What do you think of this patrol?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 10:16
ThreadID: 52738 Views:4160 Replies:13 FollowUps:29
I thought I would get some different opinions on this one. My husband and I are looking for a patrol or similar for our oz trip and we’re on a budget. I found this one below.

GQ ST 1990, Denco turbo PWR air to water intercooler, 3 inch exhaust, recond head and new injection, 160 L tank, TJM bar, 9000 warne winch, IPF spotlights, 3 inch tough dog suspension, 3 inch body lift, roof rack, water tanks, dual batts, snorkel

$11k

Now I think it sounds pretty spot on and even if we need to spend a couple of grand we would still have a good deal.

Hubby reckons there has been too much stuff done to it for an older car.

I guess it will come down to going and checking it out which I am planning on doing this evening once I can convince hubby it’s at least worth having a look.

Anyone owned a similar car or have any thoughts?

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 10:22

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 10:22
The question I always ask myself....why does it have all those mods and where has it been. I would be very careful if I was you
AnswerID: 277806

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:31

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:31
"...water tanks...."

Probably been used as a tourer before, no "rock god/weekend warrior" would bother with them.
FollowupID: 541750

Follow Up By: Catfish - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 13:56

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 13:56
"...water tanks...."

Probably been used as a tourer before, no "rock god/weekend warrior" would bother with them.

"...3 inch body lift..."
Hmm.....shame the same cant be said about this!!

I think Troll 81 is on the money here.

just my 2 bobs worth.

FollowupID: 541776

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:27

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:27
... why would it be a worry >? have a think this way -- someone that uses there car for 4x4 activities and camping rather than a kmart car park negotiating vehicle would tend to service and make sure the vehicle is in tip top shape as they don't want to have an outing or weekend cut short due to LOM ( lack of maintenance) yet the suburban 4x4 will be just driven, and driven knowing that NRMA will come save them should a fault arise ...

Remember if you were to add half of these mods yourself , it would cost you In excess of $5k + MIN

who gives a toss if there are a few bush pin stripes , if your serious about 4x4ing then your going to add some also and in the case of Modified vehicles , all the Bugs should have been ironed out

If you just want a BIG shiney bleep extension ,something that only see's a dirt road that any ford or holden sedan can get down then perhaps a club sport would be better suited ...

Boc

FollowupID: 541852

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 10:28

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 10:28
How many kilometres?
A lot and it may have had a hard life touring.

How many scrapes underneath?
If quite a few and low kilometres, it has had a hard life on tracks and off road.

Do the usual test for dust or signs of mud behind rubbers and mats, and under the dash.

Otherwise it may have been some ones dream that never got put into action. What type of story is the owner telling?
AnswerID: 277809

Follow Up By: thecastles - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:03

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:03
He reckons it's had the head and injectors done 5 months ago when the new turbo went on. It's done 388000 km. Reason for sale he is giving is that he has started a new job and needed a Ute instead.

Pretty high kms... It's a 1990 though, kinda expected.
FollowupID: 541742

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:04

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:04
You didn't state what engine it has, 3l diesel or 4.2 diesel or 4.2 petrol? Without a doubt the big diesel is best. Petrol will be expensive for touring.

More to the point with vehicles like this is their history. Some have all of the bells and whistles but rarely got used hard. Low range 4wding is fairly easy on them.

Possibly that someone loved the car so much to spend all of the extra money on it and cared for it also......or it was a thrasher that is on its last legs.

I bought a stock 1991 GQ and have spent about 7-8 grand putting stuff on it. If I found one with accessories already in as good condition i would have got it.

Take it to a specialist 4wd mechanic who does pre-purchase inspections and ask them what they think.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 277817

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:40

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:40
No 3l diesel in the GQ only a 3l petrol so I would assume with a turbo fitted the vehicle is a 4.2 diesel.

I agree though...if you have a mechanical inspection and understand there will be maitenence costs to keep an old girl running....it shouldnt be bad buying an older vehicle.

At least you know the 4.2 is very prolific and parts are EVERY where and to maintain it will be just part and parcel of owning ANY 4wd.

Look get it checked and then decide if it is worth even considering going forward with the purchase.

All the best.

FollowupID: 541751

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:34

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:34
Hi Thecastles

Redbook states that the average top price paid is $9100. I would start at around $8000 offer and go up from there and stop at $10,000. Accessories fitted to vehicle mean nothing when when trading or selling for that matter

388,000 is nothing for that model diesel and they are normally good for 500,000-600,000 before the engine may need attention. My '94 GQ has 350,000 up and is still running sweetly.... when all the wheels are attached(see post 52725)...lol

Many of us fit aftermarket parts and accessories to enhance the operation of the vehicle. At around $10,000 you really can't go wrong and it seems that you will not have to add anything else.
I would however get hubby to slide in underneath the vehicle just to see if there are any oil leaks and/or dents so as to ascertain how hard the vehicle has been driven. Many of these vehicles never see real hard offroad driving and have accessories only for 'pose' value.....lol.

You may be lucky

AnswerID: 277821

Follow Up By: thecastles - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:40

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:40
Yeah hubby is a mechanic so we definately won't buy it if it's in a bad state, he is pretty anal with checking everything. However if it does need a small amount of money spent I would be happy to do so as I have heard the gq's are really good.

I am hoping the accessories are for 'pose' value! But hey, 4 wheel driving is what 4 wheel drives are for! Obviously you don't want a car that's been thrashed to pieces but I think we are kidding ourselves to find a mint condition one for our budget. I mean, we are gonna be doing some pretty hard driving in it ourselves hopefully!

FollowupID: 541752

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 12:03

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 12:03
Ummm...the price I looked up was for a petrol model. The diesel is $1000 more. Mine is a diesel

I would not go for a petrol engine because they normally need a rebuild around about the 380,000km mark. Although [petrol seems to be at least 10% cheaper to buy these days...:-)

FollowupID: 541762

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:29

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:29
Red Book is only a guide, & not really a very good one either.
FollowupID: 541853

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:46

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:46
So?

Our comments are only a guide as well. They could be construed as good or bad. It is up to the individual to take all the comments on board to make up her/his mind as to which way they want to go.

How do you quantify whether the Redbook is good or not. Where does your research come from. Or are you just making a comment for comments sake?

FollowupID: 541858

Follow Up By: 96 GXL 80 series - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:15

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:15
Willem,
is that a Tri-cycle that you are running around in?
Merry Chrissy
FollowupID: 541877

Reply By: Davo_60 - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:57

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 11:57
Hello,

As Willem said, 8k with a max of 10. Personally I think you will find something with lower kays for that money albeit minus 3" body lift. Good luck

AnswerID: 277822

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 12:27

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 12:27
3"Exhaust..! Don't be bringing it into my neighbourhood at night please, I value my sleep..! I would be getting the engine tested because with those mods and recond head etc it would be a lot lot more than $2k to spend to rebuild or replace it. If your going around OZ and your happy with the rest of the vehicle then plse ensure you have the engine and mechanicals looked at before you buy and definitelty before you depart.
AnswerID: 277830

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 16:42

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 16:42
WTF????

The addition of a properly fitted 3" exhaust will not make the vehicle any louder than a standard set-up. This is me speaking from experience and with a hot-dog straight-through muffler in place of the standard thing that the size of a 44 gallon drum!!! haha.....

However, I agree that a compression test would be the one thing I would be insisting on before buying (as well as all the other things mentioned above).

I'd suggest there is a good possibility of rust in the bottom of the rear -most side sliding windows too; but this is quite common. If you are getting the DX or RX (with the solid panel rear window), this is much less likely to be a problem.

Just a note about the price and the motor: Even if the motor is totally knackered, my mate has a 4.2TD from a GU, currently for sale in the Trader Section of this site for $4,000-, complete with Denco (ie: larger) turbo. So at worst, for $15K you've got a great truck.
FollowupID: 541798

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 16:47

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 16:47
A 3"exhaust with a hot-dog straight through..! WTF..?? Are you heading up the Summernats..?? Take some photos of the burnout competition for me and the Summernats Chickies..! LOL !
FollowupID: 541802

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 17:55

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 17:55
I have to agree with Roachie on the 3" exhaust. I have a 3" on my 4.2L and it isn't really that loud. It has a nice note (IMO) but isn't loud.

I'm sure you've had louder viechles drive down your street than a patrol with a 3" exhaust

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 541819

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:33

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:33
Terra .....do u know wtf u are talking about????
FollowupID: 541854

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:44

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:44
a 3" exhaust with a hotdog on a diesel needs to be heard to be believed how quiet it surprisingly is. Now on the other had if it was a petrol.......a different ball game altogether.

Leroy
FollowupID: 541856

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:31

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:31
Brew69, WTF..? Get a sense of humour cocko..! Every 3" exhaust I have heard has been on the loud side, if thats not true when it comes to Diesel 4WD's then so be it. I have probably worked with more cars and boats than most, most people I know do their dump pipe, they don't bother with a 3" exhaust.! I really couldn't give a bleep , move on.. SA WTF..?
FollowupID: 541867

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:37

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:37
TerraFirma asks: "SA WTF?"

"SA"= Superior Australians..... hahahaha
FollowupID: 541868

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:40

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:40
Superior Aussies goes to all Aussies Roachie..! LOL
FollowupID: 541872

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:42

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:42
Very true mate........ hahaha;-))....

Especially when compared to septics, crouts and froggies etc
FollowupID: 541874

Reply By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 15:18

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 15:18
thecastles
What a refreshing change!!!! The handbrake pushing for a 4by.
I had to beg & plead & that was just for the car.

Hubby is a mechanic, I feel he should understand what you are getting yourselves into.

These cars are near bullet proof and the old man should be able to pick a lemon.

When talking to the seller, rephrase your questions slightly and listen for consistency of reply. This will hopefully tell you something, if nothing other than he is a good liar.

Weigh up the pros & cons and if one is far greater than the other then decide accordingly.

What ever you do, enjoy yourselves travelling.
Colin.
AnswerID: 277845

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:39

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:39
Very refreshing, hard to believe the Handbrake wants a lifted 4B with the works.. Good stuff, offer em $8k and hang on for the ride.!
FollowupID: 541870

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 15:39

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 15:39
thecastles,

If you do go ahead with the purchase of the vehicle I would take the 3" body lift out.

With touring you will be in and out of the vehicle a lot and to climb up into the cabin that is so high will take the edge of a good trip.

AnswerID: 277852

Follow Up By: thecastles - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 17:27

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 17:27
we are in our 20's so not too concerned about climbing up lol our doggies might get tired of jumping up though!
FollowupID: 541815

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:39

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:39
Even so, I'd be getting the 3" body blocks outa there...the COG will be waaayy too high for cornering and side slope negotiations etc.....
FollowupID: 541871

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:40

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:40
Forgot to add.....check out the body where the body-lift blocks attach also. The GQ has a nasty habit (when body lifted) of cracking the body where the lift blocks are located.
FollowupID: 541873

Reply By: Alfantz - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 16:05

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 16:05
A 3" body lift on a tourer is not a good idea in my opinion. Combined with the suspension lift it will be rockin and rollin. Body lifts have their place (usually when people want to fit bigger tyres) but not on a tourer.
AnswerID: 277857

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 16:48

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 16:48
Offer him $8k..!
AnswerID: 277864

Reply By: thecastles - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 17:29

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 17:29
Well, there goes that idea. He has refused to even go and check it out. What's a girl supposed to do? haha. He wants something '97 or younger. For $20k or less, 4.2 turbo diesel.

I have tried telling him beggars can't be choosers!
AnswerID: 277869

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 17:44

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 17:44
Where are you located? ..... My neighbour is selling his 1993? 4.2 Patrol & it is absolutely immacualte, almost bog standard & he is bordering on anal in regard to maintenance & cleanliness of his vehicles.
This IS NOT a subtle forum advertisement, just trying to be helpful, if you are looking for an original vehicle.
AnswerID: 277873

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 17:52

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 17:52
Sorry, I should have put ..... is about to sell his 1993? 4.2 Patrol etc etc .....

He gets his new vehicle in a couple of days.
FollowupID: 541818

Follow Up By: thecastles - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 19:17

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 19:17
We are in Perth
FollowupID: 541835

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:14

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 20:14
What a shame!
FollowupID: 541848

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:42

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 21:42
I love that, this is not a Subtle forum advertisement..! LOL
FollowupID: 541875

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:34

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:34
To be honest it isn't .... it isn't my vehicle & I certainly don't care if he sells it or not.
The only reason that I mentioned it is that he never visits ExplorOz & it will never get advertised here.
FollowupID: 541880

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:32

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:32
Hi thecastles

For a rather more than you are looking at - we have a 2002 3 ltr td auto wagon for sale, all in good order and on around 128,000. It's in the Trader.

AnswerID: 277896

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:43

Friday, Dec 21, 2007 at 22:43
128,000 kms that is