Old Telegraph Track thru Callawa & Great Sandy Desert

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 13:03
ThreadID: 53002 Views:2703 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Has anyone travelled the Old Telegraph Track that heads north East off the Woodie Woodie Road, thru Cllawa station and meets the Wapet (kidsonTrack) Road near 80 Mile Beach. Would be interested in the track conditions and the type of country. Hema maps show it skirting the beginning of the dunes of the Great Sandy Desert.

Many thanks and Happy New Year to all.

Mick

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 15:43

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 15:43
Mick

If you send me your e-mail address in members message

I have a copy of EO's old Trek notes I can send you, It's alright I payed for them, you will see my name in them top right corner

AnswerID: 279202

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:23

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:23
We crossed it while doing the Kidson in 06. From what I saw it crossed around 100K east of the highway. I'd expect lots of sand, rocks and thick scrub. Not an area that I'd like to explore much further without backup.
AnswerID: 279217

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:50

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:50
Thanks Footy,

just doing a bit of research of possible routes for this years trip. Will be two well equiped vehicles.

Cheers and happy new year

Mick

FollowupID: 543376

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:56

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:56
Good luck with it mate, some of that country seemed pretty hemmed in so fire would pose a hazard.
Best wishes
Footy
FollowupID: 543377

Reply By: Member - LOS BUSH - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:11

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:11
g'day mick If would like to travel a every isolated but interesting track have a look at the one from Jigalong east to Canning Cairnon the CSR It is called the Puntawari track is not on every many maps.----Los
AnswerID: 279231

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:15

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:15
She's part of the Martu land claim now mate and unfortunately off limits to all but the locals. Great reccomendation tho.

Mick

FollowupID: 543382

Reply By: Member - Chris R (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 13:16

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 13:16
Just Interest Mick - In 'MY Profile', I have added a photo of Kidson intersection and old painted sign 'Callawa - Marble Bar' Someone has roughly added "old telephone line"

Memory was fairly featureless gibber and spinifex in that area

Best of luck out there.

AnswerID: 279336