Travel advice, Winton to Alice via Tobemorey.

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 12, 2008 at 22:33
ThreadID: 53410 Views:4047 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
I have no knowledge of this area and have very little experience with outback travel.

I have owned and driven Landcruisers since 1975 which gives a hint to my age but doesn't qualify me as an off road expert.

I have however travelled the Stuart Hyw in the early eighties when there was a lot of dirt. Then back in the early seventies from Cairns to Normanton and down to Cloncurry which again was almost all dirt. The rule of thumb then was, check road conditions with the locals, carry supplies (food water etc) and drive to the conditions.

So my question is: Would the road from Winton to Alice be similar to what I have experienced. I have an 80 series Cruiser, even though it's 11 years old I've had it since new and it's still in very good condition. Me on the other hand I'm 62 I would be travelling alone but can still change tyres and cut firewood.

I've travelled a lot by caravan but this time I would like to get off the main highways. Any advise you can offer is very welcome.

Best regards to all, Greg.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 12, 2008 at 22:49

Saturday, Jan 12, 2008 at 22:49
Greg

Winton to Boulia is bitumen. Boulia to Tobermorey to Alice is good gravel road when it has been graded.

Did the run from Tobermory to Boulia in August 07 and could sit on 100kmh with trailer in tow.

Most of these outback roads vary though. If there has been a bit of trucking over a period of time then bulldust patches and corrugations may be prevalent. If it rains you will slip and slide.

Just take it easy and drive to conditions and take in the vastness of the outback.

Cheers
AnswerID: 281282

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Jan 12, 2008 at 22:52

Saturday, Jan 12, 2008 at 22:52