Laughter is the the best medicine!.
Submitted: Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:10
Member - Axle
Well its a long time since iv'e had a laugh like i had to-day!,( Myself and ten others) a plumbers apprentice was told to get in the ute and go down to the local plumbing supplies and pick up some pipe. Not such a hard task to perform, except this ute was hooked up to a tandem box trailer full of gear, The
young guy was very capable at backing this thing and as not being a lot of room on this site , he had to make a ten point turn!, was going
well until on the ninth turn he clipped the portaloo and knocked it A over Z,hahahaha!!!!, but the funny thing to come was,hahahaha the SITE FORMAN crawling out of it hahahaha, covered in you know what hahaha! I have never seen a mans face turn so many, colours in a fit of rage. The
young guys boss was soooo embarrest and had no end of trouble calming this guy down ...lol, The end result was the apprentice went and picked up the pipe, but future work for his boss with this company ?,
Well!! may have to do some crawling!!, In no way was it the
young guys fault really, Bastard of a site room wise, every trade on top of one another, its one of those things that just happened. But! gawd it was funny for a while....lol.
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:26
Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:26
I'd even pay to see a show like that hahahahhaha!!!
Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:37
Thursday, Jan 10, 2008 at 21:37
Mate!, you would never see that again, this blokes timing was so unlucky !!, or should i say reversing,....lol
Axle.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 07:01
Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 07:01
I can't top that one but here is a true story that happened to me as an apprentice.
I was working (as an apprentice) under a rather short person (sp) who was my trades person. This guy was always arrogant and a jumped up pr... who wanted tasks done as soon as he yelled them out. One day we turned up at a job and he ordered that the ladder be taken off the roof rack and all the
tools taken into the house. I started untying the ladder and sure enough the sp yells out for me to come inside as he wanted to show me something, hang on a minute says I, get your ar.... in here now comes the reply. I go inside and am given a job to do. Next thing I hear our van being driven away, sp is heading off to the warehouse to pick up some cable. Half hour later a rather subdued but fuming tradesman comes back calling me all the names under the sun. In his usual accelerator /brake driving style he had steamed up to an
intersection, hit the brakes and the ladder shot off the roof rack over the bonnet and across the
intersection. He must have been moving cause the ladder never hit the bonnet of the vehicle. Would have paid heaps to have actually been there and seen it.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 15:31
Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 15:31
Hi There Kiwi Kia, sounds like the arrogant pri#k deserved it. Glad the ladder didnt hit anyone else. Shame it didnt end up hitting the bonnet. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 17:21
Friday, Jan 11, 2008 at 17:21
Hi Stephen, It was a rather good lesson to me to, don't treat your apprentices like ...... it might come back and bite you :-))