ITS HAPPENED AGAIN RE PETROL IN DIESEL ENGINE.
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 18:35
Member - DAZA (QLD)
My neighbour accidently filled his Diesel Toyota Hylux with petrol today, the Service Station was approximately 5 kls from his house,
it spluttered and stopped as he turned into his driveway.
Then he realized what had happened, he is only new to 4wd-s, and
he panicked, we drained the
tank, flushed the fuel lines and the
tank with compressed air, cleaned and flushed the filter, filled up the
tank
with diesel, primed the fuel filter and it started first go,
he was one happy fellow. NO DAMAGE.
Daza
Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:31
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 19:31
Just hope he hasn't damaged the injector pump!, most rotary pumps rely on .the diesel to lubricate them , there was probably enough diesel left in there and in that short distance hopefully didn't worry it.
Follow Up By: ross - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:17
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:17
I doubt a few seconds of running petrol in the fuel pump will hurt them.
Once the engine tastes petrol they stop pretty quick.
All pumps rely on the fuel to lubricate the plunger and valves in the dist head
Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:50
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:50
Must admit that I have done the same thing.
The servo where I normally go and fill up, sometimes 3 times a week, has black handles on the diesel pump.
Some time ago I pulled up at another brand of servo and it was busy as... and I grabbed the black handle and pumped 60 litres of premium unleaded.
I realised at 60 litres I had the wrong pump.
Not just the cheap stuff wasted, it was premium.
Fortunately it went into the empty reserve
tank, so I didn't get into any trouble with it going through the lines.
Now I study the lables on the pumps real carefully.
Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 21:05
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 21:05
I'm actually paranoid about doing the same , so when i fill up -- Just before i fill up -- i make sure i see the diesel handle is not in the holder ( in the case where there is a choice of diesel and unleaded) - always good to double check ....
Tihs
forum has made me double check every time :)
Boc
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:56
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 20:56
yer
I was stupid enough to but the unleaded nozzle in the fuller on the Troopy, on this Saturday mourning haft a sleep (work Ute is a Petrol) looked down to pull the trigger and saw the green plastic cover near bleep myself....
hung it up and grabbed the black one,, Me lucky I think
Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 21:35
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 21:35
I filled up the main
tank with pitrol once, luckily I was running on the aux
tank. I cried tears of blood having to get rid of the pitrol, $$$. I was in the bush, and had to go back and fill up with diesel again.
So I never fill up half awake now. It "pays" to wake up at the pump.
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 11:27
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 11:27
Yes Footy it pays to be awake. A couple of years ago I pulled into a country servo and stepped out of the cruiser to hear the servo owner going off his rocker, swearing and ranting and raving.....someone had purposely swapped the unleaded and diesel hoses at the bowser.
No one actually got the wrong fuel because they lifted one hose and the other pump would start, but the intention was to cause trouble.
He was mighty pi**ed off, he had already called the service guy because no one had been able to get fuel from that bowser all morning, and the girl at the console got blamed for not seeing what the problem was.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 14:16
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 14:16
Muzzgit
If someone swapped the nozzles ...ie Unleaded to the diesel pump and the diesel nozzle to Unleaded pump then when someone lifted the diesel nozzle OFF the Unleaded pump that pump would start.... and your not going to get diesel to come from the diesel nozzle because the unleaded nozzle would still be sitting on the lever/switch of the diesel pump ....If you can work that out , my old brain started to overload just trying to work it out .So basicly your story don't add up,
.....Cough Cough >????
#
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 14:45
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 14:45
Doug, it pays to be awake when posting. hahaha.
If you re-read my followup you will see that that is exactly what I stated, just using different words.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 15:04
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 15:04
Muzzgit
Yes you do have to be on the ball here, and it's still not sinking in what you posted ....lmao.
(No one actually got the wrong fuel because they lifted one hose and the OTHER PUMP would start, but the intention was to cause trouble.)
I you pulled up at a diesel pump to get diesel and it had a petrol nozzle on it then when you lift that petrol nozzle that's on the diesel pump the diesel pump will start, not the petrol pump, and as you said no fuel would be pumped ,
Where your problem is arising is saying the OTHER pump , the other pump won't start , only the one you lift a nozzle off .
Bloody hell this is getting too technical , I think I need a Beer .
#
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 00:36
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 00:36
JEEESUS CHRRIST DOUG GET OVER IT WOULD YA!
I laughed so much my sides are sore. hahahahahahaha
YES YES YES, you got me on a technicality...... That's what I said in a round about way but without getting into confusing contorted explanations ,,,,,,,,,,, NO ONE GOT THE WRONG FUEL. THE END. THAT'S IT. GOOD NIGHT.
LOL ROTFLMAO
te he ha ha te he ha ha your so funny :)
Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 23:54
Sunday, Dec 16, 2007 at 23:54
Years ago when I used to drive trucks we used to purposely put a few litres of petrol in the diesel tanks to help clean the injectors...never had an issue.
And I know a cop who filled up a diesel TWICE with petrol....go figure...once would be enough
Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 17:49
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 17:49
We used to add about 10% petrol when you couldn't find winter diesel or kerosene (the latter can be mixed 50% with diesel according to Iveco handbook, if it's cold enough outside - i.e. much below freezing)
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 08:46
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 08:46
A few years ago I came across a hire bus in a servo.
They were on the side draining the
tank, yep, they reckoned they had filled up with the wrong fuel.
Asked them what they had used, since I had just pulled up to refuel too. That 'distillate' they said, and we were told to only use diesel.
Took a bit of persuading that they were the same thing. They had already dropped about 60 litres out of the
tank.
You live and learn. :o)
Reply By: Louie the fly - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 09:24
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 09:24
We had an older model Fergie diesel tractor that was sometimes hard to start in winter so we used to soak a rag in petrol and hold it over the air filter to manifold pipe (disconnect pipe from the filter end). One morning the rag got sucked into the pipe and the engine revved its bristols off for a short time then died due to lack of air flow. There didnt seem to be any long term damage. It was pretty funny at the time. lol
Also knew a chic that accidentally filled her HR Holden up with diesel on several occasions. And she was an apprentice Diesel mechanic. Go figure...
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 13:47
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 13:47
We used to use kerosene to wash the go-karts at the track, because petrol wasn't allowed in the pits due to high flammability.
Mr 18 was running on empty in the 88 2.6 petrol Jack (don't they always :) ) so filled the 18 litres or so of kero into the
tank.
I spotted the activity just as the last drop went in, so it was off to the nearest servo for a fill of petrol - 70 litres mixed in with 18 litres of Kero.
The old Jack took it all in its stride, just seemed to retard the timing a bit to compensate.
Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 15:39
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 15:39
We had the same lady come into work twice in a matter of weeks and fill her brand new Landcruiser Petrol with Diesel....she had had a diesel for the past 15 yrs and was struggling to remember what she was driving!
Good luck to him!!
ps.....we drained her tanks there at the servo.....
Laura
Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 15:53
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 15:53
A mate of
mine filled his car up with diesel a couple of weeks ago in his Holden Viva lease car. Got half way home (about 5ks) and it started to cough and splutter, got it in the drive way and had a look at the obvious things like electrics and fuel and smelt the diesel. Thought NO WAY did I put diesel in this thing, went back down to the servo and found out the fuel delivery truck had put diesel in the unleaded
tank.
Because it is Holdens car he got them to fixed it and my mate had to cough up the bill to get it fixed, and the servo is paying him the money
Cheers Luke
Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 17:47
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 17:47
I was reading on a old 4x4 truck enthusiasts
forum from germany that some of the guys owning multi-fuel trucks get all the "accidental mixes" from servos for free (as it would need disposal as hazardous waste otherwise) and run it in the trucks no problems.