Flouro or LED camp light??

Submitted: Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 11:32
ThreadID: 53894 Views:7340 Replies:13 FollowUps:20
My No-Name branded twin flouro camp light gave up last week (after only seven years of service)..So it's time for a replacement.
I guess with the flouro setup- the electronics & tubes are the weak points. Are LED type units as efficient (light output)??
Is there a recommended type/brand/feature I should look out for??

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 11:44

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 11:44
I ve tried a few different types and have gone back to the old reliable cheapie single fluro. They arent as bright as some but seem to keep on working.

AnswerID: 283707

Reply By: Gronk - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 11:55

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 11:55
I have several led strips in my new KK ( not the same as older models ) that have 54 led's in each strip and they are brilliant.. Don't know prices, but I think they are the equal to fluros..

Have a look thru the web.....saw some from UK with 50+ leds for approx 30 pounds....sounds dear, but they should last a lifetime !!
AnswerID: 283711

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:02

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:02
Signman,

I have been trailing a LED camp light for a few months now.

The good,
Very bright light
The model has a magnetic base and the light is able to be rotated up and down from the base. Good to be able to attach a light to the chassis of a Nissan to see what has gone wrong, again.
It is rechargeable so there are no leads to worry about. You can take it into the tent or someone else tent that is not close to a battery.
Comes with a 240v charger as well as a cigarette lighter plug.
You can charge the light as you are driving the next day.
I have had a couple of fluro globes go but with the LED they seem a bit more sturdy.
The Bad
Not cheap around $100, might be wrong on this.
The battery will last about 6 hours before recharging, but if you only use it for cooking of a night it should be alright.
I don't think that it give a broad soft light, but more of a brighter light but has not the distance.
I pick up the light from TJM at Blacktown 9622 1000
AnswerID: 283713

Reply By: flappa - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:03

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:03
Are they as efficent. IMO , no they aren't.

The benefit for me , is that you can run a heck of a lot more LED lights for the same power use as 1 Flouro.

I use a LED string (about 21 LEDS in a flexi plastic housing), and it works sufficently well enough for lighting in place of a Flouro, but we usually use a 2nd one further along the tent.
AnswerID: 283714

Reply By: Vince NSW - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:15

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:15
I have 2 of each. The LED are the rechargable type.

+ & - for each
Fluro give a better / more light but use more power. The power is not a problem as we only use for cooking & getting ready for bed, so not a lot of usage.
LED do not give the same type of light. Seems to be very directional. Haveing said that, we also have 2 flexiable nav type lights hard wired into the CT & my wife loves the LED for reading.

For mine, I like the fluro

Vince
AnswerID: 283716

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:51

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:51
Vince.
Couldn't agree more with your comments.
I also installed flexiable LEDs into our camper.Now wife wants to stay up all night & read!!! Bad move on my behalf.

Regards.
Vince
FollowupID: 548522

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 12:55

Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 12:55
>The LED are the rechargable type.

How do you get the light back into them? :)
FollowupID: 548636

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:23

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:23
Mike - you have to get the correct LEADs (Light Emitting & Absorbing Diode)

FollowupID: 551998

Reply By: Rocky_QLD - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:41

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:41
Hairy

have a look around your local electrical wholesalers for low voltage compact fluros. These are the same size as the normal compact fluros. The one I use is rated at 13 watts yet _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx less than 0.6 amps. It has a bright white light. Cost about $30.00.

Rocky
AnswerID: 283721

Follow Up By: Rocky_QLD - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:43

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 12:43
Oops that should be Signman
FollowupID: 548341

Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:26

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:26
G'day Signman,

Have a look at campertrailers.org website. In the tech section there is one called the Tuco light. I made one of these. It works really well, and you can make the lead as long as you need (ours is around 10m, 4mm twin core). Bought the 12V fluoro bulb (Edison) and housing from bunnings, and the wire and plug form my local auto electrician.
It is a little bulkier than your average 12v fluoro from ARB etc, and by the time I bought all the bits it was probably a little cheaper than the big name ones, but for me it was the satisfaction I got from making my own.
Ours _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx 0.6amps as well. The cig socket I put on the end was one that you could also remove the red cap and turn it into a merit socket.

AnswerID: 283733

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 15:07

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 15:07
Hi Greg-
Thanks for that lead. Either of those look great!! Off to Bunnings 2moro morning......
FollowupID: 548365

Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:43

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:43
Signman,

The Tuco light I made was the Arlec (WL17) work light (the black and yellow one).
I have picked up a couple of ideas from that site. I also made the camper leveller out of some scrap timber and old 4" brass hinges that I had laying around.

Have fun at Bunnings. I know I do, but my wife and credit card don't.

FollowupID: 548416

Follow Up By: Member - Shane L - QLD - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:40

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:40
Hi guys,
I did the same thing with the Arlec work light, dearest part was the 12 volt spiral fluro globe at $36 (only $10 for the work light) Remember to get ES lamp holder on the work light as the 12 v lamps are ES only. Works very well, I made 2, one for the kitchen and other for dining or in the camper as the need arises.
FollowupID: 548486

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 11:39

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 11:39
G'day Greg & Shane
I got the Arlec work light (with the screw type globe holder).
Also, a 12v screw type globe. Now the screw base of the globe is heaps smaller than the 'holder' in the light unit?? Any clues??

FollowupID: 549457

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 13:15

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 13:15
Signman, Bunnings have the Nelson brand 12v compact fluoro globes, but at $30-odd a pop, they're rather expensive...

Ebay seller " sumotoz " sells solar gear, & he also has (cheap Chinese no-name) 11 & 13w 12v C/F globes (both ES & bayonet cap) at around $6 - $7 ea.
I bought a few of these, & they seem to be quite OK..

Another alternative, if ya have a good supply of globes with the smaller Edison Screw (there are a few different sizes), would be one of these adaptors as pictured here .. (I'm guessing that the BR3304 or 3307 would be applicable in this case.. these ones are in the good ol' U.S. of A;-))...

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 549473

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:21

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:21
Me i run fluro and led, a cfl on a 300 watt dse inverter and a 12 volt jumpstart pack, fluros are 9 watss apiece, led is a work light, plus 2 led visor lights and a led head lamp, little fluro shed light from bunnings is jacked up with additional power box to give me like 5 hours of light from 2500 mah nimh batteries, which i charge with 300 watt inverter.

cfl, free from energy australia
shed light from bunnings for $30
led headlamp with 3 led's dickies for $11
visor lamp with 5 led's from camping store at rainbow beach qld $12 each *2
dse 300 watt inverter $60- $90 Be quick price going up soon.
power station from deals direct $60
energiser 2500mah rechargeable nimh plus charger, $30
extra 2 aa battery pack with switch $3
rechargeable work light 36 led's plus extension lead to run/ charge $30
safety lamp holder which only engages power when light is in fitting $4 each * 2
Cables for cfl had lying around home
time to solder and put bigger batteries in 15mins
time to assemble cfl lights 15 mins
and power board with surge and leakage protection had lying around $4
5m extension lead $10

Probaly expensive but with a wife that has glasses what can i do???

AnswerID: 283767

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:00

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:00
"Are the LED lights as efficient?"

No, but they have the advantage of not attracting insects.

I use an LED lamp at the cooking end of the camper annex and a Versalite at the other end.

I also have a Evakool Torpedo light (compact fluro) and these are every bit as good as the Versalite.

You can save the bucks and make your own, but it will always look...well...home made.

The torpedo _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx around 1/2 amp and according to the blurb, you can drive your car over it. They are very good.

AnswerID: 283785

Follow Up By: Harry - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 17:42

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 17:42
G'day Sandman,
Just going over these old post's and was looking for reference to lights and insects and found what you said .
Could you enlighten me as to what size or how many Led's are you to. Didn't actually mean to say that pun. :>))
I am looking at the lantern type that are around now, but some are just bluddy woeful with the light output. Spinifex put out a 24 Led model which is rechargable 240 and 12 plus dynamo winding to boot.
My missus pricked her ears up when I mentioned "no bugs" with Led's. Win some points there. :>))
Have you tried the Led without the fluro on? Any insects then ?
I have a fluro now, but want a back-up light.
Ave a good 1
FollowupID: 551970

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 09:13

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 09:13
G'day Harry,

The LED light that I have is labelled 8000MCD LED - SUPER BRIGHT 12v LED Worklight.
Part No LED060
2.4W
Has 20 rows of 3 LED's = 60 alltogether.

FollowupID: 552067

Follow Up By: Harry - Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 22:33

Monday, Feb 11, 2008 at 22:33
What's the verdict on the insects bit ?
FollowupID: 552208

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 09:02

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 09:02
The reason I use the LED lamp is because it doesn't attract insects to any noticeable degree.

I use the LED lamp at the cooking area end of the camper annex and a Versalite fluro at the other end. There is no doubt the fluro gives off better light but the LED is sufficient for cooking purposes.

There is an extremely noticable difference of the amount of insects around the fluro compared with the occasional moth around the LED.

Even the gas lantern I previously used attracted multiple insects.

FollowupID: 552249

Follow Up By: Harry - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 18:39

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2008 at 18:39
That's great to hear, Ive picked up a lantern type "CREE X Lamp" from Rays and it is very bright and guess what, only 1 LED.
CREE are a leading manufacturer of electronic bits.
Reflector design says it all.
60hrs on high
240hrs on low
150 hrs flashing
Takes 3 D size.
No where near as bright as 60 leds, but it will be ok for cooking or as a back up light.
Thanks for info, well worth reading.
FollowupID: 552308

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 23:59

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 23:59
Hi Signman
The LEDs don't put out radio interference, a plus.
But I still like the 12v CFLs. Check out the Jaycar website, cat No. SL2850, for about $18, plus small ES base. I've mounted these in a clear plastic container, and they work a treat.
I also have a VersaLite CFL which is really brilliant, but they are about $100.
If you're searching out other brands of CFLs, try to choose one with a daylight phosphor (> 4000K) rather than the warm phosphor. Seems to give more light.
Gerry
AnswerID: 283824

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 11:45

Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 11:45
What's the relationship between " LEDs don't put out radio interference" ... it's a camping light..
Why would one want a camp light & a radio on at the same time??
FollowupID: 548629

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 13:06

Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 13:06
>Why would one want a camp light & a radio on at the same time??

Amateur Radio. My transceiver is frequently monitoring the HF bands when I'm in camp and 40m of wire makes a good antenna for local noise. To be fair I haven't found any issues with my Jaycar CFL but that probably means it's harmonics are above HF.

Gerry: I did exactly the same about 4 years ago with the Jaycar lamp, only issue I had was the lamp holder shook itself apart during travel, I now pack a piece of foam to hold the lamp in place. I also have some aluminum foil covering half of the container to act as a reflector.

One thing I've (I think?) noticed is that in cold weather, below about 7C, the light output from the CFL seems to drop quite a bit, because our eyes respond in a non-linear way to light it's hard to be certain but I certainly don't notice the same issue with my duel fuel lamp.

FollowupID: 548638

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 23:39

Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 23:39
Mike,
Who's out camping when it's 7deg? LOL!
Gerry
FollowupID: 548719

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jan 28, 2008 at 07:54

Monday, Jan 28, 2008 at 07:54
7C = Positively warm! :)

Spent a week in -5C in the High Country two years ago and I'm damn sure the CFL output was well down at that temp.

FollowupID: 548743

Follow Up By: Andrew Main - Monday, Jan 28, 2008 at 08:45

Monday, Jan 28, 2008 at 08:45
Fluro lamps don't perform well in low temperatures, as you start to approach freezing their output drops significantly. This is why there is currently a big push to replace commercial fridge lighting with LEDs.

It's a little bit difficult to say which system is better for lighting in the bush. Good quality high end LEDs will have a higher efficiency than even standard fluro tubes and definitely more than CFLs however unless you really know your LEDs and then know the specifics of the device used in that particular product (which you won't) then it's very hard to tell. If they are the small clear plastic dome type LEDs (through hole) then they will probably have a lower output than a CFL. If they are nice expensive surface mount types than they _may_ have higher a efficiency than a CFL. Sadly at this point there is no way to tell and even if the manufacturer says "100 lm/w!!!!" on the box then there is a fair chance they are lying either intentionally or not.

At this point in time I would still buy CFL lighting for the bush unless I had an opportunity to test the LED lamp against a CFL. Give it another 12-24 months and I'd buy LED.

(LED torchses otoh are brilliant!)

FollowupID: 548750

Follow Up By: Andrew Main - Monday, Jan 28, 2008 at 08:46

Monday, Jan 28, 2008 at 08:46
Or torches even.
FollowupID: 548751

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 16:39

Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 16:39
Just a tought - check through the past posts I think I saw a very good response to LED vs Fluro in regard to insect attraction - one is better/worse than the other. This may have an influence on which one you buy

And while I am on the subject I saw (somewhere) an article that says yellow is the best light. Again I saw 'somewhere' (I obviously spend WAY to much time surfing the internet) an advert from one of the suppliers offering a yellow insert for the standard 12 v light that you buy from 4x4 shops
AnswerID: 283954

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 13:54

Thursday, Jan 31, 2008 at 13:54
Hi Signman

I still think your standard 11watt CFL is the best way to go however recently I saw a table latern at Rays which I think represents the coming of age of LED based table lamps, and is worth consideration.

Brand name was something like Xtree or Ctree - maybe someone else can help here ?

It has a single LED that faces down onto a 360 reflector, is green and of very compact design.

If you check it out be careful, their are many similar products now coming onto the market , often stating things like 1/2 watt or 1 watt on the package, which are meaningless.

I am quite familar with leading edge LED product design and what stood out with this product is that it claimed a specific 176 lumens of light output (more or less equivalent to a current technology 3 - 5watt LED).

This is the only real way to quote light output , and if true this would come close to , but is still below, that of your typical CFL lamp.

This unit only ran of D cells and claimed 30 hours life.

AnswerID: 284720

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:40

Sunday, Feb 10, 2008 at 19:40
I will never buy another 12 volt Fluoro - the latest LEDs are just so bright.

To get really efficient LEDs you really have to buy those that were developed in the last 6 months. Before buying any LED you really need to test its light output versus the current it _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx.

I've just replaced all 5 Interior Lights in my Pajero with LED bulbs bought off eBay and they are SO much brighter than the pathetic yellow light given off by the original bulbs - and they use ONE-FIFTH the current.
AnswerID: 286751