small car 4x4 help
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 07:40
Drewblack
hi all, im new to 4x4 driving and am what to ask a question about small 4x4's. Whats the best one to get. Ive hear that not all cars are true 4x4 eg rav4, so im after a true small 4x4. Could any 1 rattle of a few names for me plz, and possiblly what you would recommend to get.
thanks
Drew
Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 08:09
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 08:09
Drew,
The key issues about the smaller vehicles and many of the larger 'softroaders' is the amount of ground clearance and whether they have a true low range for crawling through rough stuff and steep inclines.
You will get more useful feedback if you tell us what you want to do - touring with a bit of gravel roads or are you thinking of more serious off road? How many people and what length of time for a typical trip.
alastair
Follow Up By: Member - Pixie - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 08:34
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 08:34
agree
go to your local library and read through all their 4wd magazines
even some of the small 4wd that don't have a transfer case (low and high gears) are still quite capable enough for what most people - want to do beach driving and some basic bush driving
traction control can help to make up for the lack of high/low gearing whilst some after-market
wheels and
suspension can help with ground clearance
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 08:35
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 08:35
Drew
Suzuki, Hyundai, Kia all have dual range gearboxes and are true 4x4's
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:12
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 09:12
Willem has posted a true and noble reply here, one to which I also ascribe. You would be
well served noting his considered response.
Follow Up By: Stu050 - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:02
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:02
Also the Pajero IO. It also having a dual range transfer case, could be classed similarly to the exclusive list of vehicles mentioned by Willem and so eloquently ascribed to by Bonz.
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:23
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:23
Clarifying a bit...
Kia Sportage up to 2002
Suzuki Sierra/Vitara/Grand Vitara up to 2005
Pajero IO
And a bit bigger...
Hyundai Terracan
Kia Sorento
Pajero up to early 2000's or so (solid rear axle)
Note:
Kia Sportage/Hyundai Tuscon from 2004 on are softroaders.
New Suzuki Grand Vitara are full independent rear and front suspensions and sit a bit close to the ground.
CRV/Tribute/Escape/X-Trail/Rav-4/Freelander/Territory/Adventra/BMW's/Mazda CX x/Subarus are all softroaders (list not totally inclusive)
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:15
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:15
G'day Gary
You have been quiet of late. Wondered if you were still around. Do you still drive the modified Kia?
Happy festive season to you.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:31
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:31
Hi Gary - I thought you were heading for Qld - do you still have the Sportage and did you put the larger engine in it?
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:00
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:00
Moved to sunny
Townsville...
Places I had been staying haven't had good internet connection, and then my little pocket of the inner city has been hampered by having a pair-gain amp on line so no broadband until recently.
Interesting drive up from
Melbourne...who said you couldn't load a 12'x6'x7' furniture trailer on your own in 38-42 degree heat, tow the two tonne trailer behind a two litre vehicle 2700km into a strong northerly and 40 degree heat (even if I was doing 5000rpm in second gear around Dubbo for two hours). **Ahem** "Character building" ROTFLMAO
Looking at getting into the mining industry up here middle of next year, presently nursing in TSV hospital.
Waiting for my first cyclone
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:03
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:03
Yes I still drive it, and yes I still have the engine/transmission/transfer to go in it. Only difference is I will be buying some locking diffs for the front and rear of the Kia from Grecce (US are not the only ones with aftermarket parts industries...)
Reply By: Smudger - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:41
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 10:41
If you're looking at fire-track type off road work, prettywell any of the small 4WD's will do the job. If you're looking at a bit of rock hopping,
river crossing work, then you need a dinkum off roader. You didn't say if you're looking new or used.
Look at;
Diahatsu Rocky & Feroza
Jeep Cherokee & Wrangler
Suzuki Vitara & Jimny
Reply By: Drewblack - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 16:35
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 16:35
Sorry new to this whole
forum thing so here is some more info
Off road conditions will be quite rough – bush tracks, mud holes etc, but not super hard stuff. The car will be used 95% on road so needs to be good on fuel, but still be able to go where only 4x4’s can go. Also just to make it a little more harder, I was thinking of towing a small lightweight
camping trailer
Had a look in a car mag today also and was thinking about these two
Suzuki Jimny or Daihatsu Terios
But im not sure about there performance off road, I think the Jimny is the new Sierra and ive read the sierra was awesome offroad. Any comments will be a great help.
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:26
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:26
Neither will tow anything in or through the rough. Think a bit bigger...
Terios is also a softroader, and really only up to a bit of beach work
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:13
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:13
Jimny and Terios are not suitable for real off road or off track stuff unless you areprtepared to spend some money on modifications to thje
suspension.
If you are prepared to buy an older model vehicle than go for a Suzuki Sierra. I crossed the
Simpson Desert with one, north south, in 1987. I think they stopped making them in the late 1990's and went on the make the Vitara and more luxurious Zooks.
Go to my website below and then click on 4x4 and then click on The Spinifex Trail for a read on the Suzuki on
the desert.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:34
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:34
The Sierra will go just about anywhere - probably more
places that a standard LC/Patrol but it's not the most comfortable on road and, certainly, will not tow anything. We have a "family" Sierra and will not be selling it :)
Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:32
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:32
the age old question..........if you actually want to go where others go and tow at the same time and also get good mileage and use it 95% on bitumen - looks like the old get 2 cars trick. have a look at an older 4wd that will tow and go
places without scraping and maybe a little buzz box for around town. now i know a really really smart fella who has just that type of transport - except his buzz box has all sorts of creature comforts and electronic toys the poor old 4wd just doesn't want to know about. then again the little buzz box can't tow a trailer or get me into
the desert. buzz box 5-6L/100kms 4wd 14 + L/100kms rgds
Reply By: wigger - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:03
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:03
Hi, There is an easy to read book called ' 4 Wheelers Bible' by Jim Allen published by M B I Publishing Company which is a must for anyone starting off with 4WDs. Can help you avoid a lot of expensive mistakes.
Reply By: ross - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:11
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:11
Depends on how much you want to spend. The Suzukis are ok by most standards.
If you want to go bush and do some hard tracks then you will need something more mid size like a Pajero or early Prado
Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 21:15
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 21:15
The 2 door Jeep Renegade is the best small 4x4 currently available. If you want econemy the diesel is the go & if you want full blown offroad ability then the Rubicon with extra low range gearing & lockers would be best. Also available in a 4 door which has an upgraded tow capcity as
well. All other small 4x4's are pretty much soft roaders even though a few have low range & most would struggle to tow anything bar the smallest of campers especially offroad.
In the small vehicle category other than duel range the most important feature for offroad ability is arguably tyre size, the bigger the better.
Cheers Craig............
Reply By: Drewblack - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 22:17
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 22:17
wow, thanks heaps for all the replys, starting to get a much better picture.
one thing a friend mentioned Daihatsu Rocky with a turbo, how are they off road
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 22:59
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 22:59
I had a naturally aspirated Rocky and have a for a little bit longer (it's just sold) a Toyota Blizzard (same as Diahatsu Scat) and both are awesome and scary offroad, they tend to want to roll over in real hard core but are capable of doing the real ruff stuff if you get them locked and lifted and learn how to drive them. Not so good onroad though. Turbo in the Rocky may make it a little nicer on road???? with a camper in tow. Crawler gears available for the Rocky if you get real serious.
Mine was 3" body lift 2" spring lift, 33' rubber fitted under and was next on the shopping list when wife got pregnant with no.1 bub and we traded it for the 4 door "family friendly" Jackeroo. Point the Rocky at a tree and it would try very hard to climb it.
COuld do a lot worse than a rocky off road. New vehicle....Jeep Wrangler would have to be on the list for sure.
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 13:11
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 13:11
Drew
If your looking at new ,I reackon Sukuki Jimny or Vitara , for Used look for a
well looked after Daihatsu Rocky , the last ones before they discontinued them ,
DAIHATSU ROCKY 1984 1999Suzuki Jimny
#