Beast of Bodmin
I've been looking at In Front
Camping's Spare Wheel Rucksacks (ver3 & v5).
The owner Klaus seems to have a few favourable comments from exploroz on his website,but none recent.
Has anybody got one & what do you think of it.
I'm worried that the sack will slip down the spare wheel and look too low, get hit on washouts etc.
Also these have detachable wheel cover (always attached), the sack being held by 5 plastic 38mm luggage clips. I'm not sure they are robust enough.
I want to carry my tarp and groundsheet in the bag, plus some rubbish as our weekend trips progress.
The cost is good, about $120.
My other choice is 'Rucker' from Queensland, but they are $300, so significant may be had if the InFront product is good.
A mate has a Rucker unit and is happy with it.
BoB
In Front
Camping - Spare Wheel Rucksacks
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 21:30
Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 21:30
I bought a soft travel bag from K Mart for $15 and attached it with a strong Ocky strap and it lives on the spare wheel without ever moving. I store all the
camping rubbish in there in a bin liner. It is now 3 years old and still going strong.
Reply By: Member - Au-2 - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 21:37
Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 21:37
We have used this brand of rucksack for 2 years now B of Bodmin, and I can thoroughly recommend it. We cross the straps (which are adjustable) over behind the spare wheel and it doesn't budge no matter how long we travel. On our last trip it easily held 10 days worth of rubbish for 3 people and 1 dog. All of our rubbish is first contained inside a strong, black plastic garbage bag with the air squeezed out each time we put more rubbish inside, before using a wire bag-tie to keep odours/fly's to a minimum. When we get home we hit it with the pressure sprayer while doing the trailer and it comes up like new.
OzeSheila.
Reply By: Ozboc - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 21:49
Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 21:49
I have one -- V3 i have had one of the small clips break on me - but after an email to Klaus about it - he sent me a few spares in the post ( no charge for item or post)
They do hang a little low - especially when its loaded up with rubbish - cant have it on the tire when i am towing as it sits on the trailer connector. ( nissan patrol BTW GU)
But in general - its bloody tough and heavy duty , and i am happy with
mine - will be considering one of the roof mount bags for the roof cage from Klaus next :)
Boc
Follow Up By:- Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 22:18
Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 22:18
G'Day Boc,
I had Klaus make a cusotm size roof-rack bag before our outback trip in 2006. In his words,
"I made it like I would like it to be made if I was buying one"
I can tell you it was worth every cent, no chance of
water ingress and no problems with dust
Rolande
Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 09:33
Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 09:33
I also had a custom bag made by Klaus. It fits perfectly into the roof rack on my 4runner. It's really good quality and I had it within a week of ordering it. It was $200 cheaper than a standard size bag made locally. His service to me was A1 & I would definitely buy from Klaus again.
Reply By: gompy - Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 21:52
Saturday, Jan 19, 2008 at 21:52
Hi, I got one and it is ok for the price, but the straps and clips are flimsy.
I also have big problems opening the zipper after driven in dusty conditions.
So it is not the best one around, but certainly the cheapest.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 01:05
Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 01:05
Bought one last year fits the spare wheel
well and can fit heaps of rubbish. can fit a plastic rubbish bag inside as
well. Excellent mail order service. Arrived here in the West 2 days after ordering.
Reply By: Member - Jack - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 07:20
Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 07:20
I took an earlier model around Australia on the back wheel. Carried rubbish, firewood (when I could use it), and various "bits and pieces". Carrying the firewood put a hole in it early in the trip but it held together for the entire trip
I secured it with an occy strap in addition to the straps when it had a heavier than normal load (firewood again..) with no problems at all. Planning on buying another one shortly.
Klaus is also very good if you spot a problem and let him know about it.
Jack
Reply By: Booman1n2 - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 08:28
Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 08:28
I don't suppose anyone has some photos of one so I know what your talking about.
One of my pet hates is the amount of rubbish that my family generates on a trip"anywhere".
Follow Up By: Beast of Bodmin - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 08:35
Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 08:35
Hi Booman,
The company has a website as below, they also sell on ebay. Between the two you can see the 2 rucksacks l am interested in.
It seems the service provided by the company is very good, the pricing is very good but l'm not sure that the product l want is durable enough. Perhaps l will request a special build to stop the sack from sagging on it's straps.
BoB
WWW.INFRONTCAMPINGGEAR.COM.AU
Follow Up By: Booman1n2 - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 11:26
Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 11:26
Got it .....thanks.
Follow Up By: Beast of Bodmin - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 12:30
Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 12:30
I never have found a way to post a web link...........
BoB
Follow Up By: Member - Au-2 - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 22:37
Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 22:37
If you look at our members rig page you can see 2 pics of the bag hanging off the spare tyre. Bag is not full.
Ozesheila.
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 09:38
Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 09:38
BoB ,
I bought one at Rosehill Caravan and
camping Show from
Southern Cross tents . It fell apart on the first trip - absolute crap .
Now I have two made by Michelles Sacs purchased at ARB - brilliant .
Willie .
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 17:45
Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 17:45
I’ve got a lot of Klaus’s stuff and had him make me custom items. I have two of the bags you’re after and I have them across two of his rear wheel covers. I had problems with them having too much stuff in them and the straps tearing free from the fabric.
I saw Klaus at
St Albans today and am having me make a modified bag. It will have 70mm webbing surrounding the entire bag with a large plastic clip to hold lid down and complete the webbing support. It will also have thicker cross straps and an adjustable loop strap with buckle that will fit down the back of the bag to go round the tyre mounts to stop the bag slipping forward.
I am having him also include heavier gauge zips and a fold down lip over the top zip to reduce the dust. Using Ripstop canvas too. I will be back there tomorrow to look at it with him(That’s Wednesday) and get the price. This model will alleviate any concerns you have as I really put
mine thru hell last year and this is what I’ve come up with.
Will advise you of a price once I’ve spoken to Klause and Lynn tomorrow. If interested, post an email address.
cheers. Mick
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 17:51
Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 17:51
P.S. You can see my set-up on my rigpage, back of the patrol. Don't have the V3 but would want extra strengthening in the attachment tabs as the bags aren't designed to take a stack of weight. That's why I want the reinforced version as I found them to be the most used items on my trip. A few empty vino bottles and rubbish can bet pretty heavy. Mick
Follow Up By: Beast of Bodmin - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 20:13
Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 20:13
Hi Mick,
I'm interested in the bag you describe above. Sounds as though you've had the bag slip problem l thought may happen, so it's good you've found a solution.
Do you find that the bag & tyre cover will fit various tyre sizes or is it really snug on the size you provided to Klaus.
I assume the sack will still attach to the wheel cover with the 5 38mm plastic clips though. Or have you changed those?
Please send info to: d u n c a n r o s e @ a a p t (dot) n e t (dot) a u
I work in Campbellfield, thus wouldn't mind seeing the finished article as
St Albans isn't far away.
BoB