Anyone been to Saunders Creek Gorge lately?

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 11:38
ThreadID: 53698 Views:2208 Replies:2 FollowUps:4
We have been thinking about going to Saunders Creek for a while now. We drive past there on our way to the river and always talk about going. What's it like for a day trip? can you stop on the route and have a barby lunch and stuff like that? I understand you have to book. It's only 40 minutes from home. Will my Adventra make it through or is it more a job for the mighty (yet underpowered) 4runner?

Was talking to someone the other week who said they went and enjoyed it. But they are more the dirt road kind of people rather than off roaders.

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 12:31

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 12:31
Hi Louie,
I, like many other people on this forum like to hear about new places to go to. Could you please elaborate a bit on where Saunders Creek is. You say you pass it on your way to the river and 40 minutes from your home but I don't know which river or even which state you are in !
AnswerID: 282681

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 14:40

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 14:40
No worries Kiwi. I'm in SA, on the eastern side of the Adelaide Hills, between Birdwood and Hahndorf.My home town

We have a holiday house on the Murray River near Swan Reach. When we go there we go pass the road to Saunders Creek Gorge & Sanctuary but we've never been there. I worked in the area some years ago and traversed this region by helicopter. There's some really nice scenery in there, including several gorges to the north with permanent water. Problem was the power transmission lines run along the top of the hill in some areas so we had to be really careful where we went. River Murray

Saunders Creek Gorge is about 1 hour east of Adelaide and 30 minutes south west of Swan Reach. Saunders Creek

Hope that enlightens you a bit to our part of this great land.

Lou
FollowupID: 547217

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 16:57

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 16:57
Thanks Louie,
I have found Swan Reach & Swan Reach Conservation Park in SA. There's a Swan reach down near Lakes Entrance in Vic also. Looks like I will need a better scale map to see Saunders Creek. I will be visiting Renmark latter this year so I may be able to have a look Saunders Creek on that trip.
FollowupID: 547225

Follow Up By: Louie the fly - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:35

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:35
Kiwi, here's the coord for you're GPS.

34 44 23.7 S
139 13 12.5 E

This is within a km or so anyway.

Probably will try to get there between #1 son's cricket season ends and footy season starts and after we get a bit of rain.

FollowupID: 547455

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:47

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:47
Noted, Thanks Louie
FollowupID: 547495

Reply By: GerryP - Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 23:21

Sunday, Jan 20, 2008 at 23:21
Hi Louie,

Friends of ours were there just after Christmas. It was pretty hot, but they really enjoyed the 4WD track. They say they'll go back in spring as they reckon it would be really great that time of year. Check out their web site at www.saundersgorge.com.au. There's also a video on the site which is worth watching and shows the 4WD track.
Gerry
AnswerID: 282814