Tow vehicle suitability - Subaru Outback 3.0R?

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 18:44
ThreadID: 52890 Views:22063 Replies:8 FollowUps:16

Don't have a caravan as yet, but am thinking of getting into the game. What is everyone's thoughts on the 6 cylinder Subaru Outback 3.0R (2004-present) as a tow vehicle? It's rated to tow 1800kg with a 90kg towball weight (180kg if used with a weight distribution hitch according to Subaru). Could I legally tow a caravan of 1300-1600kg ATM / 130-160kg towball weight? Please assume there is a 250kg load of passengers in the car.

My other question is - if I were to buy one secondhand without the towbar already fitted and I went to Hayman Reese and got their towbar with weight distribution hitch, woudl this essentially be the same as buying it factory fitted from Subaru?

Thanks in advance!

garbage

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:33

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 19:33
I've tried to find out more details to answer your question, but in the short time available have not been successful. You need to find out a few things.

What is kerb weight and how is it defined. Usually 2x68kg pax and 90% fuel?

What is load carrying capacity?

Deduct 10% of fuel capacity and difference between your weight and defined pax weight.

Deduct towball mass and see how much carrying capacity you have left. Work out how much you will likely carry. This will tell you if the vehicle will realistically do what you want.

When we do a tow-ed course, we ask all participants to find out as much of tis info as they ca for their vehicle.

Check also if speed limited at max tow weight. A Ford Falcon is limited to 80kph at max tow mass. Check if the vehicle needs any mods at max weight.

AnswerID: 278633

Follow Up By: garbage - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:58

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:58
Couldn't find kerb weight, but unladen weight is 1540kg. Fuel tank is 64L. Two adults and one baby would be about 200kg. By load carrying capacity, is this what Subaru refer to as towing capacity (1800kg)? Can you double check my maths?

1540 - 200 - 64 - 180
FollowupID: 542686

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 08:07

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 08:07
Unladen mass does not have a legal definition so you need to check what is included by manufacturer in terms of fuel pax etc. Load carrying capacity is not 1800 kg, this is towing capacity (braked). I suspect the load carrying capacity is about 500kg.

So assuming unladen mass means all fuel but no pax (just for ease), and if carrying capacity was 500kg then-

Deduct 200 (pax) and deduct 130kg (tow balls mass of a 1300kg van) from 500 kg, we are left with 170 kg for fuel water and luggage.

You can see how important it is to find out the real information. BTW, ATM is total laden weight of the van, that is ball weight plus weight on wheels when loaded.

Once you have the info and before you buy car or van, get yourself booked in here. I can't recommend it enough.

http://www.tow-ed.com.au/

FollowupID: 542746

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:00

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:00
Garbage.

I recently sold my Subaru 3.0R after towing a Jayco 16.52 around the place. Prior to this I towed a camper trailer which wasn't a problem.

The van weighed 1600-1700 loaded and I found that the Subaru worked hard on occasion to tow it. On some trips I only got 230km out of the tank which was ridiculous and other times I got 320km. I ha to purchase a jerry can when I went outback Qld and had to fill the bugger up at nearly every town !!!

I really knew I had the van on and sometimes I felt it was a little too much and not safe.....I traded it in for a Landcruiser which is the best car ever.

Personally, I would NOT buy another Subaru to tow a van anything over 1200 even though Subaru say it is OK. I speak with experience and my experience was on my own without the added weight of extra passengers !!!

The tow bar would make no difference as the car is rated by Subaru, not Hayman Reese.

You could get a decent 4WD for the same price mate.

AnswerID: 278640

Follow Up By: garbage - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:21

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:21
Hey Dunco, thanks for the reply! Always good to hear from someone who's done what I'm considering doing (or not doing!). Did your Outback have the load distribution hitch? I had a look at the specs of the Jayco 16.52 and it's saying an ATM of 1573kg - does that sound about right?

The van I'm eyeing is only 1300kg ATM (not sure what the ball weight is though). I imagine I would be travelling relatively light. The only heavy items would be a fridge at ~20kg and an AGM battery at ~30kg. Would not worry about carrying water, extra fuel, etc.

How do you think the Outback would go?
FollowupID: 542692

Follow Up By: garbage - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:59

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:59
Just on the 4WD suggestion, it's a bit more complicated as I'd like one with side curtain airbags. My other requirement is that it is reasonably fuel efficient (13L/100kms tops) when just driving around town as it will still be the primary vehicle for running around. So those two factors limit me to very late model $40k plus Prados, Pathfinders, Patrols and Landcruisers if I want the diesel versions. The Outback still comes in at least $10k cheaper.

Was there something else you had in mind that could be had for the price of the Outback?
FollowupID: 542699

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 00:25

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 00:25
Although they tell you what the ATM is, never believe it till you weigh the van. As I said, I travel alone and my van weighs approx 1600kg loaded and I have a 100A battery, solar panel, clothes, spare tyre, groceries, a few beers etc. Nothing too much as most of it sits in the back of the 4WD. Although I now carry an extra 9kg gas bottle and my pushbike on the van.

The Outback WOULD tow what you want, but it can run anything up to 25l/100km depending on where you drive...I had a strong headwind one day and COULD NOT travel over 85km/h...wouldn't do it and chewed HEAPS of fuel !!

The outback has a great fuel economy not hooked up and is a great car, but personally I don't think it is good for towing over 1300kg.

Yes I did have a load hitch...and some days if I wasn't loaded correctly, the van had a bit of a sway which was dangerous, so I had to adjust things every now and then which was a pain.

My Toyota Landcruiser V8 petrol gets 14l/100 driving around Sydney and recently did 22l/100 towing through some good hills. Not that much different than the Subaru and it has twice the amount of fuel on board which allows me to shop for cheaper fuel on the highway....my last trip I drove past servo's with fuel at $1.45 p/l and found some up the highway at $1.32 p/l ....a saving of at least $12 per tank...and even more sometimes. I could NOT do that with the Subaru

Don't want to change your mind mate...your choice in life. Subaru is a GREAT car....but I am not sure about towing, that is why I have got a HEAVIER car now.

FollowupID: 542737

Reply By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:19

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 20:19
Garbage, IMHO No matter what vehicle ,or what its towing, the tow vehicle must weigh more unladen than the van or trailer weighs fully laden, that way your always on the right side of things.

AnswerID: 278642

Follow Up By: garbage - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:03

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:03
The unladen mass of the Outback is 1540kg. The ATM of the caravan is 1300kg. What doesn't the ATM include? Do I need to add things like luggage, fridge, beds, etc?
FollowupID: 542703

Reply By: Go Fishing - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:08

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:08
From what I understand the auto needs a cooler added, whatever its called.
AnswerID: 278651

Reply By: disco1942 - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:07

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:07
Subaru is one of the few manufacturers who have actually tow tested their vehicles in Oz. They added instrumentation to the cars and ran them up the hill to Toowoomba on hot days. They used vans of different weights and checked temperature rises compared to unloaded vehicles. They set their maximum tow weights from this info. They are one manufacturer that I would trust their max tow weights.

If they are a little slow on hills, so what, if their tow duties are only a small part of their total duties? You have a vehicle that suits your main purpose.

AnswerID: 278666

Follow Up By: garbage - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:26

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:26
Hi PeterD,

That's exactly the way I was looking at it. For 48 weeks a year, it would just be used for getting around Sydney town, so I'd rather have something that's easy to park, relatively fuel efficient and about $10k cheaper on the used market.

As long as its towing credentials are adequate... (?)

garbage
FollowupID: 542712

Follow Up By: Go Fishing - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 23:13

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 23:13
If they are a little slow on the hills - its a public nuisance, dangerous (to other drivers) and shouldn't be towing in hilly areas.
FollowupID: 542728

Follow Up By: mikeyandmary - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:44

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:44
Going slow on hills only causes problems when the driver is inconsiderate. I drive a 2.8 diesel hilux. Without a run-up I am slow on hills whether I am towing a tonne or completely empty. On multi-lane roads I keep left. On single lane roads I help the faster vehicle to overtake if possible and/or get back to speed as soon as possible.

And really, if you're stuck behind a slower vehicle up a hill get over it. Patiently following may cost you a minute or two. Being pushy or overtaking in a rush may cost a life!!!

Perhaps you are in too much of a rush to "Go Fishing" :-P
FollowupID: 542753

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 10:14

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 10:14
Yep and to prove it they did a run of 3 or so towing small caravan camper things in a bit of an outback cruise and it was covered by one of the mags too long ago to remember much detail
FollowupID: 542761

Reply By: mikeyandmary - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:36

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:36
The Outback weighs in at 1540kg (2004 model according to redbook). It may have the power to tow the van but it seems a bit light.

I guess the most dangerous part is how you drive. I use motorways daily to travel to work and it is common to see cars swaying all over the place because they are travelling too fast with a trailer. I have had the same experience when towing a 7x5 trailer with an excel. (car weighed 900kg, trailer weighed 500kg) We were travelling around Victoria and forgot we had the trailer in tow. Wobbles at 100km/h soon slowed us down.

Just a thought... Can you hire a van for a day and try the car out? Try it out on as many scenarios as possible such as freeway, mountains (Springwood road would be a good test if you live in Sydney) and regular traffic. This will help you to decide from your own experience.

Towing has as much to do with driver attitude/ability as it does with choice of vehicle.

Have fun and enjoy...
AnswerID: 278703

Reply By: Jim from Best Off Road - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 11:50

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 11:50
Garbo,

You can get into a brand new Hyundai Terracan Diesel for well under 40 gorillas. With a 5 year warranty.

It will do exactly what you are after.

AnswerID: 278719

Follow Up By: garbage - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 15:01

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 15:01
Yeah, that would be the ideal 4WD for me if only it had side curtain airbags. Good towball capacity, diesel efficiency, relatively cheap and reliable.
FollowupID: 542795

Follow Up By: Pnut (cns) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 10:03

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 10:03
Have you considered the new x-trail as a comparison to the outback? even the mid-spec model has curtain airbags.
Higher tow ratings too?
Can understand why you would look at the outback, our other car is a 07 Liberty - great car

FollowupID: 543462

Follow Up By: garbage - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 10:55

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 10:55
Hadn't considered that one actually - I forgot that there was now a curtain airbagged version of the Xtrail. I had a look at the specs and it looks like even the base model has the curtain airbags. They appear to be of similar weight and towing capacity but less torque on the Xtrail (226 vs 297 on the 3.0 Outback) so I'm wondering if it would be struggling up hills with a ~1300kg (ATM) caravan in tow.
FollowupID: 543471

Follow Up By: Pnut (cns) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 15:49

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 15:49
IMHO it would pull it no worries. 226nm is about what the 2.5l outback & forrester put out, and plenty of these (as well as the original xtrails) have been seen to have this sort of weight in tow. It would struggle on some hills, but would still do the job without any dramas. Dropping a bit of speed shouldn't be an issue with a van in tow - just get down to the appropriate gear early, and don't flog the guts out of it unnecessarily.
Remember - it's will be a day driver ~95% of the time, and out of the ~5% towing a van, how much of this will actually involve struggling up a hill? (but still doing it anyway).

Then again, all this means nothing if you take an xtrail for a drive, and don't like it....

FollowupID: 543509

Follow Up By: garbage - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 15:57

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 15:57
Thanks for the suggestions! There seem to be a lot of people on these boards advocating large 4WD's for towing even the lighter caravans (or at least putting question marks on softroaders' towing abilities). It makes me wonder how caravanners in Europe get it done as you never see 4WD's around.

By the way, I also drive a Liberty (06) but the 2.0L model. Fantastic car! That's why the 3.0L Outback is my first choice.
FollowupID: 543512

Follow Up By: Pnut (cns) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 18:20

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 18:20
Yep, I hear ya - what happened to the days when a ford or holden were the main tow cars! They had less power than todays softroaders!!
There is a lot of chest beating about needing a vehicle that weighs 3 tonnes laden to pull a 1300kg van.

that explains why you are keen on the outback.
ours is also the 2.0R liberty, had it for 6mnths , love it
FollowupID: 543540

Reply By: garbage - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:55

Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 18:55
I've been digging around for more information and found the following link of a guy who towed a decent sized caravan around Oz with an XTrail. Interesting reading.

http://user.digisurf.com.au/garyayres/GaryAyres.htm
AnswerID: 280812