Those aerosol tyre repair/inflater thingies
Submitted: Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:37
I've just discovered one of these in my "emergency bits bag", it's a "Holts Tyre Weld" 350gm bottle and the idea is that when you have a puncture you attach it to the tyre valve and it injects, under pressure, some gooey stuff into the tyre and both seals the puncture and inflates the tyre - at least enough to drive home on. I suspect it's a heap of dingos kidneys - anyone know for sure?
Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:50
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:50
Mike, I've used one in the
Flinders Ranges: it worked a treat to get back to Pt
Augusta for a fix. Put it back in the bag :)
Cheers, Ray
Reply By: TheMajor - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:54
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 15:54
G'day Mike, I have had the experience of using this stuff on a number of occasions and it holds up pretty
well, In fact, one puncture I had on a nearly new tyre I used it for another 40,000kms, although it is only supposed to do as an emergency to get you home or to a place where proper repairs can be done. I sprayed some on my concrete driveway, the foam went to a khaki brown and then rubbery and then a really hard base substance and even though it was a couple of months ago I sprayed it on the concrete, I still can't remove it, so whatever it is it is pretty good stuff.
Regards The Major
Reply By: Fazz - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:19
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:19
Word of warning re-aerosol type puncture repairs.
Some years ago a motor cyclist was killed after using a aerosol puncture repair. It made the front tyre so badly out of balance it caused lose of control, resulting in coming of at high speed.
It is also extremely flammable. (storage issue)
Also very hard to clean inside of tyre to make proper repair.
Personally I would prefer to use the spare wheel or at worst the tyre plug method to at least get you home.
My thoughts,
Fazz
Follow Up By: DesF - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 19:08
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 19:08
Hi, I would guess that he didnt spin the wheel immediatly to spread the liquid around , I was a motor cycle tyre fitter for 20 years also do a lot of outback motor cycle touring, it even works on tubed tyres on the bikes.
It was originally called "SSSHush". but I think " Slime " is better ,put in before you go, we have used " SSSHush " and then topped up the air with the CO2 bottle kit.
compressor would be needed for 4x4 tyre,
Cheers Des.
Reply By: Member - Tony N (WA) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:53
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:53
Hi Mike, used a can when we did in second trailer tyre around Wittenoom some 20 yrs ago.it was a bit hard to get gunk off when tyre needed replacing 5 yrs later but i wouldnt travell off road without a can. its as good as an extra spare & means u dont have to leave your rig on the side of the road.
Cheers Esttile
Reply By: F4Phantom - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:59
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 16:59
I have had a lot of experiance with and recommend slime. Its this green bottle of stuff you put in your tyre and it stays liquid only to turn solid when it hits air. It can block up to 6mm hole and you can put it in the tyre when you dont have any holes. Had a bolt in my tyre recently and out this stuff in and no problems since, will last the length of the tyre. If I was going in for a big trip I would thing about putting it in every tyre. Because its liquid there is no balance issues. You need your own pump to re inflate the tyre.
Follow Up By: Fazz - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:56
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:56
You should never use any of these products as a permanent fix.
e.g. Large nail trough tread but angled as to rub against inner sidewall,eventually it will wear through the side wall resulting in a blow- out.(hopefully not at high speed)
Have been in the tyre game for many years & have seen this all to often!
Have a safe Christmas,
Fazz
Follow Up By: Old Dave - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:26
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:26
I agree F4
we used a slime in the norh west in tyres for graders was put in
when new saved a lot of down time with punctures.
we took tyre of after months to find heaps of stakes in tyre
dave
Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 19:49
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 19:49
Fazz, I am sure you know a tone more about tyres than me but I would be taking the nail and letting the slime fill
the gap, I dont think your supposed to leave the stakes in.
Dave, Yeah I started using it on push bikes and eventually they made it for cars, and now it seems graders. In fact where I used to work we got bikes from china, we eventually made them put the slime in at the factory so that all our new bikes had slime in both tyres from new. I think its a great idea. Also if the puncture ever fails in the same spot (the hard bit of slime gets moved or wears away) again the slime fixes it again for the life of the tyre without you even knowing.
Follow Up By: Fazz - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 21:41
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 21:41
F4, that's the problem people don't pull the nail out or don't know why the tyre went down in the first place & that problem nail has eventually cut through numerous cords.
Just out of interest it is an illegal repair method as is plugging, and yet there are a couple of car manufactures that supply a can of the material in place of a spare wheel? Go figure??
Merry Xmas all,
Fazz
Follow Up By: Fazz - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 21:46
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 21:46
It was originally introduced some years ago as a repair method for SLOW moving vehicles. e.g. don't have a problem with Graders, Mowers, Tractors etc.
Reply By: pauljohnston - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:24
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:24
They only work on tubless tyres (I know, that's mostly what we use these days), and you may need to replace your valve after using it as they can gunk up.
PJ.
Follow Up By: Old Dave - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 09:29
Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 09:29
They work on tubed tyres also,
20 odd years ago the graders had tubes and we used it on the
utes 7.50 x 16 with tubes.
Up until 12 months ago we sold tubes at the auto parts
shop
with the goo already in
dave
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 19:21
Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 19:21
Yep Mike,
great as an emergency repair but as Fazz suggested, when back in town get the tyre checked.
Lionel.
Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 09:28
Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 09:28
Primarily designed for earthmoving (type) equipment and therefore not entirely suitable for road use if you intend to travel at any speed over 20 or so km/ph. As previously stated, you may experience wheel/tyre shake resulting in blow out or wheel damage. Read the instructions.
Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 17:34
Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 17:34
Be careful how you stow it for offroad, I was following my nephew on our trail bikes along
Mount Margaret Track a couple of years ago & a can of tyre sealant rubbed through in his bike 'bumbag', it was bloody funny at the time, but what a mess!
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:53
Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:53
Any product that can restore a flat tyre back to an inflated condition, so that you can drive home on it has to be a good thing.
Whether it's Slime or an aerosol type doesn't matter.
Virtually ALL tyre fitters will tell you it's cr@p, but I reckon that's only because when they remove a tyre which contains Slime they get even dirtier than usual, and it makes a bit of a mess on the tyre machine and the floor, and they have to clean it up....
Plus they don't get money for a repair when you Slime it :) and yes, I imagine the residue makes it harder to do a "real" repair.
I wouldn't leave home without my Slime :)