80 series brunswick conversion any one got one?

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 11:50
ThreadID: 53855 Views:3142 Replies:8 FollowUps:4
Am looking to go with the brunswick 6.5 chev conversion. They claim economy of around 12/100, I get worse than that with my turbo 4.2.
Is it worth the upgrade? is the economy better or worse? is it worth the 18k cost? All info appreciated.

Reply By: Davo_60 - Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 19:50

Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 19:50

Don't own one but have considered a conversion before. Some people love them, I would say 12l/100k would be the absolute best case scenario and I am surprised you cannot get that from your 80 as I can get 12/100k from my 2H turbo. I have driven a 6.5 and a 6.2, very impressive tourque and really tough sound (bloody noisy though). I don't think the are as good as a factory toyota turbo so if that is what you have personally I wouldn't bother. Plenty own them here though and would be able to give better advice that I.

AnswerID: 283594

Follow Up By: hotfishez - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 08:38

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 08:38
Ive got a 4.2 with an aftermarket turbo
FollowupID: 548283

Reply By: mechpete - Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 21:23

Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 21:23
don,t touch them ,too many problems , injector pumps, glow plugs water pumps ,vacuum pumps , porous blocks , cylinder heads , oil leaks , lift pumps . spent 7 yrs keeping them on the road in gmc ambulances in victoria , heaps of Sh-t
mechpete
AnswerID: 283616

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 21:29

Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 21:29
Haven't done one myself but I know three or four people who have and they all sold their vehicles pretty soon after.

I think there's a message in that.

AnswerID: 283618

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 21:46

Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 21:46
If you want to upgrade, buy a hdfte from a 79 series wreck, it bolts up and then you just have to wire it in..no engineers required, same motor only electronic
AnswerID: 283624

Follow Up By: hotfishez - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 08:40

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 08:40
that is what I am aiming for. they are pretty hard to get at the moment. spoke to my mate at a toyota dealership and you are looking around 30k for new including all the components.
FollowupID: 548285

Follow Up By: hotfishez - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 08:43

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 08:43
Still need to get certified to go with the hdfte conversion.
FollowupID: 548286

Reply By: Waza & Wend - Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 22:18

Thursday, Jan 24, 2008 at 22:18
We have a '98 model 100s in getting a 6.5 Brunswick conversion at the moment. It went in as a 4.5 petrol on gas. I had been struggling with economy for ages and even Toyota couldn't give me answers as to why it was getting such 'fantastic' economy - 23lts / 100k's, even worse when towing the boat. I am also putting a chev box behind it and they reckon I should average about 13/100. May not be the best, but better than I was getting. Apart from that, I intend keeping the car for several more years to come so I am comfortable spending the money. I'll let you know how it goes.....

AnswerID: 283635

Reply By: BMKal - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 04:38

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 04:38
Haven't had one in a Toyota, but recently sold a Ford F100 with a Chev 6.2 V8 diesel. The only problem I had with it was poor oil pressure at idle, which resulted in breaking rocker arms a couple of times. Eventually tracked this down to the vaccuum pump (oil pump is driven from the vac pump in the 6.2 - I believe the 6.5 is different). After replacing the vac pump, never had another problem. It's still getting around town here - current owner has replaced original fuel pump with electric unit.

I'd say the claim of 12 litres / 100k are quite achievable, depending on how you drive it. I was achieving this in the F100 easily, though I had to keep it under about 105 km/hr. But - the F100 only had a C6 Ford 3 speed auto trans and a Ford 13 inch diff. An extra gear or two would have made a huge difference to this - and these engines have plenty of torque to allow for tall gearing.

There are plenty of Landcruisers and Patrols running around Kalgoorlie with Chev V8 diesels. I know a couple of the people who own them, and they all speak highly of them. One of the better ones here is an 80 series anniversary model - very nice bit of gear.

Another popular choice here is a small Cummins 6 cylinder diesel. I haven't seen anyone with one of these in a Toyota, but I do know of one F100 and one Nissan Patrol - both owners are also very happy with these - might be worth a thought. I have heard that there are some problems with matching the Cummins up with various transmissions - but they are around, so it can be done.
AnswerID: 283656

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 11:53

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 11:53
I own a 95 hdft auto currently. I drove a 6.5 turbo auto 80 series and it went just as well as mine to 100 km/hr unlaiden....when it got past 120km/hr, it kept going where mine will start to striggle...with weight on the back, im guessing there will be a bigger diifference. The guy selling it quoted 18 litres per 100. I have never heard of good figures from them, a good way to discern would be to look at the consumption figures of the Suberban 6.5, which is closer to 18 than 12. Just so you know, the suburban has a final drive of 3.7....cruisers are 4.1 and dont suit the v8's low revs The earlier motors have heaps of problems and the ones that came out here in the Suburban are the first of the real good ones....It sounded wicked, which made up for the lack of take off ability....
I know a guy who just finished his hdfte conversion into his 93 80 series hdt....the motor cost 7.7k from a 79 series and about $600 to wire up. It is thesame block as the diesel 80 just electric fuel control....the only things that need swapping from the old motor are the sump and engine mountings. Nothing else other than exhaust is different
AnswerID: 283709

Follow Up By: hotfishez - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:41

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:41
The Brunswick guys change the diff ratios to a 3.7 so I will now asume the economy of the suburban will be much the same. Granted the 80 series is somewhat lighter.
I would prefer to go the chev but i cant justify the fuel consumption. I will follow the path of the hdfte and that way have the ability to chip it up along with my plans for the gas conversion, this should give me a rather noticable power increase and retaining a similar fuel consumption.

Cheers for the info, muchly appreciated.
FollowupID: 548340

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:47

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:47
I would guess the 80 running a 3.7 would be alot better to drive than the one i drove running 4.1 ratios.....I would suggest you take a t/d 100 for a drive from the local caryard, then you will know what to expect.
www.pickles.com.au is a great place to look for wrecks complete, a good look around the wreckers will get you plenty of outragious quotes, but they can be got for 7.5-8k...there is a new long crete motor minus accessories on ebay for 7.7k
pm me if you want more info on the coversion. Been a few done now, in Sydney and Brisbane that i know of.
AnswerID: 283780