Landcruiser 200 series

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 21:07
ThreadID: 52895 Views:15285 Replies:6 FollowUps:17
Has any one purchased a 200 series.

I drove a v8 twin turbo and loved the power but not sure about;

1. Second fuel tank only on the GXL
2. Spare wheel hanging down under. Prado has it in right place why not the 200.
3. Suspension can't be lifted (according to Toyota rep)
4. Front bumper bar very low.
5. The amount of money you have to spend to make it off road normal.

But i did love the drive and that great motor.

Would like the opinions of any new owners.

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:42

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 22:42
Does it still have low range?? Sounds like a shopping trolley!!!! Michael
AnswerID: 278678

Reply By: Boobook2 - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 05:57

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 05:57
Pling

It is a very capable 4wd
1. Second fuel tank only on the GXL
Yes this is a problem highlighted on other forums. LRA are doing several extral tank options.
2. Spare wheel hanging down under. Prado has it in right place why not the 200.
This is a LC thing like the 70 and 100 series. You love it or hate it. Spare wheel carriers will be available sooner or later.
3. Suspension can't be lifted (according to Toyota rep)
Wrong, ARB are lifting it 2", so are TJM.
4. Front bumper bar very low.
Get a bull bar, however departure angle is not good.
5. The amount of money you have to spend to make it off road normal.
This goes for al new 4wd's doesn't it?

Also it does have low and if it is a shopping trolley, it is one with about 3" more suspension articualtion than a GU Patrol that is better off the floor with crawl control and hydraulic sway bar disconnect.
AnswerID: 278693

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 06:41

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 06:41
...it is one with about 3" more suspension articualtion than a GU Patrol..

This is not strictly correct, what I should have said was that in a demonstration where the 200 and a GU went over a mogul. the 200 had all wheels on the ground and the Patrol had a wheel 3" in the air.

Also the lift will be available for KDSS or non KDSS versions.
FollowupID: 542741

Reply By: Peter 2 - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 07:30

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 07:30
The auxillary tank was deleted by Toyota on some models because the vehicle would be over GVM when it was filled and therefore illegal to drive on the road.
If this was only counting passengers and total fuel load in a standard vehicle then the fitment of aftermarket accessories like a bullbar,winch and all the other stuff will surely make it over GVM.
Surely if the rest of the vehicle could carry the additional weight Toyota would have raised the GVM?
Obviously they don't think it is strong enough!!
AnswerID: 278696

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 08:20

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 08:20
It is true that Toyota drpeed the extra tank for the VX and Sahara diesels as it could take the GVM just over 3300kg in some circumstances. However the same basic problem affects 100 series, GU Patrol, Hummer H3 ( for example) which have similar carrying capacities. Of these the GU and H3 have LESS carrying capacity than a 200. Also 200 has the highest GVM of any of these.

Pretty much any vehicle loaded with Bullbar, winch, fridge, camping gear and a roof rack, people, and a full tank of fuel is over the limit and illegal. If this concerns you then the only Australian spec vehicle is probably a Defender if that is your cup of tea.

You can also get a GVM upgrade when you do a suspension upgrade and it looks like ARB will do a generic one for the 200 like they do for the GU ute and 70 series.

FollowupID: 542747

Follow Up By: hotfishez - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 08:51

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 08:51
The gxl model comes standard with the aux diesel tank. The aux tanx is removed to make space for the levelling suspension on the GXL model, The Sahara and the other model up from the gxl come standard with the suspension so there is no aux tank.
FollowupID: 542750

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 11:33

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 11:33
Wrong.

My 200 GXL has KDSS and a sub tank.

FollowupID: 542771

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 12:50

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 12:50
Also ALL petrols have the sub tank and KDSS.

The issue was definitely GVM related and must have been close as the Petrol Sahara didn't drop the tank but the diesel did. There is 55kg difference in kerb weight.

hotfishez said

"The aux tanx is removed to make space for the levelling suspension..."

Unlike the 100 series the suspension is plain old coil springs and shockers. The KDSS is a non adjustable hydraulic sway bar disconnect system. There is no ride height adjustment and no active components.
FollowupID: 542781

Follow Up By: hotfishez - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 14:26

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 14:26
i am beginning to wonder how well the dealers know what they are selling!. From what I see here it appears i was misinformed.
FollowupID: 542792

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:47

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 09:47
They will be great to buy new, but beware secondhanders with kms, as each injecter is throw away when they go bad and replacements cost one thousand dollars each. Apparently they come with a bar code from Toyta which is programmed into the ecu to give a base line for fuel delivery. The Toyota manual states....If you think you have received bad fuel, pull over and call Toyota, (who will dispatch a technician with an assortment of finer filters to catch the contamination)
Andrew hdft (old school)
AnswerID: 278705

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 11:15

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 11:15
Theres plenty of crook fuel in the bush, why would you buy one... Michael
FollowupID: 542768

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 12:42

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 12:42
$1000 per injector? How accurate is this figure as I find it a little difficult to believe that any car company would charge this.

$8000 to replace all injectors!!
FollowupID: 542779

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 15:42

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 15:42
Probably about right, but their filter system was meant to be upgraded so in theory they should never need replacing. Only time will tell.
All new crd diesels are the same anyways
FollowupID: 542798

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 22:02

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 22:02
Offtrack, go scare yourself, go price injectors for the 7.3 I think it was V8 Diesel... 1000ea would make you happy.
FollowupID: 542877

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 02:04

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 02:04
I am now scared...
FollowupID: 542902

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 06:46

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 06:46
The trade off for more power is more expense, i would definately be buying fuel from thesame servo and keeping dockets if i could.
I would also be looking at options with regard to running better filtration if i ventured out and about. For instance, Marine diesel filters have aqua block, so water will not pass thru....running one of these after the factory setup with a small 12v pump to assist with getting the fuel thru the extra filter and to the motor may be worth asking a diesel shop about.....oh, and some spare filters...because it is now worth carrying them. I wouldnt get hung up about this, just be aware of it...so u can avoid finding yourself there....
FollowupID: 542905

Reply By: AndyMac - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 12:27

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 12:27
So are they going to off these in a "Base Model", barn doors, solid axle, vinyl floors etc ? Or will the Troopie/76 be seen to fill this role ?

Andy
AnswerID: 278727

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 12:29

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 12:29
No

Yes

FollowupID: 542778

Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:46

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:46
Bugger

and

Bugger

Rossco.
FollowupID: 542839

Follow Up By: AndyMac - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:28

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:28
Yep...what Rossco said..... :-(

I don't "dislike" the look of the Troopies but I have just always preferred the base model wagons set up to my liking (I am on #3 just now).

Andy
FollowupID: 542918

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:01

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:01
Hi There

Got my Thursday just before xmas. Got v8 petrol, still only 550kms. It is lovely. Came out of a 2002 GXL100series with a 4inch lift and 35's.
1.The petrol came with 2 tanks, but only use one gauge and filler, different to the last one.
2. Spare tyre is where is has always been on the 100's. I know Kaymar have a car and are developing a rear wheel carrier, as well as other companies
3. Suspension will be a 2" lift, same style of suspension as a prado, just heaps heavier. It is an easy lift
4. low front bumper will go with a bull bar, the bar will be lift the new d40, where the bumper will be cut off.
5. The pertol comes with heaps of off road ability, including KDSS and crawl control, heaps better than my previous model

The car is schmick!!, giddy up.

I will start transfering draws and all the other crap early jan to see what will fit.

Ads
AnswerID: 278795

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 21:50

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 21:50
ARB diff locks are the same at the rear if you have one.

It will be interesting to see how you go transfering bits over.

Have fun in your "Shopping Trolley" that has better articulation than a GU Patrol.
FollowupID: 542875

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 23:38

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 23:38
Ads, be interested to look at it when we get near. Had a look at one in a dealers yard, but that isn't looking over it. Have a good year mate, think there is jealousy about.
FollowupID: 542893