what 4wd to buy
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 12:06
johnes
We are planning a big loop trip and have settled on a caravan around 18 foot. What we would like to know is what 4WD vehicle to buy. We are not going to go serious off road and are looking at a compromise between comfort and power. We had thought of a Nissan Navara but have read bad reports on its towing power. What can you recommend?
Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 12:26
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 12:26
Yes
well, I tow an 19 foot dual axle van with a new Mitsubishi Triton 3.2 diesel and it works for me.
A mate has the 2.5 Navarra and he reckons it is great. I know the Navarra has better seats than my Triton. But the Triton out pulls the Navarra.
Follow Up By: johnes - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 15:59
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 15:59
Hi Notso, is the Navara a diesel? Have you compared the fuel consumption between the two?
Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 19:26
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 19:26
Yep, 2.5 litre 128 kilowatts and about 400nm torque.
The Triton is about 118 kilowatts and 350NM I think. It out pulls the Nissan while towing, and eats it for performance without the van on.
The fuel consumption between the two is within a bees whisker. We both tow similar sized and weight vans.
Reply By: deserter - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 14:26
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 14:26
If you are buying new then the latest Prado D4D diesel is a great tow vehicle.
Follow Up By: johnes - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 15:58
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 15:58
Hi deserter, just what makes the Prado a great tow vehicle? Is it fuel economy, power, driveability or something totally different?
Reply By: Stu-k - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 16:07
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 16:07
If you done need the load space of a dual cab ute don`t buy one. The wagons will give you a better ride and more std features.
Follow Up By: Stu-k - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 16:08
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 16:08
I meant DON`T sorry
Reply By: jomah - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 16:42
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 16:42
Prado has heaps of torque and relatively good fuel economy, however is much more expensive than many others that should tow an 18 foot van. Calculate the all up weight of your van when loaded (give yourself about 500 kg of load and then check vehicle specs for legal towing weights. remember every dollar saved on vehicle purchase is another dollar to spend during the big trip. Hyundai Terrican & Pathfinder both have good reports and are many thousands of dollars cheaper than Prado. Guess it all depends on how deep your pockets are.
Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 18:19
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 18:19
New/Used ?? How many people/kids ?? regards Steve M
Follow Up By: johnes - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 18:40
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 18:40
2 people, 2 dogs, hopefully about 1-3 year old vehicle. Doesn't have to be flash - the caravan certainly won't be!
Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 19:21
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 19:21
Diesel is the way to go if you want fuel econony,and if turbo like most of the later models are majority have plenty of pulling power, hilux, triton, navara, prado, pajero, patrol, cruiser etc. When you say not serious off road, are you talking maybe taking a back road or are you disconectiong the van and going to be doing some sight seeing off road. Is the van an off road van ?? Reason Im saying all this as some thing like a late model falcon or the sort is just as capable pulling a van around Australia. Regards Steve
Follow Up By: johnes - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 19:31
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 19:31
The caravan is not off road, we intend leaving it in storage occassionally and taking the tent to more remote
places like
Bamaga etc. We will have to go on some bull bleep dust roads in WA and NT but not during the wet and not off the beaten track. We currently have a VT commodore wagon and have researched it's capabilities but would have to add a lot of extras to make it capable of towing the van easily so we are now looking for a 4WD.
Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 19:37
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 19:37
navara 2006 d22.....brilliant!!!
Laura
Reply By: ross - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 21:27
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 21:27
Some people swear by the
Explorers for towing. Not really suitable for serious offroad use but you dont want that anyway.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:42
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:42
TIll you have to take the motor out to change the chain drive at the rear of the block
Reply By: margro - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 21:41
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 21:41
Definately go for a 2000 GXL Prado - they are great in every respect...did I mention that I had one for sale?? :P
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 22:59
Saturday, Dec 22, 2007 at 22:59
If you are looking at a decent turbo diesel at a good price pick up a 1-2 year old Hyundai Terrican. Duncan WA on here has one(he has a petrol) and my old man has a turbo diesel. Its built on the old pajero chassi. They have a 5 year warranty so if you get a 1-2 year old one it still has a good 3-4 years of warranty left on it. The 2.9crdi engine is nice to tow with too. They are only around $40k brand new, redbook says 2006 model $23-25k. Still got heaps of warranty left too. Hope this helps
Matt
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:45
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:45
What is its rated towing capacity as its no good buying, say, a 2 tonne capacity vehicle if you van exceeds its capacity
Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:57
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:57
2500 kg
Follow Up By: johnes - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:16
Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:16
2500 kg - is that with the trak n' tow fitted or not?
Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 21:02
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 21:02
The simple answer is to get a large capacity Petrol 4wd on LPG.
Way cheaper to run than any diesel and will offer better power but torque as a rule. Low down torque is great, but is no substitute for higj up power.
A 4.8 GU patrol will rip your van down the road and be cheap as chips to run on LPG.
Follow Up By: johnes - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:13
Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:13
Hi Jim,
I thought that LPG was hard to get in some
places such as W.A. which is why we hadn't considered it. Would you recommend dual tanks or what? I will have to do some more research.