diesel is like you said, up to 20 cents a litre more than ULP. Especially as refinement costs are less for diesel fuel. Diesel these days is a clean product than it was years ago, but it doesn't cost that much to remove sulphur in the refining process. I can clearly remember back in the 90's that diesel was aways about 5 to 10 cents a litre cheaper than ULP and LP fuel.
The other factor that we have against us, is the diesel option going to cost more, servicings, and the stamp duty on the vehicle purchase.
The new 200 series Landcruiser, costs 10 grand more for the diesel, over the petrol. If you live in WA like I do, you would have to pay 6.5% stamp duty on purchase, along with luxury car tax.
The government want to reduce greenhouse gas and CO2 levels, but do not provide any incentive for people who purchase diesel or hybrid vehicles which are more efficient.
Personnel I would like to see some rebates, similar to what they have in Europe.
AnswerID: 276742

Reply By: techo2oz - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 08:35

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 08:35
Dodger,
to add to the pain, the only outlet for bio diesel in Dubbo has closed as well.

AnswerID: 276746

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:20

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 17:20
Yep it has'
But the quality was sus.
Now reopened and selling petro diesel.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 540669

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 12:03

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 12:03
When it came to trade-in time, I was sure glad I'd spent the $2000 extra for the Diesel - no-one wanted a Petrol.
AnswerID: 276763

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 12:53

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 12:53
Cost of fuel isnt the only consideration. I struggle to carry enough diesel in my car for remote trips now so a petrol is out of the question purely on their range. Supply & demand will dictate the price so no point losing sleep over it. :-)
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 276770

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 12:53

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 12:53
It is quite obvious that oil companies use diesel out of the bowser to prop up profits. Having been involved with big diesel fuel users we could get 30% to 35% discount on diesel bowser price delivered to our own tanks but petrol was 1% to 1.5%. Of course we had the road tax component to claim as well on top of this, I think nearly 40cents.
One thought I just had, maybe the fuel companies subsidised farmers out of sympathy.

neil
AnswerID: 276771

Reply By: Member - Miles P (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 16:47

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 16:47
Maybe we need to start a co-op where we can all pool our diesel purchase and gain a discount.
AnswerID: 276791

Reply By: awill4x4 - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 23:44

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 23:44
Everyone wants to have a whinge about fuel pricing well you'd better get used to it as this is as good as it gets. We are the 4th CHEAPEST on fuel costs even after fuel excises in the OECD as of the September quarter 2005 and that position hasn't changed.
Stop whinging and just be glad your not paying what the Europeans are.
Check out this link fuel pricing and pay particular attention to points 3,4,7,14 and 15.
Yes the site is Caltex but it doesn't change the fact that we pay waaaaaay less than many other countries.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 276843