Victoria Police H3 Hummer

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 18:47
ThreadID: 53836 Views:26153 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
G'day all,

There was a thread about a month ago regarding H3 Hummers. Someone posted about a Victoria Police Hummer being done where they get their cars from - got these photos from a mate.

Tim.

Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 18:52

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 18:52
It's only a pretender used for PR stuff - no radios etc so it won't be used for 'real'.

Tim
AnswerID: 283381

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 18:54

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 18:54
Nice paint tho

AnswerID: 283383

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 19:22

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 19:22
Nice waist of money too.
FollowupID: 547991

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 19:29

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 19:29
I think it is also a bit of a PR thing with Holden/Hummer - would cost heaps more for you or I.

FollowupID: 547994

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 19:32

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 19:32
Yep GM did the same with the Monaro, did a yellow one up with the walloper badges etc etc etc wasn't sposed to go out of the Melbourne CBD

FollowupID: 547995

Reply By: Louie the fly - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 19:34

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 19:34
I reckon it's targeted at the younger kids, probably male 12 - 15 year olds. My son (nearly 13) and all his mates think Hummers are the best thing since, er, well, Nissan Skylines.
AnswerID: 283390

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 20:21

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 20:21
Why would you say it's only PR , if it's the base model they're about the same price as a Troopy and much cheaper than a 100 Series, Police do have 4x4s you know so what;s wrong with a Hummer.

AnswerID: 283407

Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 20:53

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 20:53
True, and most probably they will do as every other govt department or big company: get a BIG fleet discount, only keep it as long as it's under warranty, belt the c..p out of it and sell it to an unsuspecting owner as "as new condition only one owner"

The again maybe I'm too cynical: my vehicle is ex-defense, bought from the auction, and I can't complain :-)
FollowupID: 548017

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 20:54

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 20:54
"so what's wrong with a Hummer". Well set up as a Police 4x4 they would have very little storage space, minimal towing capacity & with a load capacity of only 430kg they would have trouble putting 4 donut eating coppers in there anyway ;-) Not what you'd say would meet the usual police needs. I too suggest that PR is the name of the game as it's being set up just like the Jeep Wrangler used last winter throughout the Alpine resorts. Unlike the CSI Miami crew, the Vic members I know in the Search & Rescue & Water Police would want nothing to do with them.
Cheers Craig...............
FollowupID: 548018

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 21:20

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 21:20
Doug,

I'm not saying they wouldn't be any good as a police vehicle - this one hasn't been setup with radios etc. It's purely for show.

All the 'off-road' 4WD's the police use are diesel. I think there are a few petrol ones - LC100 V8's but these aren't used by the general duties police.

Crackles raise some good points re space/storage etc although I know there are a few Pajeros and Prados in use too.

Have to wait and see if the Patrol get's beefed up and too dear for a police dept.

Migth be H3's in a few years.....

Tim
FollowupID: 548024

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 21:22

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 21:22
We had quite a few Hummers up here in our tour industry as well as Suurbans when they first came out. Both sounded fantastic on paper but in the real world they were very unreliable and extremely expensive to maintain.
Rob Berrill
Cert IV Instructor\Assessor
Accredited instructor cars\motorcycles\4wds
http://www.cairnsoffroad.com.au
http://www.aussieat.net
http://aussieadtours.blogspot.com/

FollowupID: 548026

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 21:54

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2008 at 21:54
I'm busy looking at the $$$$$$$$$$$ worth of buses, trucks and vehicles in the background of these shots!

With a bit of custom fitting and electronics in each one plus the signage and paint jobs there must be millions sitting in that yard!

Just shows how naughty those Victorians are if the Vic Police have to have all that hardware sitting around to keep them under control.

SA would be lucky to have ONE drugs bus let alone about 6 that I can see in those photos.

Muddy
AnswerID: 283430

Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 21:07

Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 21:07
We need it all, haven't you seen the recent news and how tough our Melbourne teenagers are....
FollowupID: 548226

Follow Up By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 21:09

Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 21:09
Sorry, couldn't resist it....
FollowupID: 548227

Reply By: PajeroTD - Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 10:39

Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 10:39
The only thing it will catch, is a 70 series! LOL Yeah looks like a PR thing / advertising for GM.
AnswerID: 283480

Reply By: hytam - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 15:58

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 15:58
I've been looking for photos of this Hummer since I read about it.
May I have your permission to post these photos to my Flickr site.
There are a couple of Police Car groups who would love to see these pics.
For the others who have added to this thread there are a number of Police forces in the USA who do have Hummers in their fleets
Tell your friend he took some great photos
Hytam
AnswerID: 284737

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 16:59

Friday, Feb 01, 2008 at 16:59
Hytam,

No worries - they aren't my mate's photos - he had them sent to him by someone at the Police Transport Branch - I'm sure they wouldn't mind the PR.

Tim
FollowupID: 549740