Dream truck to travel the world.

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 19:53
ThreadID: 52851 Views:5861 Replies:7 FollowUps:1
Firstly Merry Christmas to all, and I hope you all had a stress free day.

Well after a few bottles of christmas cheer, and talking about my up coming trip around OZ, the topic of traveling the world with your own car was in the air.
Personally I was thinking about a OKA, lets wave the Australian flag. Two other vehicles that came two mind where the UNIMOG and that Russian built truck in the Dakar rallies, name escapes me.
If all things go right I reckon I could do it in about five years, what would your choice of truck be on the around the world trip?

Regards......Stephen

Reply By: On Patrol (East Coast) - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:11

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:11
G'day Stephen F
"Ya Dreamin mate"

I would like to say the OKA for the same reasons stated by yourself, however my wallet would say UNIMOG over that Russian truck (ether Kamaz or Tatra) for the plain and simple reason of servicing around the world.

Iveco also make some interesting 4WD chassis in Europe that are sold globally.

OKA is restricted to Australia, even though the main parts are from recognised global suppliers, body parts and ancillary bits are unique to it. Russian parts of any make are notoriously hard to get.
Follow your dream however and good luck.
Colin.

AnswerID: 278389

Follow Up By: Love The Outback - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 22:49

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 22:49
Only thing is, Tatra is not Russian, but Czech
FollowupID: 545435

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:54

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 20:54
Stephen ,

There is a beaut truck for sale in the Trader Ads .

I think the thing going for the OKA is that it has the same wheel base ( I think ) as a Landcruiser and so you can get through the squeezy bits and keep your wheels in the wheel tracks .

I am guessing but I would think Unimogs etc would be a fair bit wider .

Happy Christmas ,

Willie .
AnswerID: 278397

Reply By: pajdid - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 22:49

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 22:49
Merry Christmas All
If you go to ebay and put in Unimog you will find one all ready to go. All you need is $169000. What a Chrissy present.
AnswerID: 278409

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 23:17

Tuesday, Dec 25, 2007 at 23:17
The Aussie Bushmaster would certainly make a nice camper in civilian cloths.
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 278410

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:16

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:16
The good old Troopy would be hard to go past....every country on he planet has them..certainly their millitary do.
AnswerID: 278420

Reply By: joseph baz - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 00:45

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 00:45
Hi Stephen,OKA is a really good travelling vehicle there is no price comparison with the Unimog,the experienced owners have modify the early concerns,Paul Nott from East coast OKA in Vic is the person to contact if you are serious about it,also there is a good pool of information from the owners group website (you need to be an owner to register).
At the moment there is 3 OKA'S in Chile,some in PNG ,1 in Germany,2 in the middle East,some in Indonesia and some in Malasya and all owners are very happy with their vehicles and I'm very happy with mine
Joe Baz
AnswerID: 278686

Reply By: Pete and Lez - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 23:24

Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 23:24
Hummer H1 for me, preferably with the roof mounted machine gun. Forget the m/gun, but wouldn't mind the vehicle. Should be plenty of these around the world. Yanks have dumped thousands worldwide.
AnswerID: 281118