What size generator for air con. in caravan.

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:30
ThreadID: 53013 Views:18942 Replies:11 FollowUps:12
Could any of the esteemed members tell me if a 2 kva generator
will run a 3.0 Heron air con. in my Jayco caravan.Thank you.

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:40

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:40
the Heron 3.0 has a rating of 6.5 amp max for cooling and heating
which means it requires 1 560W max for input. The output rating is theoretical so it does not mean anything for the input with those aircons. They are quite lound and inefficient but the 2kva should run it fine though. I looked at it when I researched aircons for my slide-on but decided against a Heron at that stage because of inconvenient mouting points and noise. Nevertheless you should be fine..

good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 279221

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 21:18

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 21:18
So what aircon would you recommend for the job if the herron is no good.

I am looking at putting a dometc roof top on my pop top for extra room.

ANy ideas.
FollowupID: 543409

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:42

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:42
mathew...what size do you want to cool....no point putting a 2.3 kWr (output cooling ) if you need say 4kWr....it all comes down to heatload....something most poeple cant understand...

but as a Rough Rule of thumb they allow 130 watts per square metre of an average size house....now a caravan is not average so one might allow 160watts per square metre depneding on glass....this is your COOLING REQUIREMENTS.....not input watts
FollowupID: 543421

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C (WA) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:44

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:44
Ok great ,i have an 17" internal pop top ,now i hired a van before i bought my current galaxy and it had aherron 2.2 in it and it was noisy and very innefficient i reckon so was looking for better solutions.
FollowupID: 543423

Reply By: Therifleman - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:47

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:47
Thanks gmd.So the 2 kva should be OK.The previous van had the smaller unit(Heron)cooled the 17 1/2 foor van in Darwin quite well.I will sell my EX 1000 gen. & buy a 2 kva.I must add never tried the Heron 2 with the generator as I thought it would be too small. Cheers Mate.
AnswerID: 279225

Reply By: macsurfer - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:48

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 16:48
throw the generator away and open a window or better yet sit outside and get to know the other people around you,there is nothing more annoying than being in the wilderness listening to someone's generator
AnswerID: 279226

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:44

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:44
but it keeps one cool....maybe you had better get one too eh?
FollowupID: 543422

Reply By: Member - Keith C (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:09

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:09
Rifleman,I guess it depends on the size of, the van,we:ve got a 4.2m millard poptop with a heron 2.2 mounted on top of the frig with the compressor on the other side of the van under the dinette seat,fits in perfectly and works a treat.When we;re free camped in summer I run it off our honda 20i and never have any problems,the honda will run the whole van including the air.It wont run the air and the microwave ,but we dont use the micro at all. the people at air-command will tell you what you need but I dont think the 20i will run the 3.0 heron Hope this helps. regards
K.C.
AnswerID: 279230

Reply By: Therifleman - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:15

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:15
To macsurfer-To each his own,I am VERY considerate of those around me & I do make an effort to get to know those around me as I travel on my own since the passing of my Wife.
If I am that close to some one that a generator will annoy them it is hardly wilderness.
Some months ago I parked within 25 ft. of a bloke using a generator to run his TV,satellite dish & he was watching car racing or some such,This was in an area that most people would call "wilderness" I was not troubled by his genny.,he placed it a few mtrs. away in the scrub. Cheers
AnswerID: 279233

Follow Up By: macsurfer - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 07:46

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 07:46
whether it be the wilderness or an over populated camping ground I still think generator's are rude.In this day and age with solar technology you don't really need them,and your on holiday what do you need a t.v. for?Cheers
FollowupID: 543449

Follow Up By: Member - Greydemon (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 13:09

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 13:09
A generator 'a few metres away' might not annoy someone sitting in splendid isolation inside a caravan with the air conditioner and TV going, but it annoys the hell out of campers over a hundred metres away - trust me on this!
FollowupID: 543489

Follow Up By: Rod - Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 09:10

Thursday, Jan 03, 2008 at 09:10
"In this day and age with solar technology you don't really need them"

Try camping in SE qld at the moment. Not enough sun for my solar setup and a generator was sadly missed

FollowupID: 543660

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:29

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:29
Try before you buy...

Some Herons will run ok with a 2kva generator but be aware that some will not even if anothe "identical" model will. Try your air con with your generator.

And don't be fooled into thinking that a Honda/Whatever model with 20 or 2000 in the name is a 2kva generator. They are more like 1.6kva. Some of them will deliver 2kva on a surge load, but may not be able to hold it long enough to start an air con especially in very hot conditions.

So, don't just go on the figures, try it out first.

All the best.
btw, My Honda EU20i does run my Ibis air con. even though a number of people report the combination as not satisfactory.

Ken
AnswerID: 279234

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 20:05

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 20:05
funny you should say about the 2.2 not being able to be run off the 2kva. i have read on this forum for awhile now how people run there 2.2 herons on the honda 2kva, i have tried this with my dads honda 2kva and it will not look at it. i have had to go to the 3kva. i do'nt fill so bad now.
cheers shane.
FollowupID: 543398

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:45

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:45
shane llok for a "soft start Kit"
FollowupID: 543424

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:50

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 22:50
thats something the wife would say but thats another story.
what do you mean by soft start kit?
FollowupID: 543426

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 07:42

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 07:42
it allows the compressor to start with reduced inrush amps (current) doubt if the manufacturer if heron make them tho so you may have to source aftermarket
FollowupID: 543448

Reply By: Therifleman - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:35

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 17:35
To Gottabjoaken,thanks for your reply.My brother has a 2 kva genny-I,ll borrow it & give my unit try. Appreciated-Mick.
AnswerID: 279236

Reply By: Faulic_McVitte - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 19:07

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 19:07
Honda EU20 wont run my brothers Heron 3. Uses the Yamaha EF2400 which users said on the caravan forum was better unit. Ask there as heaps there have both. Yamaha is same price as Honda and Yamaha uses less fuel
AnswerID: 279250

Follow Up By: Col_and_Jan - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 23:24

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 23:24
We use the Yamaha EF2400 with our rooftop AirCommand and have no trouble at all. Runs the air, charger etc at the same time.
Didnt bother trying it with the Honda, as even if it did run, it would be at its limit. I wanted to have power in reserve for those extreme days of heat and humidity.
Col
FollowupID: 543430

Reply By: rumpig - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 19:57

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 19:57
i have a mate with a jayco caravan and we were just talking about this on the weekend. don't know what aircon unit he has but it's in a 16ft expander offroad model jayco van about 1 year old if that helps any. my mate said in order to use his honda 2kva genny to run the aircon. unit in his caravan he needs to turn off the eco switch on the genny or it won't work properly, think it dosen't deliver enough power to the aircon. unit quick enough when the aircon. starts up, from memory of our conversation. he said that whilst it would run the aircon. unit, it isn't something he would be keen to do, due to how hard the genny would be working and the amount of fuel it would use. i gathered from our conversation that he has tried running the aircon. unit off of the genny whilst at home just to see what happened.
hope that makes sense as i don't own one of those gennies and aren't familiar with all of it's features.
AnswerID: 279261

Reply By: Flash32 - Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 10:03

Wednesday, Jan 02, 2008 at 10:03
We have a Ibis A/C in our van, which is made by Air Command, the same as the Heron and there is NO way the 2kva Honda can run this unit. It requires over 30 amps to start the unit, and by that stage the Honda had died. Red overload light lit up like a Christmas tree.
Rod
AnswerID: 279313

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 07:45

Friday, Jan 04, 2008 at 07:45
Have a Carrier unit in my van and as long as I start the Aircon on low and then switch it up the Honda EU20i will run it Just dont try to start it on high
AnswerID: 279690