Wheels stayed on this time

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 11:39
ThreadID: 53166 Views:2671 Replies:12 FollowUps:19
Arrived home at 2am this morning after a hot drive north from Stawell yesterday. Lay around in aircon comfort at Berri on the banks of the Murray, sampling some of Des Lexic and Blazes hospitality and then continued on the journey after dark. Thanks for your hopsitality fellas (and ladies). Drove the Murrayville Track through Big Desert from Nhill to Pinnaroo. The first 54km is now bitumen and the rest an easy 80kmh gravel road with some sneaky bulldust patches.

The GQ ran without issue to the Big Smoke along the bitumen and back through the VHC. But I need more power as the trailer brought the sluggish old diesel to a viritual standstill on most hills, much to the annoyance to other drivers, I presume...lol The journey across the VHC was exciting in places especially when passing oncoming traffic on the McKillops Bridge Track.

Highest price paid for diesel was $1.60 and lowest $1.47.

The issue with the front wheel bearings continues as the grease has turned to oil again and has been leaking past the seals. I shall now fit GENUINE parts as this drama has gone beyond a joke.

We caught up the forumites RayJen, Willie(Epping), Bushfix, Peter 2, Richard W, and Mr and Mrs Al, along the way. Thanks to all for their kindness and hospitality. Richard W kindly reminded me that we had met before. When I gave a puzzled look, he told me that I had asked him to keep quiet at Birdsville CP one late night in 2005. These things come back to bite you...LOL

Trip observations:

SWMBO very happy with new vehicle and trailer set-up.

NSW
has most litter strewn roads
50 and 60kmh signs always seem to be placed halfway down a hill so one has to ride the brakes
Sydney drivers were no worries(one trip across the city there and back)
Nowra has the worst bottle neck traffic jams
Fuel is at least 5cpl more expensive than Vic and SA

VIC
Too many road signs especially the Powernap ones
Vic drivers show no courtesy and seem to be hell bent in screaming past you to an optimum speed of 100kmh

SA
Too many bumpy roads

Most roads across all states are far to narrow

All truckies were courtious but drive right up ones clacker beforer overtaking. On a number of occasions I got off the road to let them pass

Saw 5 Police Cars and got breathalized once.

And so it is back to a new year of trips and stuff and buying MORE TOYS ....LOL

Happy New Year to you all

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 11:44

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 11:44
Glad the three of you made it safely home, was great to catch up at Willies.
I'd be asking what sort of grease is being used Willem. Seals can cause excessive heat in hubs as they can run too tight causing friction and heat so the genuine seals might be the way to go.
AnswerID: 280063

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:11

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:11
G'day Peter

Castrol HTB. When the genuine seals were fitted in between bearing changes the grease remained clean. So I take your point about the seals. The hubs were running VERY hot. Will take this up with the garage bloke

FollowupID: 544289

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 13:09

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 13:09
Willem
4wd's ie patrols and cruisers don't require HTB as they usually don't get hot enough to melt the grease due to the mass of the hub itself.
I used to find that the bearings were wearing /marking because of a lack of lubrication when using HTB. This was especially so on the camper and box trailer, used to need new bearings after every trip!
I was advised to use Castrol APX and since doing so about 15 years back I haven't had to change a bearing since, I also found that even repacking the trailer bearings was more to replace the seals than repack the grease in the bearings themselves.
It is a good narrow bit on that track near Mckillops, we met a concrete mixer on the narrow bit years ago, we had to back with the camper on the back about a k before we could pass!
FollowupID: 544298

Follow Up By: Member - Jerry C (WA) - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 22:35

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 22:35
Hi Willem,
You have probably checked it, but is the diff breather blocked and pushing the oil out past the seal as it warms up.

Cheers, Jerry.
FollowupID: 544383

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 08:20

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 08:20
Hi Jerry

Yes. Have checked it out...:-)

The stub axle seal is OK and not leaking. The leak(grease turned to liquid) occurs through the wheelbearing seal at the backing plate.

FollowupID: 544435

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:01

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:01
Welcome back Willem, was good to hear everything ran smoothly and you were able to meet some EO friends. After all that's why we come on here isn't it???

Bummer about those wheel bearings, something just doesn't seem right there hey.

Enjoy catching up with what's happened while you've been away

Have to make arrangements for those tubes and protectors soon then 'eh

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 280066

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:13

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:13
No worries Luke...give me a couple of weeks to settle down...lol

Glad to read that your Dad has recovered well.

FollowupID: 544290

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:04

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:04
Good to see you had a good trip with no real dramas Willem.

MORE TOYS, geez mate, Christmas has gone now.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 280068

Follow Up By: Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:08

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:08
Dave,

We will have to change his name to Roach or Lucky ha ha

Willem,

Good to see you had an uneventful 2nd attempt at your trip.

FollowupID: 544286

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:16

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:16
G'day Dave and Kev

Yessss. NEXT Xmas coming in January.

Looking at a PDA with some gimmicks. EO Member IT fella getting the good oil on them for me. Judith is getting a Tom Tom for her Xtrail so it can warn hger when she goes over the speed limit....lol

FollowupID: 544292

Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:57

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 12:57
Hi Judith & Willem: it was good to see you here, & glad all went well.

We'll call past some time in '08. All the best, RayJen
AnswerID: 280076

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 08:55

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 08:55
Yeah no worries Ray. We should be home some oif the time this year....lol

FollowupID: 544441

Reply By: Member - Littleborgy (SA) - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 13:09

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 13:09
Hi Willem, good to hear (read) u all got back in one piece.

I know exactly what u mean re: power (or lack there of), as i towed my dad's camper trailer to Robe & back last week & it was a real PITA when i had other cars up my clacker & no place to pull over & let them overtake.

Hope to catch up with u soon.

Cheers, Brad
AnswerID: 280079

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 08:57

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 08:57
G'day Brad

Will be down your way towards the end of the month, I think.

FollowupID: 544442

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 13:13

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 13:13
Great report once again Willem! You do have the life. Very interested to hear the solution for the bearings, that'd be a right PITA.

Cya around one day

AnswerID: 280080

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 09:08

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 09:08
G'day Bonz

Happy New Year to you and the family. Hope you and I have less mishaps this year......hahahahaha

We are planning the Vic trip again towards the end of the year.

FollowupID: 544450

Reply By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 14:06

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 14:06
Glad to see your home safe and sound. Hope the roos weren't too bad on the way home. 2.00am. you did take your time. I thought I heard someone say it would take them 3 hours to get home. LOL It must have been Jedda's fault.
AnswerID: 280084

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 14:15

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 14:15
Ummmmm...my mistake. 'Twas 12.45am and by he time I had unlocked everything etc etc it was 1am and then 2am before bed time....lol

Yes Jeddah had her moments. Had to stop in each town for a stretch and things what doggies do.

Did not see one roo. Only saw a feral cat and one rabbit. Not much traffic either.

Thanks for the donuts!!!!....lol

Will be back down that way when the commission sales stuff is ready to be picked up.:-)))))
FollowupID: 544306

Reply By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 14:47

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 14:47
Hi Willem,

Just a wild suggestion about the problem you are having with grease comimg out of you hub seals.
As a mechanic who has packed many a bearing 2 possibles come to mind assuming you are using a high temp grease.
if 2 much grease is used overheating and loss of grease can occur
even with new seals original or aftermarket are the surfaces where the seals run in good condition? grooves can wear in this area and then new seals wont help, you may need to fit "Speedie Sleeves"

hope this helps

Cheers pop
AnswerID: 280089

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 18:36

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 18:36
Thanks pop

I am taking all suggestions on board and will be on my mechanics door tomorrow when they open for business...lol

FollowupID: 544323

Reply By: slave - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 15:09

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 15:09
Willem wrote "Richard W kindly reminded me that we had met before. When I gave a puzzled look, he told me that I had asked him to keep quiet at Birdsville CP one late night in 2005. "

I remember hearing you and Richard W meet that night. Obviously I didn't know who either of you were at the time. It was the same night a couple made use of the bushes next to our camp. I was glad the kids were deep sleepers.

Mrs S
AnswerID: 280094

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 18:41

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 18:41
There you go Mrs Slave. You should have introduced yourserlf the next morning :-) I did have a friendly chat to Richard the following morning but did not recognise him when I met up with him at Member Willie's place in the Big Smoke.

Yes, it was cluster camping in the CP and then the rain came to make matters worse.......lol

FollowupID: 544324

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 16:41

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 16:41
Yet another few black lines on 'the map'...lol

Good to see you both back safe n sound...just gotta tell
ya....nuffin happened while you were away, just got a tad warm.

Good to see Jude likes the camping setup, you'll be able
to get away more now.....

Michael
AnswerID: 280100

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 08:59

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 08:59
Yes must remember to fill the map in....lol

Yep the town still looks the same with a population of 2000 people and 4000 dogs.....LOL

Dunno about getting away more. SWMBO has a long list of planned jobs for me this year.......hahahahaha

FollowupID: 544443

Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 17:17

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 17:17
Hi Willem and Judith

Glad you're safely home and that the trip had no more dramas for you.

Don't you just love those Powernap signs? - telling you to take that nap you need, and nowhere to pull off in cooee.

AnswerID: 280101

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 09:01

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 09:01
Hello Motherhen

Hope you are all well and that there are good rains coming in 2008.

FollowupID: 544445

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 19:21

Sunday, Jan 06, 2008 at 19:21
Willem,

Good to hear you got home OK apart from the seals.
How many more EO members were at Birdsville that night? :)

AnswerID: 280122

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 09:05

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 09:05
Hi Richard

It was the 2005 EO Gathering arranged by Redback. Due to the rain only 7 vehicles turned up but we had a good time. There might have been 6 or 7 EO Members and their families at CP that night.

FollowupID: 544447

Follow Up By: slave - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 15:20

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 15:20
We packed up the next morning and made it to Innaminka where we stayed until the roads were opened up again.
We had another EO member " Earvin" travelling with us, who spoke to Willem.

There were EO members and "Overlanders" that were stuck at Innaminka along with us.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 544489

Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 16:44

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 16:44
Mrs S,

I was with a group of Overlander guys who made it to Camerons Corner for their gathering. There was about 40 vehicles at various locations around Camerons Corner who couldn't get in for the gathering. Eight of us made it before the roads were closed. I intended to head back across the Simpson with the Overlander guys stuck at Camerons Corner but the road to Innaminka was still closed when they left so I headed for Broken Hill when the Tibooburra road opened. That was a wet trip.
FollowupID: 544500

Follow Up By: slave - Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 19:33

Monday, Jan 07, 2008 at 19:33
We drove from Innaminka to CC when the roads opened, and stayed the night in a room there. Bill closed the bar early that night, said he was a bit tired. We could understand after hearing of the exploits the previous night. One Overlander was still there and another family turned up as well.
We made it to Broken Hill the next day where we heard that the roads closed again. Even the locals complained about the cold in BH.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 544527