Submitted: Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 19:56
Cruiserman1961 (QLD)
i was wondering if any of you smart people know a cost efficient way to replace the 3/4 bench passenger
seat in a poverty pack 80 series. We are planning to do some traveling soon and I found this
seat unbearable. Wonder which moron thought of that arrangement in the first place??? Can't be used for 2 people anyway, hey, Is there a
seat from a passenger car which could be fitted without too much engineering involved?
Have a merry Christmas all and keep the shiny side up, will ya?
Thanks for your advice,
Cheers, Udo
Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:36
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:36
Udo,
My father replaced the front seats in his poverty pack with ones from a GXL (from a wreckers). Straight fit and no difficulties. I have a GXL and find that the seats are fine, so that might be an option for you.
Follow Up By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:54
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:54
Thanks Matt, unfortunately GXL seats are pretty hard to source and seem to be very expensive even second hand. I was hoping I could substitute a passenger car
seat and alter it to comply with the engineering requirements.
Have a good one!
Udo
Reply By: bbuzz - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:59
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 20:59
I have a 60 series and replaced my seats with two Ford Fairmont buckets. From an EL or EF about 96,97,98. Get the Fairmont as they have more adjustments.They fit straight in; have to move the rear mounting towers and drill a couple of holes in the front bar.
Easy to do. Passed mechanical inspection and made it into a 5 seater not a six. Need an engineers inspection for rego.
You get very comfortable seats, with lots of adjustment. Only drawback (there always is one) is you sit a bit higher.
Follow Up By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:03
Monday, Dec 17, 2007 at 21:03
Hey, sitting a bit higher would be just fine, I am a bit over 2 mtrs tall and this would make it a bit more comfy i reckon. Don't know about the wifw though, she's only 152 cms.....
Thank you bbuzz!
Reply By: KSV. - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 08:42
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 08:42
Hi Udo!
I did not mind bench passenger
seat (sure SWMBO does!!!) – from time to time can be useful to carry 6 people, but generally agree – standard seats in entry-level LC is flat, unsupportive and generally unbearable. I was trying to source some from wrecker from Sahara or similar – they can be simply bolted on. After couple of month unsuccessful search I give up. Next things were to fit some aftermarket from ARB. They good, but man, who ever priced them?!? Two seats for price of winch and long range
tank together? Just could not stand it. I have finished to fit seats from Honda Jazz. Very comfy and supportive. I have to manufacture subframe for them, but it was not as difficult as may seems because you can cat legs from Toyota seats and bolt (or weld) them to subframe (of even to new seats frame if it fits). Turn out very nice. Best things what I like about this project is price – I have paid $100 for two seats in mint condition! Actually Toyo seatbelt lock for passenger
seat put me back $30! LOL!
Advise. Go to wrecker and try seats what they have to see what you comfortable with. Get them for bargain and fit.
Serg.
Follow Up By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 10:53
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 10:53
Thank you for this Serg,
i will do a bit of scouting at the local wrecking yard this arvo and see what i can come up with.
A happy Christmas to you and your family!
Cheers, Udo
Follow Up By: KSV. - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 11:46
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 11:46
Good luck. If you stuck with your mods, I can take photos from what I have done.
Serg
Reply By: mfewster - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 17:52
Tuesday, Dec 18, 2007 at 17:52
Here's a real el cheapo approach that worked pretty
well on my excruciating 60 series seats with the same problem. Kmart had some combined cushion/backrests that added a bit of support around the sides of the back and legs. About $30.00 each. I slid these in under cheap sheepskin
seat covers. Quite a lot better, but not good enough. Then went to Clarkes and bought a piece of upholstering foam to go under the bum and legs. About $15.00 a
seat. Comes in various firmness rates and I got the medium one. OK, I concede, I would rather have a set of Recaros, but for not much trouble and few $, the improvement is sensational and long trips are no longer a problem.
This may not work if you are on the long legged side. I think the squabs on these seats are too short and the el cheapo solution does nothing to increase squab length.