retiree in training

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 13:50
ThreadID: 52716 Views:2872 Replies:22 FollowUps:1
well its done, walked out of work at lunchtime for the last time after 33 years in the pulic circus.

I am now officially on leave pending retirement late 2009.

I am taking lots of accrued holidays and long service leave and will practice retirement until I can formally retire and access my super.

a revisit to cape york is scheduled for midyear and SWMBO has a list of jobs to keep me occupied in the meantime.

everyone a work reckons I'll get sick of not going to work.

for those who have done a similar thing how long did it take you to get bored to death.

Howard

Resigned to Retirement

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:13

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:13
2 years
AnswerID: 277641

Reply By: Vince NSW - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:14

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:14
Good on ya Howard. I am a bit green but, I will get there in 1195 days.
Enjoy the practice
Vince
AnswerID: 277642

Reply By: Member - len W (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:16

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:16
wtg mr Howard ( sorry i couldn't resist ) your going to love your new life soon you will wonder how you found the time to work i have been at it now for 3 years and loving it. be back later going fishing now ahahahahahah have fun ......... len
AnswerID: 277643

Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:19

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:19
WOW!!!!!!!!
It must be a great but scary feeling we have plans for the same thing when our youngest leaves uni. But first she must get over not getting the magic numbers in her UAI even though she already had pre selection for her course. Everything I say is wrong so Ive just left her OH for 1.4 marks.
Best of luck enjoy every day of your practise
Barb
AnswerID: 277645

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 15:33

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 15:33
Barb, don't stress your daughter over her lack of marks. She'll go on and do her own thing. One day she'll probably bring her first born home and confess "gee mum, now I know what you were on about when I was a kid " :)))
FollowupID: 541618

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:23

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:23
Bored to tears ? How ? Been semi retired for yonks (medical...actually I'm not quite as old as I let on heheh)...I told them I'd never go through the gate again, and I never will.
You won't have time to get bored, life is hectic.
You will learn how to pace the relaxation, and the jobs that the missus has for you.
Enjoy, remember you're retiring from WORK, not from LIFE :)))))))
AnswerID: 277647

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:23

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 14:23
It seems like all Howards are leaving there lately....

Have fun retiring.

AnswerID: 277648

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 15:01

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 15:01
Retired two years ago.

If there were an extra twelve hours in the day i'd still be flatout with things I WANT to do.
AnswerID: 277655

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 15:30

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 15:30
Good on you Howard - you've earned it I'm sure (just think of the tax you've payed since you left school, and how many bludgers have been using those $ when they could have been working too !). I did the same - took all of my remaining leave (half pay = double the timespan) over 18 months and then said "see yez all later", 2 months back. Having nothing to do would be a drama for me - my plan is to find enough jobs to keep me busy when I'm not out on the road with the Cruiser and camper - been ok for the last year :-o) ..... hell....I might just crack it.
AnswerID: 277660

Reply By: Member - MR 1927 (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:00

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:00
Howard,

I have been retired now for 27 years and I am still not sick of it.
I am still as busy as a one legged place kicker and I love it.

Enjoy every minute of it.

I am 80 by the way and still young at heart and looking forward to enjoying all that 4WD has to offer.
AnswerID: 277665

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:13

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:13
Good onya Howard, pack the 4wd and camping gear as often as you can and just go and bloody well enjoy yourself mate! Too much country out there to see and there is usually never enough time to see it in, just enjoy it now you lucky bugger.
AnswerID: 277668

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:15

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:15
Hi Howard,
Been retired over 7 years now, after nearly 38yrs in the comms business. Never been bored since retiring, heaps to do for myself.
It was a bit strange for the first few weeks, trying to come to the realisation that I'd never have to enter that salt mine again. But I overcame, and am quite comfortable with it all now.
I still have a few beers with ex-workmates, and this helps to reinforce my decision to retire.

"Sometimes I get the urge to work, but I take a lie down, and the urge soon passes...."
Gerry
AnswerID: 277670

Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:30

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 16:30
Howard
Didn't they offer you retraining with the view to retiring? It happened to a mate of mine who worked at Census and Stats in Canberra, he had worked there since leaving school, and took early retirement when his section was made redundant.
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

AnswerID: 277676

Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 17:36

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 17:36
Been retired (ill health) for 15 years. As soon as I get bored I start a new project, latest one is to build a weekender at my bush block. Star just after xmas. After that we'll be doing the Plenty and Tanimi to WA and hopefully get to the gathering at Innamincka but timing might be a problem. Can't keep a good man down.
AnswerID: 277685

Reply By: deserter - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 18:09

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 18:09
Been retired two years now. Bought the van. Did the few obligatory trips. Also went to the Tip. Fishing and golf keeps me busy - but - its the grandkids that do the damage. We are too busy helping with them to get a chance to scratch ourselves !!!!
AnswerID: 277688

Reply By: stefan P (Penrith NSW) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 18:31

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 18:31
I'll let you know soon.....I ONLY have 73440 work hours to go!!!! WOO-HOO!!!!

Cheers Stefan
AnswerID: 277690

Reply By: Oldman - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 19:00

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 19:00
Howard - you are about to live my dream.

I just turned 55 last month and have put in for my super.

I do plan to work a few more years as well (got to pay for my bloody 4wd and the extras I want) but the end is near. And is nice to know if it really gives me the sh$%% then I can walk out the door.

It comes down to money or freedom - freedom is looking good at the moment and posts like yours only make me drool a bit more.

Enjoy and live

Rich
AnswerID: 277697

Reply By: GREENDOG - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 20:50

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 20:50
Good on you Howard. Get out there and get abit of red dirt under your feet mate and enjoy the rest of your life.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 277719

Reply By: Member - Stephen F (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 21:08

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 21:08
Congratulations Howard,

I too did the same today not retired (can't do it a 29) just left work to start my year+ holiday.

Mate you can't and wont get board not going to work, i have found in my short time on this planet that a lot of people get confused that you go to work to live not live to go to work.

Enjoy YOUR time and don't slow down go hard or go back to work.:)

AnswerID: 277728

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 22:13

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 22:13
G'day Howard

Sounds like you are on the right wicket there....lol

I got retired by the medico's in 2001. Despite having a couple of knee ops and so on, I find very little time to get bored. When there is nothing to do or nothing interesting to watch on TV there is always ExplorOz....hahahahaha

I have a whiteboard in my study and it always has something written on it. 2007 is now clear but 2008 states New fishpond( I will be building it), Clad studio, Mosaic back verandah, paint window trims. And then there are the 4x4 trips to plan and execute...:-)))

Enjoy it mate.

AnswerID: 277742

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 23:47

Thursday, Dec 20, 2007 at 23:47
Hi Howard, Congratulations on your 'retirement'. Hubby and I retired over three years ago (early retirement) and we were told that it wouldn't be long that we would get bored and want to return to work, well we are still trying to work out how we had time to go to work in the first place, so don't listen to them and enjoy your retirement. BTW, the list of things I had for us to do when we retired is fast gathering dust but I hope that we still have many years left to do them.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 277756

Reply By: Member - sayo(NSW) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 06:57

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 06:57
hi howard
my husband and i both retired together in september and we dont know how we had the time to do all the things we did when we were working ,we definitely arent bored!!,the best thing about retirement is that you are so chilled out and you seem to look at life a lot differently with a relaxed attitude ,dont worry about what other people are telling you because more than half of them would love to be in the position you are in ,so just enjoy what youve worked for to get where you are now
all the best kay
AnswerID: 277769

Reply By: garryk - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 17:31

Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 17:31
Well Howard Thats certainly a big parcel of leave you have there , or are you taking that " twice the time at half the pay " thing that some are entitled to ?
I too am in the trial run stage , started the 25 years accumulation of long service leave ( 32 weeks balance ) 2 weeks ago and unless the stockmarket has a rerun of 1930 I do not plan on going back to work
My other half finishes work after Australia day and then its do a few trips with the new van and improve the fishing score
Oh and if We get truely bored she wants Bathroom , ensuite , laundry renovated , but its a holiday first
How about someone bumps this thread to the top in say 3 or 6 months time and we can all compare notes as to how its going
Garry
AnswerID: 277981