How long does deisal last in jerry cans??

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 12:49
ThreadID: 52791 Views:3651 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
This question comes up a abit so in the name of Science I have left 2 jerry cans full in the back for 18 months
the main tank was empty (oranfe light on) and i have just put the 40 litres in and am going for a day trip down south
- lets see what happens

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 13:15

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 13:15
Years as long as the drum is full or is plastic

The ones they left up on the moon should be still OK.. :-)

even old super fuel would last for years

AnswerID: 278103

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 13:21

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 13:21
Whoops I was wrong.. LOL

Try reading this PDF file from BP oz fuel storage
FollowupID: 542107

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 13:21

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 13:21
and by the way I'm not sure how that happened
FollowupID: 542108

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 15:54

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 15:54
Thnaks for teh link Richard. I always knew I was right - my spare plastci jerry cans full of diesel are kept in the same area under my home as the wine collection - stays about 20 degrees all year round.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 542126

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 15:56

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 15:56
I'll try again but slower so I can check the spelling this time.

Thnaks = thanks, teh = the, plastci = plastic. Spell check next time

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 542127

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 16:04

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 16:04
I don't know what you're on about John

I read it and didn't see any mistakes.. LOL

FollowupID: 542130

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 16:55

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 16:55
>my spare plastci jerry cans full of diesel are kept in the same area
>under my home as the wine collection

Errrr... wouldn't all that diesel under the house be less than ideal in the event of a fire?

FollowupID: 542137

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 17:24

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 17:24

Most likely by the time there is enough heat to melt the containers & ignite the diesel, the rest of the house would not be in a very good order.

FollowupID: 542142

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:12

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 20:12
The BP article says "plan the fuel usage so it will all be used within 1-5 years".
FollowupID: 542176

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 09:56

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 09:56
Richard Kovac posted:
Whoops I was wrong.. LOL

Whats it feel like? LOL.
FollowupID: 542236

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:30

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:30
Louie the fly

thats what I said

"and by the way I'm not sure how that happened"

:-)
FollowupID: 542271

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 14:16

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 14:16
$3800 was the injector pump repair cost on a 4.2 Nissan.

The fuel had been sitting in the car for 12 month, started her up, didn't get far.

Hope yours doesn't do the same, or those two cans will be very expensive fuel.
AnswerID: 278114

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 15:57

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 15:57
Gerhardp1

what was wrong with the fuel filters? not there? blocked if so truck should not has started me thinks

but as above I maybe wrong.. ;-)
FollowupID: 542128

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 19:52

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 19:52
i take it then the vehicle had not been started for 12 months - i reckon there could have been your problem
FollowupID: 542173

Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 14:46

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 14:46
Too many variables to make a single statement.

I know a good mate who had a boat in Townsville with a 6.2L Chev Diesel in it and he would fill the tanks on his return and a few years back he worked in Perth for 12 months and when he got back he took the boat out with no problems.

But depends on
condition of fuel tank;
Whether you had any micro-organisms in the tank/container to start with;
Whether its been sitting in direct sunlight (heat) with pressure relief;
and probably heaps of other things.

I had the same petrol sitting in my tinnie fuel tank for about 3 years (sucks living in desert country) before I sold it and it would still start first pull (Yamaha). But I wouldn't try that with an off shore boat.

Diesel might loose some of its "bang" over time but it will still combust.
AnswerID: 278117

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 15:04

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 15:04
This may not be all that relevant, but I can't stop thinking that crude oil has been staying in the ground for a VERY long time, and as far as we're concerned it's improved ;-)
AnswerID: 278118

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 18:05

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 18:05
Probably should be OK if nothing decided to 'grow in it'!
AnswerID: 278139

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 19:50

Sunday, Dec 23, 2007 at 19:50
well made it back and didnt notice any difference. Used probabbly 20l or so
AnswerID: 278156

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:30

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:30
The length of time the 2 jerries will last will depend on how thirsty the motor is....
AnswerID: 278258

Reply By: Member - dock - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:39

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 14:39
A couple of months ago I pulled out a little 2 cylinder Kubota from the back of the shed to put on a irrigation pump. It had been there for 15 years but still had half a tank of diesel in it so after finding a battery to crank it over with i thought what the heck I'd see if it would start and lo and behold she blew out a wasps nest in the exhaust and ran like a charm. When I'd set it up on the pump I just filled it with new diesel with the old and its been pumping away once a week ever since. Did change the oil though after running it for ten minutes.
So I 'd say that diesel can still be good for years and years depending on how high tech the motor is
AnswerID: 278259