Qld Big Wet?

Submitted: Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 16:31
ThreadID: 53743 Views:2051 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
How's the water aroundCharleville, Emerald etc - saw pics from the bridge at Emerald - boy that is heaps of water, it's a very high bridge - hopefully some of it will head to some of the dams where they need it - but heard a guy on TV last night say it will head out to Rockhampton - (this is the Warrego River) -
Lets all hope everyone stays safe in the affected areas.
jules

Reply By: Moose - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 16:42

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 16:42
G'day Julie
The water's wet!
BTW - what nong said the Warrego would flow to Rocky? Rubbish - goes inland.
AnswerID: 282909

Reply By: Scoof - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 16:48

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 16:48
Was up that way in September 07 it was as dry as chips.
It's hard to even emagine that much water around that area.
I also hope everyone stay's safe.
We can certainly do with some of the water in the Darling system and it's heading our way.

Cheers Scoof ... S.A.
AnswerID: 282911

Reply By: Garbutt - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:21

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:21
The Warrego is flooding at Charleville and flows into the Darling. The Nogoa is flodding at Emerald and flows out to see near Rocky.

GB
AnswerID: 282926

Reply By: Member - Alan H (Narangba QLD - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:22

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 18:22
The Emerald water is heading for the Fitzroy river and Rockhampton. Emerald is on the eastern side of the great divide.

The Charleville water is heading for the Darling river and Adelaide (reach there about mid-winter)
AnswerID: 282927

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:16

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:16
Hi Alan, No it will never get to Adelaide, I read a post the other day from Qld Kev & Darkie & he said the Qlders were harvesting all this water & keeping up their way!! Qlders are mean, mean people. LOL & cheers.
FollowupID: 547477

Reply By: Member - Edward G (QLD) - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:18

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:18
Was at Emerald this arvo and took some pics.

Emerald and Fairbairn
AnswerID: 282943

Follow Up By: wigger - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:26

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 19:26
E G Have you captions for these photos so we can see location .
If you can't affix captions, can you list sites in order that they appear on slide show TKS
FollowupID: 547480

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 20:19

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 20:19
Thought photos were great - having been in the area mid last year - could just picture where these places where - boy last time we were near that bridge - there were campers down there.
Didn't mean to sound ignorant re where water was going - and yes I know water is wet! - just making a comment on the enormity of the whole situation up there - - we are indeed a land of drought and flooding rains!!!
jules
FollowupID: 547775

Reply By: rumpig - Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 22:44

Monday, Jan 21, 2008 at 22:44
saw a report on the news tonight about where all the water will end up. basically said (as mentioned earlier) that anything east of the great divide (emerald area) will end up in the fitzroy and come out at rocky, no flooding expected down around the rocky area.
other waters on the west of the great divide (longreach etc.) will end up heading for lake eyre, only thing is they reckon it won't reach that far and will dry up by the time it hits the western border line of qld.
AnswerID: 283019

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy (springsure- Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 14:07

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2008 at 14:07
They were talking about river levels at around 6m in rocky between the 25th and 29th.

There is still about 10 inches of rain flow to get into the Fairbain Dam yet that I don't think they relise is comming later in the week.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 283107