stefan P (Penrith NSW)
This is something I could be interested in
is it a fair price?
duel cab patrol
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:57
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 19:57
That would be a GREAT buy at that price (providing it is as it appears to be). The dual cab conversion would cost at least $12,000- to have done....more if you count the tray.
Add to that the air lockers and endless air etc........the vehicle itself is virtually FREE......
If I didn't already have the GU dual cab, I'd consider buying it myself.
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:01
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:01
Seems a little TOO cheap doesn't it
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: ChrisWA - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 21:32
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 21:32
I thin the seller's name says it all broken4wd
Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:56
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:56
Gee Roachie,
It was such a great buy at that price that not a single person even BID on it!
Looks a bit dodgy to me.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:58
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:58
Yeh, I guess so, but I was looking at it like this.....
Even if the motor was shot, you could buy a 2nd hand 4.2TD for $4K (Pud has his for sale at that price right now). With twin air lockers and the cost of getting the cut'n'shut done, the asking price is already covered.
Things that would make it a bad buy include if it had been dunked in the briny and if the gearbox, diffs etc were all knackered (not so likely with a n/a diesel....bit of a slug, so hard to wreck the rest of the drive train.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 20:23
Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 20:23
Its still an 89 model patrol... $16k for a 89?
Reply By: Mogul - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:13
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:13
"Mostly used around town as daily driver"
Changed needs, no time for touring, but will swap for 4x4 wagon.
STAY AWAY
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:37
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:37
Very good point!!!
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Mogul - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:15
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:15
"Mostly used around town as daily driver"
Changed needs, no time for touring, but will swap for 4x4 wagon.
STAY AWAY
Reply By: F4Phantom - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:24
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 20:24
no one got it!
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:45
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 22:45
Its worth about $7000
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:44
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:44
Probably why he is very keen on swapping it for my GU!!!
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Member - Pixie - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:01
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:01
lol alot of mids for "mostly around town"
Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:28
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:28
looks good at first sight but I dunno.....maybe a bit of skeptic, I reckon this may be dodgy.....
Like the others said....what is the difference between that and another 4wd....cahnge of needs??......????
but your getting the car for nothing...just paying for all thats been done to it....
Laura
Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:37
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:37
Just been reading through his ffedback...97.1% ..... has sld a lot of wrcked or
old car parts....and a diff that wines.....reckons it didnt last time he used the diff.......
If he uses it as mainly driving round town car, then why does he have those mud tyres on it, even if he had it set up in 2003 for a so called trip and it never happened....that was 7 yrs ago.....town vehicle...na...work vehicle more like it 'round town....(has the work box on the side...)
i dunno....seems like he sells things when they are really old and had it!
but then again many buyers very happy with product...
Im still thinking a bit for ya....
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:43
Friday, Dec 14, 2007 at 23:43
If it was local I'd "ava look" but as its in VIC, no go
Looked good in the pics but!!! LOL
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: On Patrol - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 12:57
Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 12:57
Hey Stefan,
Come along on our High Country trip in Jan and stop off and have a look at it then, it says SE Vic thats not far from the H/C.
You've had yours for more than a year now, maybe it's due to go!!!!!!!
Ann would love for you to have another car or maybe 15 could have yours and you buy that one!!!! He would love that.
Reply By: Member - Tour Boy (central hig - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 08:12
Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 08:12
G'day mate,
When you are looking at dual cabs especially, you should do a revs search in every state that you can and call the state authority as
well. As their computer systems don't always talk to each other.
For example when I bought mt 80 series dual cab it came with act rego and a qld revs certificate which was clean. I did a nsw search that brought it up as a reparable write off.
No worries then It was registered and being act they would transfer it to nsw ..right...wrong..
It was actually a statutory write off in nsw 7 years earlier I found out when the rta in nsw wouldn't let me register it. It had been taken to sa and rebuilt, registered and taken to the act then pranged again 3 years later hence the reparable write off status.
The rta made me take it to their investigation/ rebirthing people in Penrith where they x rayed the chassis and whatever they do behind locked doors. I showed him the paperwork I had for it being a reparable write off and the current rego papers and with a lot of pleading he went into bat for me and after a week they finally agreed to re register it.
There was nothing wrong with the truck and it was the best vehicle I've ever owned.
A farmer gave me $22,500 for it as a paddock basher /hunting truck.
I thought I had done my research properly but there is always somthing you miss out on.
With dual cab conversion remember that most are ex govt or mines, some are write offs rebuilt (this doesn't worry me as I can pick a crappy one) and less are conversion of a good vehicle.
Follow Up By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 10:45
Saturday, Dec 15, 2007 at 10:45
Very Good info Dave,
If it was local I would be very interested to
check it out, but as its in VIC, just a bit far at this time. But Hey maybe the money fairies will be kind to me in the new year and I could cut and shut the GU.
That would be the prefred option stick with the devil I know
Cheers Stefan