Cruise Control

Submitted: Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 10:58
ThreadID: 52908 Views:2293 Replies:4 FollowUps:9
Having recently bought a 96 GQ auto petrol patrol, I have decided that I cannot live without cruise control. Can anyone make any recommendations on fitting cruise control to this vehicle (in the Brisbane area)? Can the controls be mounted on the steering wheel, or do they have to be on the dash?

Ti Trol

Reply By: handy - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 11:33

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 11:33
ii have got the AP60 type CC and have the touch pad mounted on the steering wheel just back from where the horn is. cheers

a
AnswerID: 278716

Follow Up By: Member - Bushpig - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 12:39

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 12:39
I have an Autron Cruise control fitted to my Hilux manual and would not be without it. Fitted by the authorised agent at Stones Corner.

jack
FollowupID: 543045

Reply By: bardenboy - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:56

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:56
My son fitted one from Super Cheap into his 4Runner, works great for aprox $200.00

Dennis
AnswerID: 278794

Reply By: Member - Pixie - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 23:50

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 23:50
will be keenly watching for replies

i have GQ auto-diesel and am considering a cruise control (also in Brissie)

auto electrician suggested the magnet types are fiddly but one that runs off speedo would be easier if they are available and if speedo is electric
AnswerID: 278829

Reply By: Off-track - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 01:52

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 01:52
I chucked an AP50 cruise control onto our 80 series and it worked perfectly. I wouldnt worry too much about magnets as I never had a problem in over 8 years with mine.

Overall worked just as good if not better than OE cruise controls.
AnswerID: 278835

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 14:39

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 14:39
Off-track,
I have an AP 50 on my HJ75 and I have run out of magnets. Where can i procure some?
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

FollowupID: 542952

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 00:16

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 00:16
Did the wire break or the magnet itself come off?
FollowupID: 543011

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 08:41

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 08:41
Off-track,
Two have fallen off or been knocked off by either tail shaft movement or rocks or stones.
The last one i had araldited on as well as the wire, but it was lost during a very recent gear box transfer.
My previous source has dried up.
Bros.

FollowupID: 543018

Follow Up By: Member - Bushpig - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 12:38

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 12:38
I have an Autron Cruise control fitted to my Hilux manual and would not be without it. Fitted by the authorised agent at Stones Corner.

jack
FollowupID: 543044

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 13:29

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 13:29
quick google;
http://shop.importdriver.com.au/store/products/category153.inetstore

If I can find my spares in the shed I can send them on, no use for them any more as new LC has factory cruise.
FollowupID: 543048

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 15:05

Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 15:05
Off-track,
If you want to go to the trouble of finding them and forwarding them, contact me at elless831861atbigponddotnetdotau.
Thanks for the web address.
Bros.

FollowupID: 543059

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 03:37

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 03:37
Buggered if I can find them, sorry mate.
FollowupID: 543157

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:46

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:46
Off-track,
No problem bloke. I will buy a couple from the mob you indicated.
Bros.

FollowupID: 543179