Ex Tesltra Patrol 4.2 (non turbo) utes

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:42
ThreadID: 52877 Views:5573 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Anyone got any info/comments (especially first hand experience)(good or bad) about the ex telstra patrol 4.2 diesel with the trademate ute back on them.

Reply By: Member - Wilgadene (Bundaberg) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:51

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 21:51
TOO MUCH CHRISTMAS CHEER. That should be TELSTRA !!

BUGGER !
AnswerID: 278541

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:01

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:01
Wilgadene,

If our local Telstra techie's vehicle is anything to go by, they wouldn't be a bad buy. Has 2 spares, Wrangler MTR's, and greasable rear shackles. Heavy duty rear springs too, the way it sits up @ the back. The canopies would make good campers too, with heaps of room.

Probably be able to camp in them too, as long as you were good friends with your travelling companion!

Imagine the b'bar etc would be part of the deal too?

Hooroo,

AnswerID: 278543

Follow Up By: Member - Wilgadene (Bundaberg) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:25

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:25
Yep, Worth a look I think.
FollowupID: 542644

Reply By: Rob Rascal - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:03

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:03
I have a Patrol 4.2 ex Telstra, I purchased it via auction at 170000km and am very happy with it, I have now done 260000km without a problem. they completed a book service every 10000km.

Rob
AnswerID: 278545

Follow Up By: Member - Wilgadene (Bundaberg) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:26

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:26
Thanks Rob, will give it a bit of a look over
FollowupID: 542645

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:27

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:27
Serviced regularly and looked after mechanically. Really a 4.2 diesel cant be flogged :0) so you would be on a good thing

AnswerID: 278552

Follow Up By: Member - Wilgadene (Bundaberg) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:28

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:28
Thanks Bonz, by the way love the pic of the navigating dash board ...LOL ...
FollowupID: 542646

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:29

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:29
lol thanx, like my wife they point in different directions

FollowupID: 542654

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:59

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:59
Reminds me of the three levels of navigation experts

1. Navigator
2. Naviguesser
3. Neverguesser
FollowupID: 542659

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:44

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:44
They go for a very reasonable price at auction. The trademate canopies cost about $7000+ from memory.

They do get overloaded. The patrol chassis may crack, particularly if its a coil cab - check the rear towers. I think the rear leaf models do better.
AnswerID: 278554

Follow Up By: Member - Wilgadene (Bundaberg) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:29

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:29
Thanks Phil, this one is a leaf rear end with Polyairs fitted I think
FollowupID: 542647

Reply By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 08:08

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 08:08
Howdy Kevin,
you wouldn't consider a Nissan to replace the 4Runner would ya? lol! That said they are good trucks but it would pay to check the chassis and rear spring towers for cracks. I have seen some seriously overloaded Telstra vehicles in the past and they have even managed to break Toyotas..........
Have a great new year Kevin, catch up with you sometime, hey!
Cheers, Udo
AnswerID: 278575

Follow Up By: Member - Wilgadene (Bundaberg) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:47

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:47
Hi Udo,
Hope you and your family (including the extended Stan Lohse family) are well. Just happened to spot an ex telstra truck for sale of the weekend and was impressed by the amount of bells and whistles it had, plus the potential to convert the trademate back into a comfortable camper for those times when I didn't want to take the trailer. Had a good look over it this afternoon and it was a bit rough, (clutch, steering electricals etc) and not much more towing power than the 2.8 diesel. But I was just dreaming anyway. Had to go back out to the shed when I got home and apologise to "Sooty Grunter" (4Runner) and tell her I didn't really mean it.. lol.

Will try to catch up in the new year. The Docs tell me I'm in remission now so hopefully strength and fitness will follow and I will start to get around again.

Kev
FollowupID: 542648

Follow Up By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:10

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:10
So good to hear you are just about over the ordeal mate. Can't wait to catch up with you guys and do some relaxing camping and a coldy or two, hey? Drop in at Stan Lohse mate, the guys would love to see you again! Take care Kev!
Cheers, Udo
FollowupID: 542650

Reply By: Ozboc - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:30

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:30
how long is a piece for string?

the driver was he a Sunday driver ?ie Mr speed limit or - this is a company car lets see how this baby goes flat stick everywhere ?

one thing that is a benefit , regular servicing and parts that are needed get changed ...

Would i consider an x telstra 4.2 ? you betcha .....

Boc

AnswerID: 278658