Geraldton Beach Cricket Murder Update

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 14:49
ThreadID: 52886 Views:6610 Replies:13 FollowUps:69
Apparently the murdered man tried to stop the friendly locals pinching beer from his esky. It spiralled into murder.

Beach Cricket Murder

But on the other side of the country calls are being made to treat indiginous people equally to non-indiginous.

Equal Treatment.

Can't see that happening.

Reply By: Member - Brummiepete - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 15:01

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 15:01
UMMMMMMM What can one say ,its a tragedy and it is murder .Itll be some 15 year old kid with a substance abuse problem and a story that is so sorrowful it would have made Adolf Hitler weep .The bastard will get off with a couple of years .Treated equal ,yea right .
AnswerID: 278607

Follow Up By: Mainey (wa) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:59

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:59
Yes,
it was 2 young aboriginal "children" one 14 the other 16 years old.
Can't blame the 'stolen generation' this time ?

The sooner the law makes ALL parents 'responsible' for their children's actions, the better life it will be.

I find it hard to understand how an "intelligent" teenager expects to hit a man on the head with a cricket bat and not know it is more than likely going to kill him !! that is not an accident, it's . . . premeditated.
FollowupID: 543233

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 17:26

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 17:26
I am afraid that I simply dont believe this, I think they've taken the rap due to their ages.

FollowupID: 543264

Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 17:35

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 17:35
Here's a bit more intrigue to add to the picture;

A woman was charged with assault in regard to the above issue.

She allegedly belted her daughter for giving information about the original assaults to the police. She was duly charged with assault.

What a bloody sorry state of affairs.

Disco.
FollowupID: 543267

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 17:45

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 17:45
Mainey

My West say "Police spokesman Graham Clifford said police today charged two boys - aged 14 and 16 - from Geraldton over the attack on Mr Neil."

and "A 43-year-old man was charged on Friday with common assault on Mr Neil - the charge not related to his serious injuries."

also "Mathew Roy McDonald, 21, of no fixed address, appeared in the court last Thursday charged with the grievous bodily harm of Mr Rowe."

or there abouts

did you see the latest news Trucks burnt
FollowupID: 543268

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 15:51

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 15:51
Hi GB,
Ive been keeping an eye on this case and realy feel for this chaps family. Its a very emotive issue which does not have an easy answer. Some would say that if he let them steal his drinks he would probably be alive today. However others would suggest that if they werent stopped, they would simply carry on terrorising more innocent familys.

People work hard and long for what they have and must have the right to protect it. The fact that these gutless bastards called for re-inforcements is typical of their culture.

I wonder if the Governments idea of paying people to have babies could be changed to paying some people NOT to have babies. within one generation I reckon you would see less substance abuse, empty courtrooms and prisons, law & order having more control and maybe significant cuts in personal tax.

Just an idea...........Lionel.
AnswerID: 278612

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:06

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:06
Hmmm ... that should bring the apologists, politically correct and bleeding hearts out from under their rocks.

FollowupID: 542632

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:06

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:06
could also save the country a lot of money in the end
FollowupID: 542633

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:07

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:07
anything to lower my tax's
FollowupID: 542634

Follow Up By: Member - Leave_enough_space - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:22

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:22
Lets see iof Kovac R has anything to say about that concept?
FollowupID: 542751

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:33

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:33
$hit what a mad mad world we live in :-(

Whats the matter with these people??

AnswerID: 278616

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:43

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:43
John,

I think we're called REALISTS.....lol.

Cheers mate....Lionel.
FollowupID: 542637

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:55

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:55
It does not say the group who attacked this poor bloke were indigenous or white??

FollowupID: 542638

Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:07

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:07
John,

If you lived in WA and listened to the ABC and/or the other news services you would be in no doubt as to the racial characteristics of the offending group.
They were definitely melanin enhanced.

Disco.
FollowupID: 542649

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:10

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:10
John,

A related article

FollowupID: 542651

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:12

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:12
Thanks Disco the article did not elaborate but I had a feeling that was the case based on the second link / article.

Thanks Al.

FollowupID: 542652

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:09

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:09
Gramps

and this form a new room thats No. 2 top story is "Hilton leaves family fortune to charity".. LOL

the beauty of the Internet if you look long enough you will fined what you want.. :-)

FollowupID: 542661

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:17

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:17
cant wait for the Milkybar Moron to say sorry to them, and hand over billions..
FollowupID: 542664

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:27

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:27
Richard,

It's three stories down from your No 2 story. Did'nt have to look far at all. But then I don't go around with blinkers on.

FollowupID: 542670

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:37

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:37
Milkybar Moron.....hahahaha... that one cracked me up.

Thanks Truckster.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 542696

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 22:33

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 22:33
Milkybar Moron you mean Mr Rudd? I agree hes that and a bit but the apology to the stolen generation and this issue are poles apart.

FollowupID: 542883

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:37

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 16:37
Yes it's a tragedy.
Yes I feel for the poor bloke and his family.
I want the full force of the law to apply to all who do such things, black, white or green. Fat chance!
But I wonder if any comments of mine in this forum are wise, given that the perps will soon front the Law?
As I've said in the past and will say again; it's time that all Australians thought of themselves as Australians and realized that nobody should be above the Law.
AnswerID: 278617

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:04

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:04
Footy,

We all have a right to make a comment and an opinion is just that.
I like many have a life once I close and lock the door to the 4by.

Just an observation though, looking back a little ways, seems that OT's draw a lot of interest and comment which tells me many are interested in a wide variety of subjects.

10% are lost cause rednecks, 10% believe in a utopian society. That leaves 80% absolutely confused nutters on this forum..hehehe...

Cheers....Lionel.
AnswerID: 278620

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:06

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:06
The next shocker is that the police are pleading for wittnesses to come forward, would they be game.?, and iwonder who actually saw the event take place,usually someone speaks out straight away. What a bleep ful situation, no arrests, and when they do what will happen ,to these morons, next to nothing. Shove a welding rod up each and everyone of their a..r..es and arc them to a pole thirty metres under the ocean i reckon!.

Axle.
AnswerID: 278621

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:17

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 17:17
Thats a novel fix Axle :-) never would have thought that one up in a million years.

FollowupID: 542643

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:19

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:19
And what do you think will happen to these poor lost souls IF they are ever caught??

Bad childhood, drugs, alcohol, the voices told them, etc etc.. they will probably get their 50th good behaviour bond,+ a grant.

I say the conjuct and barbed wire would be better than the welding rod.
FollowupID: 542667

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:05

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:05
Yeh Trucky, and I volunteer to drive the 4x4 that's attached to the barbed wire too!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 542680

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:47

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:47
A very sad situation indeed but comments like "But on the other side of the country calls are being made to treat indiginous people equally to non-indiginous." aren't going to help the situation.
It'sweeping generalisation that paints all indigenous people with the same brush and is a view that is simply racist and has no place in this, or any forum.
The culprits should be caught and punished to the full extent of the law, regardless of their ethnicity. They are scumbags because of their actions, not because of their skin colour.
AnswerID: 278646

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:13

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:13
Don't waste your breath Pat.

FollowupID: 542690

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 13:53

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 13:53
No Pat, they are scumbags because of their abuse of the lenient laws that our gutless justice system has for them because of they're skin colour.

Pezza
FollowupID: 543050

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:52

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:52
Maybe an entry permit into "our" communities would keep them in "their' communities.... we have to have them maybe they should too...cuts both ways

what is good enough for one Australian is good enough for another Australian

We are suppossed to have a permit to enter "their country" but they can wander at will across any artificial boundaries

I say it is all Australia ......I have yet to seek entry permits to visit my country (and I have been to plenty where I was supposed too) and I won't......a campaign of simple civil disobedience would soon nulify the permit system

Now I will sit back and wait for the accusations of being racist (spelt realist) !
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 278648

Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:17

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:17
Two posts in less than 24 hours on the one topic.

This one is horrid.

Two unrelated links on this thread posted to incite racial hatred.

AnswerID: 278653

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:18

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:18
Gidday Jim,
I dont see it as inciting racial hatred, nor do I think Gone Bush intended the post to cause such either.

Its a robust discussion about a bunch of thugs murdering a family man playing cricket with his kids. Im sure that if the culprits were Bosnian, French, Japanese, Kiwi or even Pomgolian the majority of people would be calling for their heads also.

The indigenous people of this country are their own worst enemy, not the non-indigenous Australians.

This incident is very close to home for many, some in more ways than one. Id expect some of the replies to be un-pc.

Anyway Jim, shouldnt you be in your workshop now doing something constructive....hahaha......

Cheers...Lionel.
FollowupID: 542705

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 10:24

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 10:24
as someone who has frequently been on the recieving end of racial abuse projectile throwing, spitting, threats of violence and murder not to mention the property damage, vandalism and theft as well as the gang thugism that is prevelent in many non urban centres it comes as no surprise to me that a death has occured
I guess the thing i can safely say after working with easten staters is things are alot different over here try it for a few months and you will see what they did
-they aint in kansas now dorothey
FollowupID: 542764

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 10:42

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 10:42
Davoe,

I lived in FNQ for 8 years and am aware of the problems.

And just out of interest my Father was stabbed by 4 times by a black man and very nearly died, so I feel I can offer a balanced perspective.

I harbour no grudge nor prejudice to the black man.
FollowupID: 542766

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:49

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:49
What the hell is wrong with some of you fellas? A man has died for Christ sake. Have a bit of empathy for his family.

Fair dickum I wound't share a bleep on a log with some of you clowns.

The fella has his head caved in, and your carrying on like a bloody bunch of ratbags!

If you had any guts, or feelings as a man you'd post words of support for the family in their time of need.

Kim
AnswerID: 278664

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:00

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:00
Well Kim,

That's the way it is here far too often.

Very sad IMHO.

FollowupID: 542701

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 14:57

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 14:57
Yes, and amongst the predictable cries of racism we always get the condescending, holier than thou "it's sad" comments.

It must be very awkward building your storage systems from up on that pedestal Jim.

FollowupID: 542794

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 15:50

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 15:50
Gone Bush , tis always the same with some , remember when Brocky died ,our holier than holy Jumbo had to put in his 2c worth and vilify the mans personal life.
FollowupID: 542799

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 16:32

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 16:32
Chaps,

We all have different values and standards in life. That's just the way it is.

FollowupID: 542803

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 16:49

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 16:49
and are you inferring that our values and standards are of lesser "quality" than yours?

FollowupID: 542804

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 16:57

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 16:57
Gone Bush , not only does Jumbo infer it , he revels in it.
FollowupID: 542806

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 17:30

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 17:30
AWW - Come on guys, it seems to be getting a bit personal. Any good debate requires input from both sides of the fence and all opinions are valid and worth consideration.

Parliament on TV is the only place for inane and childish arguments, not a mature, well informed site as this...lol..

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 542814

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:24

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:24
Chaps,

We have different opinions and values.

I don't insult you because yours are different to mine, why the name calling?

Can't we discuss matters in a balanced manner.

FollowupID: 542837

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 22:36

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 22:36
Thanx Lionel thinking the same thing myself. Robust discussion is one thing, but surely we can avoid personalising it and name calling.

FollowupID: 542884

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:11

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:11
Thanks Lionel, you are correct.

Richard and Jim: I don't know if we would find much common ground around a campfire but maybe we'll be lucky enough to see one day. Until then I think we should just let this thread find its way to the archives.

I'm sure there are a lot of people in Geraladton going thru a lot more emotional turmoil than us little Forumites.

Happy New Year to all of you.

AnswerID: 278776

Follow Up By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:25

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:25
I have no problem enjoying discussions around a campfire with people who have differing opinions. That is what makes life interesting.

FollowupID: 542851

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 02:57

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 02:57
Gone Bush

Cool by me \\Cheers

FollowupID: 542903

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 23:29

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 23:29
I post as a person who has actually 'lived' at Sunset Beach, Geraldton and is aware of the situation there.
It was not an accident, it was premeditated, ""according to Police, an inane comment sparked an altercation between Mr Neil and two passing men. The pair left, but returned soon after in a group of up to 25. A fight broke out and Mr Neil was badly injured. The Rowes were helping him to his car, and being pelted with rocks and bottles, when Mr Rowe was allegedly fatally clubbed over the head by a member of the larger group""

Late this year (2007 still) I spent some time at the Geraldton Court as a witness in a motor accident case. I was probably one of the only three Caucasian people at the Court, other than Court officials, scary really.

However, I have met and shared a drink with some terrific Aboriginal people up in the far north, I believe not all Aboriginal people are the same, as also not all Caucasian people are the same.
We tend to put people into 'groups' however we are all people, who with-out the diferent colour of the skin are (probably) the same anyway, other than our upbringing, beliefs and our educational opportunities, and colour's not an excuse for murder, as white people murder too.

AnswerID: 278825

Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 08:59

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 08:59
From Sydney Morning Herald 28/12/07

A 21-year-old has been remanded in custody over the cricket bat bashing of a father of five in Western Australia on Christmas Day.

Mathew Roy McDonald, 21, of no fixed address, appeared in the Geraldton Magistrates Court today charged with grievous bodily harm.

He was remanded in custody until January 17 while he seeks legal advice.

Police said McDonald handed himself into police yesterday and was charged with causing grievous bodily harm.

They say the charge may be upgraded following the results of a post mortem examination

How many of you loud mouth racists would hand yourself into Police to to face accountability and probable incarceration for such action? Despite what has happened you've gotta hand to someone who has the guts to turn themselves in. So there.
AnswerID: 278849

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:14

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:14
>Despite what has happened you've gotta hand to someone who
>has the guts to turn themselves in.

Actually, no, you don't and neither should you.

FollowupID: 542915

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 11:26

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 11:26
Loud mouthed rascists !!

Whoa there DIO.

I bet the only loud mouth rascists in this appalling incident were on the beach at Geraldton the other day stealing beer from someone else's esky.

FollowupID: 542931

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 13:10

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 13:10
DIO, I think you will find that he has been forced to hand himself in.
This incident has provoked much debate not only on this forum but even on the streets, clubs, pubs and even our local shopping center. I live in a small regional town 500 odd kms from the beach concerned, and the local talk already is that a few car loads of blokes are planning a trip to go and "sort out" the problem.

Multiply that by say 10 other similar towns and all of a sudden there'll be a small army on its way.

"Guts" !!!, afraid not DIO. Betchya he was frog-marched to the copshop.

Lionel.
FollowupID: 542943