Storage of flamable goods.

Submitted: Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 18:50
ThreadID: 52925 Views:2173 Replies:1 FollowUps:3
Hi all did a check on the archives and the topics bar and could find nothing in relation to the storage and transportation of flammable goods.

I have positioned my 9kg gas bottle on the roof i believe this is ok?, But my real concern is the numerous pressure packs that i carry.
I have 2 Coleman mini gas bottles a 4L container of shellite, and about 5 cans of flammable pressurised products eg wd40 and bug spray.

I was thinking of storing them in my rear draws and wrapping them individually in cloth to stop them rubbing together. What do you guys and gals do.

Regards.........Stephen

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:45

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 19:45
Stephen,

Looks like you are doing everything right mate.

The cargo drawers are fine for storing the pressurised cans and mini gas bottles. That's where I keep mine.

Basically, anywhere out of direct sunlight would be safe enough and in the unlikely event that one should let go, I coundn't think of anywhere more "secure" than a cargo drawer to contain the "squirt".

AnswerID: 278788

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:38

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:38
sounds about right to me but i carry mine in some cold bags, seems to do the job for me and they have some of that blue foam from my sons old ground mat to stop any movement.
cheers Shane.
FollowupID: 542855

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:57

Friday, Dec 28, 2007 at 20:57
I slip the odd spray can into a stubby holder to stop rubbing - also means I'm never short of a stubbie holder :-))
FollowupID: 542864

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen F (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:04

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 09:04
Cheers guys, what i had planed on doing eg draws seemed ok just wanted to check, Phil you bloody legend, i didn't think of the stubby holder trick. i've got heaps of them lying around.

Cheers...Stephen
FollowupID: 542910