Rules for driving in Adelaide

Submitted: Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:37
ThreadID: 52977 Views:4462 Replies:10 FollowUps:26
This was forwarded to me by a mate in Adelaide, who obviously thought an expat who’s been living in Sydney for a decade would empathise.
(I’ve added a few observations - in brackets.)
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Rules for driving in Adelaide
1. Indicators will give away your next move. A real Adelaide driver never uses them.
(An unique Adelaide traffic innovation.)

2. Under no circumstances should you leave a safe distance between you and the car in front of you,
or somebody else will fill in that space, putting you in an even more dangerous situation.
(If somebody does leave space, check his plates. Probably a Sydney driver, or a bloody –pphhht– Vic!
Drive around him, cut him off and shove on your brakes to show the ignorant bastard how it’s supposed to be done in Adelaide.)

3. Crossing two or more lanes in a single lane change is considered "going with the flow."
(In Sydney it’s called “ traffic”)

4. The faster you drive through a red light, the less chance you have of getting hit.
(True!)

5. Never get in the way of an older car that needs extensive repairs. The other guy doesn't have anything to lose.
(In which case you might as well park your car and walk. You’ve just identified 50% of Adelaides’ fleet.)

6. Braking is to be done as hard and as late as possible to ensure that your ABS kicks in, giving a nice,
relaxing foot massage as the brake pedal pulsates. For those of you without ABS, it's a chance to stretch your legs.
(Especially if you’ve got a ding in the back panel from when you reversed into the mongrel who parked too close to you at BigW. Why should it come out of your No Claim Bonus?. They just don’t understand that one in Sydney)

7. Speed limits are arbitrary figures, given only as suggestions and apparently not enforceable in the metro area
during rush hour.
(Oh come on mate, you’re just reminiscing. Adelaides’ speed limit has become a frustrating 5kph below the posted limit over the past decade, because everyone’s so scared of those privatised radar rorters. What a great little business to own!)

8. Please remember that there is no such thing as a shortcut during rush-hour traffic in Adelaide.
(That’s twice it’s been mentioned. Remind me again, which 15 minute period is Adelaides’ rush-hour again?)

9. Always slow down and rubberneck when you see an accident or even someone changing a tyre.
(In Sydney we call that roadside entertainment.)

10. Everybody thinks their vehicle is better than yours, especially 4WD drivers.
(My fourbie is!! Got Sydney plates too!)

11. Learn to swerve abruptly. Adelaide is the home of High Speed Slalom Driving thanks to our
Dept. of Road Transport and local Councils, who put potholes in key locations to test drivers' reflexes
and keep them on their toes, not forgetting the 'Test your skill' chicanes in suburbs.
(That’s probably the thing I miss most about Adelaide.)

12. It is traditional in Adelaide to honk your horn at cars that don't move the instant the light changes.
(I invented that. I’ve been trying to introduce it to Sydney, but the bastards just smile, wave and hold their mobiles up
to show they understand that you didn’t realize they were busy.)

13. Seeking eye contact with another driver revokes your right of way.
(Best reason I ever heard for wearing dark glasses.)

14. Never take a green light at face value. Always look right and left before proceeding.
(We used to call it “Adelaide Roulette”. Huuge fun!)

15. Remember that the goal of every Adelaide driver is to get there first, by whatever means necessary.
(And that’s unique to Adelaide because, ..?)

16. Real Adelaide female drivers can put on pantyhose and apply eye makeup at 75 kph in bumper-to-bumper traffic.
(Bet they couldn’t eat noodles with chopsticks, flat-out in Sydneys’ peak, driving with their elbows.
That’s 0-40kpm repeatedly every 200 metres, on every route within 40ks of the City. I have seen it done on several occasions, and it still amazes me.)

17. Real Adelaide male drivers can remove pantyhose and a bra at 95 kph in bumper-to-bumper traffic.
(When I lived in Adelaide the only bloke I knew of who wore pantyhose was Alexander Downer. Did he start a fashion trend?)

18. Heavy fog and rain are no reasons to change any of the previously listed rules.
These weather conditions are God's way ensuring a natural selection process and creating a need for panel beaters,
junkyards, and new vehicle sales. It is an acceptable practice to increase your speed in comparison to the rate of rain fall,
i.e.: the harder it rains, the faster you go.
(That’s just common sense stuff.)

19. There is a commonly held belief in Adelaide that high speed tailgating in heavy traffic reduces
petrol consumption as you get sucked along in the slipstream of the car in front.
(I wholeheartedly support that theory. In fact, I think I invented that too. I certainly perfected it.)

20. It's OK to cut off fully loaded semi-trailers, road trains and buses because, hell - they have brakes.
(There ya go! There’s that good old Adelaide optimism!)

21. It is an essential duty of the driver to preserve the life of his passengers. Hence no matter how much
of an inconvenience it may be, always find a detour around Elizabeth, Port Adelaide and Athol Park.
(That extends to most of Adelaide if you’re driving with interstate plates, especially VIC –pphhhht- plates.
In fact, to ensure your own safety, you should take the Mt Gambier – Port-Agutta – Eucla ring-route around the city.)

22. Always anticipate oncoming traffic while driving down a one-way street.
(Common sense!)

23. Its O.K when driving in Golden Grove to air your grievances at bad drivers by giving the "one finger salute"
while screaming out "arse-hole". However, it is imperative you are driving at least a 5-litre V8 with a crow bar in your lap.
(Isn’t Golden Grove a display village? Do real people live there now?)

24. Adelaide drivers are experts at merging. When in two or more lanes travelling in the same direction,
ensure that if you see someone politely indicating, waiting slowly trying to merge into your lane,
show them that they must 'Wait their turn' to use your lane. Speed up, try to cut them off,
should they succeed and get into your lane, ensure that you flash your lights, honk your horn,
use extreme hand gestures and tailgate them, just to let them know, IT WAS YOUR LANE.
(Don’t ever change Adelaide! You are world famous for that! In fact, be careful that the bloody Vic’s –pphhhht- don’t try and pinch it from you)

25. Ensure that when merging into traffic travelling at any more than 40kph that you stop in the merging lane,
backing up traffic for miles behind you, ensuring that you haven't given yourself or anyone else that opportunity to merge.
Again, forget that the traffic handbook states that you should speed up to meet traffic speed then merge.
If you are travelling in a lane near a merge lane, don't change lanes to make it easy for them, instead see rule 24,
after all they deserve it.
(Now you’re getting into the realms of religion. This is a sacred manoeuver taught by every ordained Adelaide driver to their padawans. Unfortunately, it is not well accepted or understood by outsiders.)

26. While using Adelaide roundabouts, particularly two lane roundabouts, ENSURE that you are in the left lane to turn right,
or the right to turn left, hell lets keep those people in those other lanes on their toes.
(That’s what I’m talkin’ about! Even the guy who wrote this is clueless on roundabouts.
Tell me again, which Adelaide roundabout is it where you can turn right?)

27. If you are a TransAdelaide bus driver, you must win at all costs, getting to your destination prior to any other driver
is life and death. Never worry about your passengers bouncing around in the back like tennis balls,
hell it's a cheap form of theme park, in fact Adelaide's very own.
(Don’t worry busie. If they fire you ‘coz you’re a lousy driver, come to Sydney. They’ll probably make you an instructor!)

28. Adelaide taxis see rule 27, except you are now qualifying for the GMC 400.
(What’s a GMC 400?)

29. Pedestrian crossings - What are they?
(In Sydney they are stripped thrill-strips, where pedestrians get their rocks-off jumping blindly out in front of anything that moves, regardless of size, speed, colour or creed.)

30. If you are a cyclist remember YOU ARE INVINCIBLE, you are stronger than ANY vehicle travelling at speed,
MAKE SURE you take the whole lane for yourself, and at night NEVER use lights, remember They Will See You!
(Ha ha .. Hey that’s a good on! Keep telling them that. Lull them bloody tree hugging, greenie, lefty, tofu eaters into a real sense of security. I reckon it just might work. then We can pick ‘em all off one at a time.)

31. Remember, the wider, smoother, and safer the road... the lower the speed limit.
(Not always! Only after you’ve had a few Coopers, when the road is at it’s widest, smoothest and safest.
It’s just a pity you have to drive reeeeal slow, so the cops won’t see you.)

32. When driving on the freeway, find somebody who is going slow and drive next to them so that nobody can pass you.
It's called speed prevention. It's your duty!
(Silly thing is, it slows down us poor buggers who’re trying to get the hell out, back to Sydney. They’re even slowing down the bloody Vics – pphhhhtt!)

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Reply By: DIO - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:50

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 09:50
Having lived in Sydney, Brisbane and Melbourne, I can assure you from first hand experience that you could confidently apply 'your logic' to drivers in all of these cities. No one city is any better than the rest.
AnswerID: 279031

Follow Up By: Smudger - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:01

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:01
Its a joke DIO - Don't go getting all serious on me. Try LOL.
FollowupID: 543183

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 13:06

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 13:06
Probably from Adelaide, they get very defensive about having the pi$$ taken.

I can assure you that a lot of these driving idiosyncrasies are legendary in Adelaide...especially the merging bit.
FollowupID: 543214

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 17:24

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 17:24
As a Crow eater but non adelaide resident, I agree 100% with the post. It's like playing Russian Rooulette but you have the loaded gun but you have 9 bullets in a 10 shot auto handgun that you didn't hand in during the firearm buy back scheme. LOL
FollowupID: 543263

Follow Up By: SteveL - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 19:00

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 19:00
When the lights turn green in Adelaide you don't go, you edge forward and look for fast moving stolen vehicles.:-)
FollowupID: 543282

Follow Up By: stocky - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 21:57

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 21:57
............mainly in Pt Adelaide & Elizabeth
FollowupID: 543307

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 18:40

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 18:40
I'm a crow eater and I would have to agree with you all.

If you are the left lane and want to move over to the right hand lane it's just about impossible no one will let you in.
FollowupID: 543388

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:26

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:26
hey ...i must take you to task on rule 26...

Our rules on roundabouts here change ( we cant make up our minds) depending on which one your tackling ......take the one at the top of greenhill and glynburn for example...if your travelling south on glynburn both lanes can turn right...the right lane MUST turn right while the left can go striaght ahead or right (this is not the only one where one can do this either)....so its obvious that why we cant remember what to do .... the rules change all the time...nothing is consistent here in SA

now tackling the Britannia, all you do is close both eyes (1 in may case ...cos i am blind in one and peeesed in the other) and plant it!!
AnswerID: 279036

Follow Up By: Smudger - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:31

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:31
How can you turn right out of a roundabout?
FollowupID: 543189

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:31

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:31
and the other one i know of is just around the corner from me

travelling north on Stradboke road approching Gorge Rd both lane can turn right....same as above right Must go right while left can go ahead or to the right
FollowupID: 543190

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:35

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:35
you can because the signage says you can and must if your in the right lane and or you can do iethetr if your in the left...

i reiterate.... these are the only two where i know it can be done but i assume there may be others
FollowupID: 543191

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:38

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:38
Smudger, for example. If you are travelling north toward a roundabout and you want to exit to the east is effectively turning right. And you think us souty aussies are wet behind the ear!!!!! LOL
FollowupID: 543192

Follow Up By: Smudger - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 11:18

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 11:18
I have an hilarious mental image of a parking lot in the centre of a huge roundabout in Adelaide. There's a whole bunch of drivers who turned right, into the centre of the roundabout, standing around wondering where the hell to to go now.
FollowupID: 543198

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 13:10

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 13:10
I've come across roundabouts on a 3-way intersection and that is when you can turn right from the left lane...because you cannot go straight.
FollowupID: 543215

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:37

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:37
Hey we used to have a roundabout with traffic lights in Townsville years ago, try and figure that one out LOL
FollowupID: 543226

Follow Up By: Smudger - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:46

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:46
So how did that work?
If you didn't like using rounabouts, just sit and wait for the lights?

FollowupID: 543228

Follow Up By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 15:02

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 15:02
Now here's a roundabout! (apologies to those who have seen it before)

FollowupID: 543235

Follow Up By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 15:18

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 15:18
What a ripper, Kingsley: where is that? Reminds me of the 'roundabout' at the Arc de Triomphe in Paris, except there are no lines there!

Cheers, Ray
FollowupID: 543240

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 15:51

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 15:51
Smugler,

"I have an hilarious mental image of a parking lot in the centre of a huge roundabout in Adelaide."

Problem is mate I have actual visual images of these parking lots... LOL No need for a mental imaqe.
FollowupID: 543247

Follow Up By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 17:20

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 17:20
It is known as the "Magic Roundabout" and is at Swindon, England.

Here is a link to the wiki reference.
Site Link

Kingo.
FollowupID: 543261

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:34

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:34
that looks like the Britaania without any crashes
FollowupID: 543277

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 23:23

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 23:23
MN1,

There is another round-a-bout where you can turn right from the left lane. It's at the Heaslip Rd Waterloo Cnr. Rd intersection.

I think they are a PITA when trying to go straight ahead in the left lane and you have people turning right in the left lane from your right.

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 543427

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 00:07

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 00:07
Quote -Hey we used to have a roundabout with traffic lights in Townsville years ago, try and figure that one out LOL - End Quote

There still is one.

And then there's the Brisbane Airport roundabout as well...JOKE!
FollowupID: 543438

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 08:40

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 08:40
Until you have people driving anti-clockwise around roundabouts you will not even approach the madness that is Sydney LOL

FollowupID: 543454

Reply By: BoldJack ( Penrith NSW) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:35

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 10:35
Got some good chuckles going, Loved it!
AnswerID: 279037

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 12:37

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 12:37
Yeah, well you can't beat my Adelaide street. It is not that long but has 5 speed zones (and it is a suburban residential street).

For some reason the council found it necessary - probably complying with the ADRs for street speed zones, to put 50km zones on the 50km/h cross streets on an otherwise 40km street.

So the signs look like this:

40 (for 2 blocks)
"End 40"
50 (just for the roundabout)
40 (for 2 blocks)
"End 40"
50 (just for the roundabout)
and there are 3 other 40 km/h signs in the remaining 1 km of the street.

Presumably they want you to speed up for the roundabout... that must be rule 33.

Gottaluvem spending your money.
AnswerID: 279049

Follow Up By: Smudger - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:38

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:38
Sounds a bit like our old street in Unley.
Things I loved most about the roads in Adelaide were spoon drains and speed humps. Back in the '80's one council (I think it was Payenham) was successfiully sued after one of their speed humps ripped the sump, or diff off a low slung classic American sports car. They then took all their speed humps out.
FollowupID: 543227

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:47

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 14:47
Yeah Smudger - well it's Malvern not Unley, but still Unley Council.

Thick as two bricks end on.
FollowupID: 543229

Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 16:10

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 16:10
Smudger

Rule 33.

Visitors shouldn't expect any resemblance of signage, which enables them to flee the city.

This is also designed to provide entertainment for the locals when a lost sole enters into a skinny dead end street with a caravan in tow.

In the Village down here we gave up on all this Nandy Pandy stuff a long time ago. We're now required to carry a driver adjustment tool.

These implements are used at the slightest indiscretion. Sad but true.

Kim

AnswerID: 279070

Follow Up By: SteveL - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 22:21

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 22:21
Definitely the world's most difficult city to flee from.I've seen more sign posts in a maze.
FollowupID: 543308

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:21

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 18:21
Seriously folks I've drove in Spain Greece most of W.A. and 20 years in London but Adelaide would win hands down for the most inconsiderate, selfish, down right rude drivers of them all, in the one month we were there, they were worse than ALL of those places put together, had a 17 y/o chick come at me going the wrong way down a one way street and she fingered me and told me to f##k off out the way, sorry no offence but I can say its the truth the worst I've seen {and I've seen a lot} I'll NEVER forget Adelaide for that reason alone,
regards,
Dave and apologies if I've offended.
AnswerID: 279092

Reply By: Gob & Denny(hampton park vic) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 19:32

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 19:32
goodday
you forgot the rule about NOT stopping on the line at give way and stop signs they always go at least a metre over(maybe it could be called the 1 m rule)
i always travel in the right lane while taking my life in my hands crossing the said city because no body stops on the line and left lane travelling with the van on is like the dodgem car circuit

AnswerID: 279105

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 07:37

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 07:37
what are Stop and Giveway signs?
FollowupID: 543446

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 22:16

Monday, Dec 31, 2007 at 22:16
Hi Smudger, one rule that you have missed!!!!!!!!! (one we noted on the occasions that we have been over there)

The rule: the white line on the road is for lining up the middle of your car.

BTW there must be a lot of Adelaide drivers over here in the West.....ha ha ha.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 279128

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 23:42

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 23:42
Yesterday I was driving down South Rd, and just before Mitsubishi's I had a smallish delivery truck come right up behind me.
I was doing about 63-64kp/h and I thought I'm not going any faster. This went on for about a K and he wouldn't get off my arse so I slowed down to right on 60Kp/h. When H got the opportunity the idiot driving the truck overtook me and pulled back in front of me and didn't achieve anything at all.

As he overtook me me had the audacity to stare at me like I'm the idiot.

All I can say is I hope he could lip read.

Maybe he is working on rule No. 2.(a)

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 279294

Reply By: Off-track - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 00:16

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 00:16
Another caveat is that you will have to replace shocks and bushes on the left side of the car before the right due to an average of 28 recessed manhole covers for every 100 metres of road. They are almost always directly in the path of the left hand tyres.
AnswerID: 279295