UHF Antenenna

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 00:02
ThreadID: 53568 Views:4787 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
I know there is extensive reports about these but it has just left me confused. I am probably looking at 2 different antennas. The main use is probably more hilly kiind of country as i am located in Perth Hills. It will also be a bullbar mount.

What do you guys think of the RFI CD5000 which is a 5db antenna or the other one im looking at is the Explorist 3 & 6.5db GI 4WD Antenna Package.

Both are at Prestige communications.

Advice would be great as i am new to all this.

Thanks
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: andyroo - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 00:04

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 00:04
Hmmm and it looks like my spelling wasn't too good there.
AnswerID: 282025

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 01:45

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 01:45
Because you are looking at a bull bar mounted antenna, I would suggest you look at the GME brand on Prestige's Web site.

The RFI Explorist is listed as being 900mm long. This may be a bit short for a bull bar mounted antenna. You need to get the top of the aerial above the roof line of your vehicle for optimum performance.

Although a little more expensive the GME 4705 4.5db 1.2m or the 4706 2.1m 6db would be good choices.

The 4700 model range of aerials are all interchangable on the spring base, so you could have a shorter antenna for city use and a longer antenna for country use.

For hilly kind of country, the 4705 with it's 4.5db attenuation would probably be my first choice.

The longer 2.1 metre 6db antenna may give better performance in flat country.

That's my thoughts anyway.

Bill

I'm diagonally parked in a parallel Universe!

My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 282030

Reply By: Member - Olcoolone (S.A) - Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 07:29

Thursday, Jan 17, 2008 at 07:29