New Nissan 3L V6 diesel for 2010? 195kw/550Nm

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 08:27
ThreadID: 53414 Views:14267 Replies:4 FollowUps:7
http://www.autobloggreen.com/2007/09/11/2010-nissan-maxima-diesel-engine-to-based-on-new-renault-v-6/

195kw/550Nm possibly for Maxima, Navara and Pathfinder? Heck it would probably do well in a Patrol, Armada and Titan also. It has more power and torque than the 4800 inline six petrol engine. Same torque, less power than the 5.6L V8. Any way you look at it, it looks impressive and can't get it's way in to Nissan vehicles soon enough. I am sure there will be an even larger diesel for the Armada and Titan.

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 09:52

Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 09:52
One of the 4 wheel drive mags reported this a few months back. They suggested it would be in the Patrol by 2009.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 281325

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 22:15

Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 22:15
I reckon you will be lucky if the 2010 GU isnt the last, so I wouldnt really expect any upgrades from now on....

Sales just arent there, they dont really sell overseas with the grenade, so sort of a small market, is it worth their while?
FollowupID: 545801

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 10:39

Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 10:39
Wasn't the current 3.0 diesel designed by Renault?
:-(

AnswerID: 281335

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 12:10

Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 12:10
Yes that would make me wary. I have been told by a truckie mate that Mack are having lots of engine trouble, guess what Renault motors
FollowupID: 545713

Follow Up By: furph - Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 19:33

Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 19:33
Plenty of documentation, the ZD30 is a genuine Nissan product, sales commenced in Europe however.
There they had massive recalls to correct the "self destruct"problem.
I never believed that there was a "mechanical" fault with those engines, it was the electronics that failed and allowed them to burn up.
A good friend had a late 2002 which self destructed at 70000km.
Cost him $20000 to get out of it. (buying a new Rodeo)
furph
FollowupID: 545773

Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 10:42

Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 10:42
Wonder what electronics arrives with it.??

AnswerID: 281338

Follow Up By: howesy - Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 11:37

Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 11:37
More importantly will the electronics be in a dry high place and be well and truley waterproofed
FollowupID: 545703

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 14:27

Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 14:27
Having worked in electronics for over 40 yrs, I wouldn't be too worried about that issue. With the exception of a couple of makes of vehicles, most automotive electronics are very reliable.
It's just the mechanical design that worries me!
FollowupID: 545724

Reply By: furph - Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 19:23

Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 19:23
550N.m of torque?
Well, fair enough. But at what revs? The latest 3.0l. Rodeo/Hilux/Triton turbo diesel has heaps of torque, but try and get it to crawl up a STEEP incline in low range 4wd.
The pig root'n buck jump'n is going to really put your back and kidney's to the test, especially the passenger (as I was).
For hill climbing, the only 4wd. that is going to do it easy is the 4.2 na Nissan or Toyota.
In these circumstanses, turbo diesels just dont cut it.
furph
AnswerID: 281439

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 20:45

Sunday, Jan 13, 2008 at 20:45
Can't speak for the Renault/Nissan donc but the 320CDI in the Merc (3l TDV6) delivers 510Nm from 1600-2800rpm and 350Nm at 1000rpm. Haven't got the LR figures at hand but the 2.7l TDV6 in the Disco delivers more torque at low revs than the 100 series 4.2TD.
FollowupID: 545785

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 09:56

Tuesday, Jan 15, 2008 at 09:56
An auto transmission and a turbo diesel are a match made in heaven. The torque converter compensates for turbo lag. I have trained many people in 3l Nissans and the difference between autos and manuals is amazing. Cruising on the hiway at 100k the auto also revs much lower. As Toyota has shown us in the 200 Series manual transmissions are just about finished.
Rob Berrill
Cert IV Instructor\Assessor
Accredited instructor cars\motorcycles\4wds
http://www.cairnsoffroad.com.au
http://www.aussieat.net
http://aussieadtours.blogspot.com/
FollowupID: 546029