Electric Brake Controllers - Hayman Reese vs Prodigy

Submitted: Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 18:15
ThreadID: 52556 Views:13095 Replies:11 FollowUps:9
I have been very happy with my Prodigy controller and would not change it, but in my replacement vehicle it is not possible to mount it at the required angle. The auto-elect tech recommends instead a Hayman-Reese controller which can be mounted at almost any atitude. Does anyone have experience with the performance of this controller on an off-road camper-trailer?

Reply By: Dunedigger - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 18:57

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 18:57
Don't touch the HR. It is not a proportional setup. That is it does not react immediately and does not recognise the amount of de-acceleration that is occurring.

I had one to tow a 2.5 tonn horse float and I would say they are #$^@ useless in an emergency stop.

The Prodigy is the cream of the crop
AnswerID: 276679

Reply By: Kazza055 - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:31

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:31
Had a HR in my last vehicle - left it there because it was NBG. Stick with the Prodigy - it is the best of the bunch.

AnswerID: 276688

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:04

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:04
I would say the auto elec makes more profit from the Hayman Reece one and he is trying to sell it on a point.

We sell the Prodigy and 6 months ago we would make around $80.00 a unit now we are lucky to make $10.00...so thank you Ebay.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 276694

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:16

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:16
2 against ,,,,3 x 100% for ,,fatherinlaw has used the hayman for over25yrs , brother inlaw has used the hayman for the last 20yrs , me ;Ive used the hayman for the last 2+yrs ,, no b/s pendulums ,angle of the dangle ect ect to worry about , all anyone needs is for the trailer /ct /cvan to brake at the SAME time and in the SAME proportion pressure as the tow vehicle , the Hayman does that with minimal effing around on setup and use. You can also just BRAKE the trailer if required by moving the slide if and when the tow vehicle loses brakes ,,,,
AnswerID: 276697

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 07:37

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 07:37
Agree
FollowupID: 540603

Follow Up By: Member - Franga (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 07:48

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 07:48
Totally agree withyou axel only I use a Redarc

Franga
FollowupID: 540604

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:19

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:19
Noted that you say you CAN"T mount a prodigy - I would have thought Tekonsha would be aghast at that statement - with the development they have put into it, I'm sure it has a lot of mounting "latitude".....(don't have my docs with me at present) ....did you check the Prodigy specs yourself ?
AnswerID: 276698

Reply By: Zapper - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:53

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:53
find a place for the prodigy, you will be v disappointed with the HR after the prodigy
AnswerID: 276706

Reply By: disco1942 - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 21:20

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 21:20
Philip

You did not name your vehicle. Why not? If you come back with the make and model someone will be able to advise how it can be fitted.

The only person supporting the Hayman Reese controller most probably has not had any experience with a controller employing a pendulum or he would not have made his statements.

AnswerID: 276711

Reply By: japmel - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:00

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:00
I originally had a Hayman Reese and had no end of trouble with it, Lurching and jerking. The best thing I did with it was get rid of it to some poor unsuspecting person on ebay.

I got a Tekonsha Prodigy and the improvement outstanding, Much easier to set up than the other and once it's set up you don't have to touch it again.

I put it in the Ashtray socket in my 100 series Cruiser, Fits perfect.

I think your Auto sparky is having a lend of you when he says the Prodigy can't be mounted at the correct angle as they can be mounted at an angle of up to 70 degrees

AnswerID: 276715

Reply By: AdrianLR (VIC) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:29

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:29
I made a bracket out of 10mm x 3mm steel (aluminium would have been just as good but I had the steel handy) to fit an awkward spot in the Pajero to mount the Prodigy. It would have still been under the 70 degrees recommended even with the supplied bracket but is easier to manually control when in the one I made and I don't bump my knee.

Make the bracket yourself and get the auto elec to wire it up if he doesn't want to muck around.

To correct one of the earlier posts - the Prodigy is solid state and uses an accelerometer. No pendulum so no moving parts. It has the significant advantage for off road in that it works just as well in reverse. Much safer to back a braked trailer down a slippery slope I reckon.

Adrian
AnswerID: 276721

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 09:44

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 09:44
And what makes you think that a Hayman does not work in reverse , on road or off the electric brake impulse is the same ,, forwards or in reverse you are braking or you are not,,,
FollowupID: 540613

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 22:09

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 22:09
Axel
The controller working in reverse or not is a mute point as the magnet against the drum as used in electric brakes, provides effort on the lever in forward motion only, on most if not all electric brake systems.
Electric bakes are not effective in reverse, also hydraulic & cable brakes do not actuate in reverse except if you forget to put down the reversing stop then you cannot reverse because the brakes come on before you move.

Most cheap brakes, those stated above, are not able to work in reverse as they require forward motion to activate them.

The most common brake that works in a reverse direction is Air over Hydraulic, not cheap.
Colin.
FollowupID: 540709

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 14:00

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 14:00
On Patrol , you state that " the magnet against the drum as used in electric brakes provides effort on the lever in forward motion only " ,, well ole son , just finished giving our C/T a bit of a going over ready for our next trip to Moreton Island ,, jacked up each side so the wheels are off the ground and while I spun each wheel as if reversing had the swmbo apply the brakes in the Cruiser ,,lo and behold the 10" alco brakes work in reverse just as they do forward , ,,, methinks your theory has just been well and truly "busted"
FollowupID: 540783

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:01

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:01
Not a theory Axle,
more a fact ol son, what you just did was apply the electro magnet to the drum, that would explain why the drum would not turn by hand, you will get a minute brake efferct in reverse with no real load on it, but please, do not try a big stop in reverse to prove it, because then you will find out for sure. The power of the magnet would be enough to hold a drum against your effort, but not enough to stop anything heavy.

Try putting a few hundred kgs load and re do your simple test, and guess what, it will fail.

Not "busted" mate just not tested scientifically.

Axle do you fancy yourself as one of the myth busters. LOL

Ask AL-KO first hand if you doubt me.
Colin.
FollowupID: 540809

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:15

Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:15
I wont burst your little bubble On Patrol , you can believe whatever you want , but I will let you in on 3 infallible truths ,
1... there is realy no Santa Claus
2....there is no Easter Bunny and
3 ... electric brakes DO work in reverse ,,,,

not a myth buster , just stating 3 facts.
FollowupID: 540833

Follow Up By: Yonnee - Wednesday, Jan 09, 2008 at 13:27

Wednesday, Jan 09, 2008 at 13:27
Electric brakes do work in reverse, just not as efficiently. They're not designed to! It's not the magnet that brakes the trailer either, the magnet moves a lever that applies effort to the shoes and this works in both directions.
Most controllers don't work in reverse automatically, however, with the manual override, most will.

As for the Hayman Reece controller... There has not been a more dangerous controller sold in Australia. There's a reason why both AL-KO and Melbourne Trailer & Caravan Supplies won't warranty their axle/brake products with this controller fitted.
FollowupID: 544833

Reply By: Member - Phillip C (QLD) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:30

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:30
Thanks fellow campers for your advice, much appreciated. Several replies asked why I could not mount the Prodigy somewhere at the required angle. My replacement vehicle is a Land Cruiser 200 Series which has knee air bags..... The only place to mount the controller is on the cover for the bags....If the bags blow, they will propel the device into (a) your knees or (b) your nuts. Ahhhhh (time out to reflect on the implications). All things considered, I'll stick with the Prodigy and the nut-busting mount.
AnswerID: 276738

Follow Up By: japmel - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:49

Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:49
Remove the Ashtray and stick it in there, Thats what I did in my 100 Series.

Smokeing is a disgusting habit anyway.

FollowupID: 540593

Reply By: Member - Alan H (Narangba QLD - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 08:32

Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 08:32
Phillip

http://www.bushtrackerownersforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=552

The link above to another forum shows a prodigy installed in a 200 series in the cardholder socket.

AnswerID: 276745