Submitted: Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:24
Mikee5 (Logan QLD)
I am hoping to go to
Broome in June/July. Can anyone tell me the latest I could be sure of booking two powered sites in the town for a week in this period. Need to know as I can't lock in dates off work yet.
Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:25
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:25
there are many horror stories regarding the lack of caravan accomodation
broome during the 'dry' and they are all true. do not despair as there is sufficient overflow in other areas - my kids enjoyed the 'crowds cheering' as they played footy at the pcyc oval. genrally a couple of months will see you squared away at all ezxcept the
roebuck bay pk where there are a lot of 'permanent' bookings for those periods you want. maybe give the tourist bureau a call early april and see how things are going. rgds
Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:58
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:58
About now.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 09:19
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 09:19
Mikee, we were in
Broome in July last year. We were told that if we did not book months in advance, we would miss out. We booked in Jan or Feb. Oother than
Cape Leveque,
Broome was the only pre booking we did for a 14 week trip.
When we got there, there were heaps of vacancies in caravan parks. Many people put it down to fuel prices (diesel had hit $1.40 in most capitals and was $2.00 in some remote areas).
Well if that's the reason, it applies now as
well.
So, if you are prepared to take a bit of a chance, don't bother to book. As stated above, overflow areas are opened once the parks are full. Advantage of this is you have some flexibility in travel planning.
But if you want certainty or want to be in a particular
park, I guess you should book soon.
Next time we go to
Broome, I don't think I'll book. Will just ring parks when a day or two out and book then if they have vacancies.
Reply By: Member - Brett (WA) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 09:53
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 09:53
Mike, I'll be honest with you mate, since the town of Fitzroy cut off the booze to the locals they've all moved to
Broome to get a fix. A very good mate of
mine who I used to fly with up there told me there has been an influx of 4500 black fellas over the last few months. There are more and more horror stories coming from tourists up there.
I lived in
Broome for 7 months and even though it's a beautiful place, with the current problems, I've told many friends that they should avoid
Broome until the problems are sorted out.
I've more recently been told that the resorts up there have had to hire security for the safety of their guests. If they're doing that in the resorts then I'd hate to see how things are going in the caravan parks.
Look into things before you go up there, do a lot of research and I would also highly recommend trying to fly up there first to see what it's like for yourself before putting the effort and cost into a trip up there.
Good luck with it mate.
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 13:52
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 13:52
I would book now, at
Roebuck Bay C/P..ask for a beachfront site,
may be a couple of bucks more but just fabulous location. We did
so last April & had a ball...cheers...oldbaz.
Reply By: Shaker - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 15:29
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 15:29
I may be asking the obvious, but why not ring a couple of caravan parks in
Broome & ask them?
Reply By: Member - Rob P (NSW) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 19:12
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 19:12
I am in
Broome as we speak.I was staying at Palm Grove c/
park.Very nice,but wet season prices are $168 p/week unpowered,and $189 powered.Also van sites have,i think, $1.50 per nite extra for aircon cost!!!!!!
Cable beach van
park is $170 p/week for a van as my friend is there now.I was offered free accomodation at my employers shed,which I took straight away.There is a problem up here keeping workers as the accomodation options are so limited and expensive!! Local council is looking at building more accomodation for workers in the future.Hope this helps??