Spider
Hello
Darwin residents
Looking at possibly visiting
Darwin for a week over new year. This is last minute so haven't had long to plan.
Been there before but not in wet season.
Questions are :
Will the wet season rains prevent car travel into
Litchfield,
Katherine and
Mataranka from
Darwin? Was planning to hire a car and doing a long day trip. Would this be possible?
Will the humidity knock my socks off !!??
How often does it actually rain? I understand it is monsoonal, so does that mean like for one hour per day?
Thunderstorms, are they every day in wet season or every other day?
Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 13:56
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 13:56
Hi Spider,
lived there for 4 years (late80s, eary 90s) depending on age and fitness humidity can really knock you around, I would not sugest
camping for a short visit, stay in A/C accommodation so at least you can sleep.
Yep when the buildup breaks it rains every day, best bet stand in the middle of the yard with thumb over top of stubby and enjoy.
Not sure of access as I understand most of the dirt roads have been sealed
Its great but sticky if you can sleep you will enjoy
Rgds
Reply By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 18:50
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 18:50
Hi mate,
I would advise if you hire a car for a day trip to Lichfield that it shouldn't be a problem. If you turn off at Bachelor and go in the tarred way you will get there no worries. Once in location it might be a different situation. If the wet has hit, then a lot of the
water ways might be closed to swimming. I recommend ringing ahead.
Katherine and
Mataranka should be fine in January but remember that from
Darwin the
Katherine River can flood if the wet is big and you wont be able to cross the bridge to get into town.
The rain usually hits in the afternoon for about an hour or two, but remember it can also rain a lot in the morning, especially if you are on a motorbike.
Once the Wet does hit, it will be humid but relief will arrive in the rain. If it is a late wet and the build up is still in place, you might feel the pinch.
Hope that helps mate. Remember only drive on the hard stuff and you should be fine. The NT Gov have a great web site for its national parks and that gives you the contact numbers.
Reply By: Member - John P (NT) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:21
Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:21
Hello,
We went down to
Litchfield Nat.
Park yesterday,
Wangi Falls were closed for swimming but we did the walk to the top of the waterfall very nice. You can still swim at
Buley Rockhole which is great.
No problem getting to any of your destinations by two wheel drive at the moment however there is a monsoon predicted for the next week which may or may not eventuate so check out road conditions when you get up here.
all the best