Injected/sequential LPG
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 08:40
Jim from Best Off Road
I've done the deal on a "new" 2005 Ford Courier 4.0 V6 4x4 Twin Cab. When I say new, it is brand new, but being old stock I made them an offer they couldn't refuse and got a deal I couldn't walk away from.
It will be fitted with Parnell injected LPG about two weeks after I pick it up. Hence its first two or three tanks of juice will be petrol and then I'll run it on LPG.
I'm going to keep figures to compare exact fuel uasge and try to do some perfomance tests as
well.
Watch this space (now how corny is that?).
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 15:01
Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 15:01
Hi Jim,
Pleased your happy with the ute.
Whats the 'sequential' bit about ?
Cheers....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 15:33
Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 15:33
Lionel,
I'm not sure sequential is right, I think they call it something like that.
It direct injects into each cylinder like multi point fuel injection rather than just into the inlet manifold like a conventional LPG system. At least that's how I understand it.
Supposed to give as good or better fuel economy and power as running on petrol.
I'll pick it up Monday or Wednesday.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 15:03
Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 15:03
Good thing Jim, GO FORD!!
Interesting to see how it goes
Follow Up By: Jimbo - VIC - Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 15:36
Sunday, Dec 30, 2007 at 15:36
It's more Mazda than Ford. The only Ford thing about it is the engine which is, scarily enough, the V6 out of the Exploder :(
Apparently they don't give any trouble until 150-200,000 km and I never keep my cars that long LOL.
It comes with a three year warranty and I've bunged it on a 3 year chattel mortgage, so once the warranty is up it's gone.
Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:50
Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:50
Na mate, you'll be right, the ones post 2000 are fine it's the ones before that can have problems with the chain guides/ tentioners.
Saying that mines a 97 and it's got 166,000km on it and is still going strong.
Had the tacho perched firmly on 5500RPM Friday arvo cutting thou soft sand engine sounded strong didn't even feel like it was working, I actually backed off cause when I looked down the needle was pressed hard up on 6000RPM which is where the gauge stops LOL