Fuel tanks GU Patrol

Submitted: Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 17:53
ThreadID: 52829 Views:2568 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
Can anybody tell me why my sub tank is using fuel as is my main tank.Both gauges are dropping.

Cheers have a good one !

Reply By: simple - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:15

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:15
the sub tank pumps into the main tank for about 10 sec every time you start the car to keep the pump working and lubricated
AnswerID: 278286

Reply By: pauljohnston - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:17

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:17
I have a patrol also. Each time you start the car, a little fuel is pumped from the sub to the main tank. This is a safety precaution stopping you from leaving fuel in the sub tank so long it goes of, or gets full of aglae etc, then stuffing up your filter and/or pump when you finally try to use it.

Merry Christmas.
PJ.
AnswerID: 278287

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 01:01

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 01:01
Paul!! i think it is actually to just run the sub tank pump each time you start the vehicle.. Motor companies dont think ahead that far.. regards Michael
FollowupID: 542375

Reply By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:49

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 18:49
Giffo
My Gu ute does the same but is more than just a little fuel each time you start up, my sub tank will be almost empty before the main tank.
I reckon the valve or whatever is stuck open all the time, only done 9k so will get it checked at 10k service
Cheers and have a great chrissy
RAY
AnswerID: 278291

Follow Up By: giffo - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 21:17

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 21:17
Thanks for the feedback.I reckon that the sub tank has dropped by half when the main has droped by three quarters.this is the first 4wd I have owned, so all new to me.

Have a good chrissy. my 3 kids are all bouncing off the walls in anticipation for the fat man to arrive.He is a good bloke as he droped the GU TD off to me last week !.
Giffo
FollowupID: 542345

Reply By: Eric Experience - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 22:34

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 22:34
Giffo.
The pump that transfers the fuel is just like any pump with valves in it that open with a little pressure. When your fuel is sloshing around in the tank if creates pulses of pressure in the hose and this opens the valves in the pump so transfer's fuel to the main tank. Someone started this rumour about the 10 second pump and it has become "fact" like so many myth's on this forum. Happy travels. Eric.
AnswerID: 278328

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 23:27

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 23:27
Eric, It is true that the pump works for a short time every time you start the motor. If you doubt this, try opening the fuel filler door and remove the main tank's cap. Standing outside the vehicle, start it up and move to the filler's hole......you will witness the fuel being pumped into the neck of the main tank, as it happens right up near the top of the neck.

Also, my advice to all Patrol owners is to keep the main tank full (or close to full) all the time. This will ensure the pump has some fuel to "work" on all the time. These pumps are very expensive and if you leave the sub tank empty the pump will stuff up in a short period of time.
Also, keeping both your tanks full as much as possible will avoid (or lessen) the liklihood of algae forming in either of the tanks.

FollowupID: 542364

Follow Up By: Eric Experience - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 11:10

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 11:10
Roachie.
Thanks for that. By far the main transfer is by the sloshing action, Vehicles have been doing this long before computers were invented. I used to make and fit long range tanks and have my customers come back with the same question all the time, Nissan hopefully have corrected this error because as you say it will destroy the pump on a dry tank.The function is not necessary because the fuel moves through the pump anyway. Eric
FollowupID: 542395

Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 18:07

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 18:07
Eric I can not see for the life of me how a Nissan sub tank will be affected by sloshing action, as the sub tank is lower than the main in my truck is only connected by the pump hose & it feeds to the filler of the main & all return lines go to the main, even if the main is over filled it doe's not back flow into the sub
FollowupID: 542411

Follow Up By: Eric Experience - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:04

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:04
Vincent.
Do you agree that fuel does transfer on a trip without you switching on the pump. if so you have the proof . Just to demonstrate this you could unplug your pump and note the level in the sub tank still drops. Happy motoring. Eric.
FollowupID: 542424

Follow Up By: Member - John - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 22:52

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 22:52
Eric, have a look at page 1-29 of the Nissan owners manual, it states, " Each time the engine is started, fuel is automatically transferred from the sub tank to the main tank for a few seconds".

FollowupID: 542441

Follow Up By: blown4by - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:59

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:59
Exactly right 100% and it is no urban myth. As they say "When all else fails R T F M" which stands for: " Read the manual".
FollowupID: 542491

Reply By: Member - Raoul (Snake) H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 22:42

Monday, Dec 24, 2007 at 22:42
G,Day giffo, I have a terracan that uses about 10Litres every 100Ks,could be the same problem?????Have a safe Xmas.Cheers Snake
AnswerID: 278331