Workshop Owners Dummy-spit

Submitted: Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:13
ThreadID: 53896 Views:3964 Replies:32 FollowUps:65
Is it Friday 13th today????? Dunno

Went to pay some money off my bill today. Proceedings started off OK but a couple of seconds later things went pear shaped.

Me: G'day X, Hows things?

Him: G'day Willie

Me: You want the good news or the bad news?

Him: Either:

Me: Good news is I am bringing you some money.

Him Good. And what's the bad news.

Me: Those hubs are still heating up too much. It's a pity your mechanic didn't think of looking at the brakes because I now suspect that this might be an underlying problem.

Him: (He starts to talk but can't. His voice goes into anger mode with a high pitch while he is writing out a receipt for me. He starts shaking) and says: "You inconsiderate prick, all you can do is to complain. You always come here and criticise. You are never happy with a job.

Me: Hey, I am the customer and just how many jobs have you lot stuffed up over the years. How many times did the gearbox come out? How many wheel bearings have we replaced?

Him: (Now in a violent rage)...Get the F,,,, off my premises. (He hands me a receipt) I never want to see you again. I can do without your business. Just F....O....!!!!!!!!!!!!

Me:(A bit shaken) No worries X, I'll come back later and finalise this account.

Him: (With tears welling in his eyes) Just F....O......!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I go back later and he has retired for the day(Stress leave). His wife gives me a final account. I ask my missus to go and pay it when she goes to town. When that happens Workshop owners wife says sorry made a mistake...... there is another invoice. Missus says OK and pays all the debt. We get home and I check the account. He has made a $200 error in my favour.

Should I go back and say here's the $200 you under charged me??? LOL

Geeez, I dunno......some people...................

Reply By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:21

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:21
Hey Willem,maybe his missus is pouring oil on troubled water here, and making up for his poor customer relations......You can only pay what they ask for mate, and you've done that. Ledger is square, you're receipt says so. Give his business the flick.
AnswerID: 283731

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:58

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:58
Yeah that has been another problem over the past 6 months. The bloke got behind with his books and when I eventually received a bill he had forgotten about the alternator they had fitted. I reminded him about this. Its been a strange 6 months. Its best I stick mucking around with things meself....:-)
FollowupID: 548420

Reply By: Member - Happy Gutz (QLD) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:25

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:25
Sounds as he was really stressed. Poor bugger probably feels like a real ar$%^ole after the rev he gave you. At least. I would hope he does. As for the $200, well that's for you to decide. How well do you know him?
AnswerID: 283732

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:21

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:21
No I doubt whether the fella feels sorry. I think he is happy to be rid of me. I know him reasonably well but only from a business point of view. We aren't mates.
FollowupID: 548405

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:34

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:34
Gday Willem,
Ya inconsiderate ol prick!
It sounds to me that your one of those winging bast#$ds who what what they paid for!!! LOL
Should have told him you werent going to finalise the account untill he fixes the problem.

HaHaHa
AnswerID: 283734

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:44

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:44
Whoops!
Should have read...WANT what they paid for
FollowupID: 548360

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:00

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:00
He would have told me to F off anyway regardless.....lol

FollowupID: 548421

Follow Up By: whyallacookie - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:10

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:10
Actually one of those whinging ****ards who ALSO doesn't want to pay for it now....... Just when your ready!

(He does mention it was on account (on account of not having....)
FollowupID: 548482

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 11:38

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 11:38
whyallacookie, ????????????
FollowupID: 548534

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:21

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:21
prolly a chef from Whyalla Hairy

FollowupID: 548539

Reply By: T-Ribby - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:35

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:35
Me? well I'd send him the $200 with a note;
"Here's the $200 I owe if you recheck your figures. I'm not a miserable prick like you".

1. you do have a debt
2. get some satisfaction out of it.

T.R.
AnswerID: 283735

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:21

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:21
I will think about it :-)

FollowupID: 548407

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 23:41

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 23:41
Yep thats what Id do.....rub it in....plus then you got something up ya sleeve for "next time"

what does around comes around...but then again that could work for him being a rpick and not getting his $200!!!! (or was it 220)

Have a good'n' Willem and be good!!
FollowupID: 548495

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:36

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:36
LOL welcome to the IP club, very exclusive :)))

AnswerID: 283736

Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:47

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:47
Gramps,

Can I join that club too, my missus started calling me that around 12 odd years ago and my mum has been calling me this for nearly all of my 37 years. haha.
You get used to it. Like water off a ducks back. But I do wonder at times if they might be trying to tell me something....LOL

FollowupID: 548361

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:51

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:51
Greg,

This is scary, I think we're related hahahahaha
FollowupID: 548362

Reply By: Moose - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:36

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:36
G'day Willem
Is that the only workshop you have access to? Must be otherwise you would've changed by now given the bad trot you've had from them.
Get yourself a manual and get ya hands dirty! Much cheaper and then you definitely know who to blame when it doesn't work.
Incidentally I doubt that you could caused that level of stress - he must have had other serious problems and you were the proverbial straw!
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 283737

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:54

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:54
There is another workshop in town but that ones owner has the demeanor of a Tasmanian Devil. So we won't go there.

Problems might be over indulgence of red stuff.

FollowupID: 548390

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:30

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:30
"Problems might be over indulgence of red stuff."

Wasn't aware you were into the 'red stuff' Willie.........
have a nice bottle for when you next pass through........LOL LOL

Michael
FollowupID: 548472

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:47

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:47
You know I don't touch the stuff.

You...... on the other hand....have posted 4 times in one night. How much Port is left in the bottle?....LOL

Will drop by again for a cuppa tea and biscuit, however.

FollowupID: 548475

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:38

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:38

AnswerID: 283739

Reply By: Frank_Troopy - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:56

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 14:56
Hey Willem,

Maybe he cooled down and realised you had a fair gripe. The $200 may have been a deliberate act of compensation.

Cheers Frank.
AnswerID: 283742

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:55

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:55
No, he made a mistake whilst in a rage

FollowupID: 548391

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 15:10

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 15:10
I reckon you should take him a nice bottle of scotch for causing
him to have a bad day...........gawd you can be mean........ROFLMAO

Michael
AnswerID: 283745

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:07

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:07
Go back to work, young fella, and stop wasting time on the internet.....lol

FollowupID: 548396

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:46

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:46
Carefull Willie, dont nikoff the supermarket owner as well or you will be walkin and hungry!!! LOL

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 548474

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:58

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:58
Or the Pest Control man?

Supermarket bloke is pure trouble as it is....LOL
FollowupID: 548477

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:05

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:05
No wheels..
No food..
And bugs everywhere........still ROTFLMAO..

-all port gone Willie,,going to bed:)))))
FollowupID: 548478

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 16:04

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 16:04
Willem, sounds to me he had a lot of problems before you accidently started on him.

I once had the same kind of problem with a tyre guy. I never went back, because no matter what his problem was, I didn't cause it.

I took all the crap I needed to in my job before I retired. Now I don't have to take it and refuse to do so.

There is no excuse for treating a good customer poorly. None, full stop, zilch, nada. If someone is unwell in any way and tetering on the edge, they should ask the customer if he can come back later.

We're all only human. We all have bad days...even you LOL

Nevertheless, it sounds like you had a good relationship before this. The question might be, was it good enough to try patching it up? Or is he the only mech in town ?

AnswerID: 283746

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:11

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:11
Yeah...he flew off the handle at me a couple of weeks ago over nothing....but I dismissed it. Today his aggro behaviour manifested itself.

Must say I have been that way too at times when stressed out running a business but these days I am calm. No money but out of debt and no stress.....LOL
FollowupID: 548399

Reply By: Mal and Di - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 16:16

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 16:16
Willem,
Maybe you should get a Toyota and not have the need to go back at all!
M.
AnswerID: 283748

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:57

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:57
I have had Toyotas and they are no different to anything else. Have seen more Toyotas in that workshop than Nissans....
FollowupID: 548392

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:10

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:10
Hey Willem, we know why that is. For every 1 nissan sold, there are 25 yotas sold, thats why you've seen more yotas there.
Cheers Pete and Lez
FollowupID: 548398

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:14

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:14
Which also means that Toyotas break down more.?
FollowupID: 548402

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy (springsure- Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:23

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:23
It also means that the yota's are out on the road and the Pootrol owners are too afraid to in case they blow up..LOL
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 548468

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:38

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:38
Nausiating, infantile comments.

How many beers have you had?

Toyota Nissan Mitsu all Jap Crap

Who TF cares?

FollowupID: 548473

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 16:16

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 16:16
Does your local paper have a write in section?

" these penii have stuffed up many jobs for me over the years. X many times the gearbox came out? X many wheel bearings have we replaced? and then the bloke talks to me like this.

word of mouth would go down well in that area :)
AnswerID: 283749

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:13

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:13
No

Small country town. You know that!...lol

Win some lose some.
FollowupID: 548400

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:25

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:25
I could always put a "savage note" in the shop window
alerting people to this wally that give Willie the finger.........
still..... ROTFLMAO

At home now Willie........
With a nice bottle of port;;))))

Michael
FollowupID: 548469

Reply By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 16:31

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 16:31
Give him the 200 bucks back???

lay a cable in a shoe box with a note "eat this and die" and gift wrap it and drop it in his mailbox.

Seriously though, why should you after the way he has treated you. I reckon its just Karma, plain n simple. It could have caused you a great deal of stress.
AnswerID: 283753

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:16

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:16
Yeah Robert

It will probably blow over but I will be doing my own work from now on. I don't need his crap.
FollowupID: 548404

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 16:58

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 16:58
G'day Willem,
Slightly Off Topic-
I was looking through your web site, & read the story of your Army days. I note you were using .765mm weapon?? In the Aussie army- we used a weapon of that calibre for shooting cockroaches !!
Our standard weapon (in the 60s) was a 7.62mm calibre rimless NATO round in both the SLR & AR.
BTW- I live about 8km from Cordeaux Dam...
AnswerID: 283759

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:42

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:42
Hahahaha...thanks for pointing the typo out. Will repair.

FollowupID: 548387

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:54

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:54
Have repaired error.

We were staying at Wilton over the Xmas period and it was suggested we should have a look at Cordeaux Dam on the way to Wollongong.
FollowupID: 548419

Reply By: furph - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:07

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:07
Willem.
Dummy spits aside, I do wonder just how valid is the possibility of the pads dragging and overheating the wheel bearings.
I have on occassion, run out of brakes due to overheating, but never seen evidence of this causing a bearing problem.
I recall you saying the cups/cones had blued. Now this is HOT, and if it came from the brake discs, you would have surely noticed it (no brakes).
Is it occurring on both fronts/left or right?
Have you had the wheel camber/alignment checked, I would be suspicious you could have a bent stub axle.
If for instance the stub was bent straight back slightly, a wheel alignment would correct this, clouding the effect of a bent stub. It only takes a few thou. and the rollers are bearing on one end only which spells disaster.
The country you travel, something like that is definately a possibility.
If your mechanic did not check the stub/s for straightness I reckon those 200 bills are yours!
furph
AnswerID: 283760

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:05

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:05
furph

The drama started when I had brake pads, rotors and bearings replaced at my request.

Now both front wheels have the same problem. Hubs heat up and grease melts and then leaks out of hub behind backing plate.

The mechanic, I assume, just does the job as requested, and does not look for anything else. On previoius jobs on both our vehicles I have had to ask questions to get anwers. Nothing is freely forthcoming.

FollowupID: 548395

Follow Up By: furph - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:34

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:34
Which seems to clearly put the "mekanik" in the frame.
There must be some relatively simple explanation for this, on NP & TLC, front wheel bearings go the distance with very minimal maintenance.
Good luck with the outcome.
furph
FollowupID: 548450

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 19:42

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 19:42
Willem,

If you think your pads are dragging check the level in the master cylinder.

On our Cape Yorke trip (done in a GQ) I had an issue with pads dragging and actually slowing the car down. It happened after we had been driving for about 2hrs, and I could smell it. The whole wheel assembly, hub and road wheel were too hot to touch.

Anyway turns out the master cylinder was over full. Heat expanded the fluid and it had no where to go so it slowly applied the brakes as it got hotter. I took about 6mm off the top and that solved the problem. I wanted to take it off the bottom but couldn't get to it.

If that fails I know a good spanner man just up the road from your place.

FollowupID: 548579

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 21:18

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 21:18
Thanks Duncs. I hadn't thought of that. Will do an inspection in the morning.

FollowupID: 548584

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:17

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:17
Willem,

With all due respect, theres 2 sides to every story, and I reckon this poor guy is at the end of his tether.

We've heard every chapter of your bearing saga on this forum.
It appears that you've taken the forum's advice ahead of his advice, and you've replaced perfectly good seals and bearings on the forum's advice rather than use his professional opinion. According to the forum he's been using the wrong grease, overtightening the bearings etc etc etc

Now you have a go at him telling him that the forum says the brakes are melting the grease.

Pay what you owe him, apologise, and ask him his professional opinion. Keep him and his wife as friends.

Sincerely,
AnswerID: 283763

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:52

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 17:52
Yes Phil......................................

It didn't quite work that way...saga aside.

Bloke is professional tyre man....mechanic-ing is a sideline with a qualified mechanic. Owner has no qualifications. Mechanic has own nuances and is not someone one can talk to easily. Leaking grease/oil from hubs started the rot after initial replacement work. Repeat work was done at the insistance of workshop owner.

Yes I have been LAZY and should repair my own vehicle but have tried to spread my super around town and seeing as I have all these aches and pains I have resorted to getting others to do the dirty work.

I don't hold grudges(except for a few on EO...lol) but my business days at that place are over

FollowupID: 548389

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:27

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:27
Way to go Willem...who needs that sh@t. How did you keep your cool when confronted by this ???????
FollowupID: 548408

Follow Up By: ob - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:35

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:35
As a mechanic who has been in the trade for the best part of 45 years and has had to take this from the other side now and again sometimes my fault sometimes not all I can say is thank God I am retiring next year LOVL
FollowupID: 548410

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:38

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 18:38
lovl ????
FollowupID: 548413

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:16

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:16
laughing out very loud???

FollowupID: 548427

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:30

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:30
Ta
FollowupID: 548428

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:44

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:44

Its good to see that most of our fellow forumites can keep a sense of humour when everything around seems to be turning to sh1t. Willem no one should have to put up with ongoing bad service. Everyone deserves a chance to fix their mistakes IMHO but after a while you have to ask yourself is this the man for the job.

Have a go yourself, it sounds as though you couldnt do much worse :-)))

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 548432

Follow Up By: mr fixit - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 08:30

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 08:30
>>Went to pay some money off my bill today.

I have been a motor mechanic fo the last 45years and had my own business for the last 22 years. . . . .and one thing that used to bleep me no end was me financing somebody else's life. . . . anyway there is probably two sides to that and we will only hear one.

If your hubs are leaking out near the backing plate it will most likley be the inner axle seal. . . .. nothing to do with brakes or wheel bearings.

Mate . . . .let me tell you something dont take too much advice from expers at the pub or experts on forums. . .pay your mechanic and ask him to fix it.
FollowupID: 548514

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 11:34

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 11:34
Ahhh Mr Fixit...............

Everyone reads what they want to in these threads to suit their own needs

Some sage advice and some rubbish advice is forthcoming.

BTW Inner axle seals are fine as I did an inspection at one stage when the whole front end was stripped.

I don't go to the pub but spend an inordinate amount of time here on the forum.

I filter the advice. Many people here have worked on similar problems themselves and that is what is so good about this forum. They can give their opinion on the subject and I can take it or leave it. I give similar advice on outback travel. It is up to the individual to take it or leave it.

FollowupID: 548532

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:00

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:00
You being a cantankerous old bugger? Surely not Willem. lol
AnswerID: 283784

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:52

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 19:52
Hahahahah Surely not!!!!! :-)
FollowupID: 548435

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:06

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:06
No Willem's been a fabulous bloke since Doug swiped his Grumpy pills. Seriously LOL
FollowupID: 548440

Reply By: A J - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:05

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:05
Willem - read many articles you have posted here and on your web site - appear to be a great bloke.

If it was me I would go to the workshop early one morning with accounts, receipts and the $200 and ask him to go through them with you. When he finds his mistake give him the $200 and tell him to forget about Friday. He will accept the money and respect your honesty.

But only you can decide what is the correct approach - you have to live in that small community.

Is your reputation worth $200 ????

A J
AnswerID: 283790

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:14

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:14
AJ

Hmmmm....... Greatness is in the eye of the beholder....lol
Many tell me I whinge too much.

Basically I don't care what people think of me.

If the fella apologises for his stupid behaviour I will ask him the question, but I already know the answer.

Life is like that.................
FollowupID: 548443

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:20

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:20
AJ...santa claus is real, and so is the easter bunny, not to mention the tooth fairy....but still your virtues impress me.
FollowupID: 548444

Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:27

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:27
Willem!!, Business is business, Why where you so anxious to pay any money at all?? There is a big problem there with the works carried out!, or a big problem with the front end of your vehicle, Its up to him to make a decission on wether he can sort it or not! Other wise its money paid for jack chit! "Your money"

If he is at fault , You pay the account then he wins," STUFF THAT"

Cheers Axle

AnswerID: 283792

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:51

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:51
Axle, the problem with the front end is only part of the dealings.

FollowupID: 548456

Reply By: Fazz - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:48

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 20:48
Willem,
One thing that puzzles me is you mentioned (SOME MONEY),is you so called mechanic financing your repairs, Sounds as if you you don't pay up front??? & then there his statement about all you can do is criticize, complain & are never happy with the job??

I would like to hear your mechanic's side of the story??
Just may be true???

Geeez, I dunno.....some people.......

Good for a stir

Fazz
AnswerID: 283794

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:00

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:00
Fazz

You are reading too much into this

I have an account with the business which I can pay whenever I need to within reason. Normally 30 to 60 days as most businesses run.

I am sure that hearing the mechanic's side of the story will corroborate with mine. But what is that to you? Anyway, who are you?

The story is about someone losing the plot for no reason at all and the ongoing saga of a repair job that cannot be fixed as documented here on the Forum over the past couple of months.

I now have to find a solution to this problem myself wheareas in the past I have entrusted those with qualifications in this field to come up with the answer.
FollowupID: 548459

Follow Up By: Fazz - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 21:43

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 21:43
Willem,
Again maybe I am reading to much into this, but even you stated I can pay when ever I need to?
Have I missed something but what was the original problem (Gearbox to wheel bearings) Then brakes heating up??? WHAT IS THE ORIGINAL DISPUTE ABOUT????
Pay the man & go to a authorized dealer & see if you have better luck??

As I said before "Good for a stir"

Cheers ,
Fazz
FollowupID: 548588

Reply By: Member - LOS BUSH - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:04

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:04
g'day Will, Pay the money,move on and sleep at night in saying that, let me quote rule 26 of my 100 rules I live by-

Try to determine the long-term consequences of any action before taking it.

Los
AnswerID: 283796

Follow Up By: Member - LOS BUSH - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:09

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:09
Another rule you may think about Wil--rule 40

Cut problem people out of you life ,quickly and cleanly

Los
FollowupID: 548462

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:16

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:16
We'd all be interested in a full post of your 40 rules....let's see them...I like rule 40 though.
FollowupID: 548465

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:17

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:17
even the 100 :-)))))
FollowupID: 548466

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:22

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 21:22
Oh Gawd Los, are you quoting parables? Lifes meaning isn't so deep. And I will sleep well tonight.

I put that last bit in as a throw away line. I will deal with it in my own way.

BTW my name is Willem and not Will.......
FollowupID: 548467

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:09

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:09
Take the money, root the chick and speed out of town.

I think I saw that in a movie LOL
AnswerID: 283807

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:23

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:23
Although, what I would do is give the money back and mention the financial error they had made and then walk away
FollowupID: 548485

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 15:27

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 15:27
Hey Bware,

you've just quoted LOS BUSH's rule Number ONE.

FollowupID: 548553

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:18

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:18
Willem,

I've followed this thread as best I could and started to loose track with all the contradictory advice/suggestions, together with the fact that I'm sinking my eleventeenth red.

Now in all seriousness it appears to me that your service provider has suffered a temporary brain snap due to - well we won't go there as iI believe you guys live in a small town and there's no need to embarrass the fellah.

Now the guy has let off steam. He's released his tensions, he's had a dummy spit and feel s a lot better. You and the rest off us should be compassionate - understanding, exhibit a little empathy. After all it's obvious that there are deep, underlying problems here.

As a compassionate, caring, understanding and humane person, (yes I'm referring to you), the last thing you should do is to upset this guys equilibrium, (waited a long time to use that word).

Just imagine the trauma returning the two hundred bucks would do.

The guy can't do his sums. He then goes ape bleep cause he's not sure if you know that and are taking the piss or if your just testing him. Think about that, he might be going crazy, does he acknowledge that your right and put out his hand for the money and admit that he can't manage his accounts or does he say nothing, avoid the issue and then spend the rest of his life knowing that you topped him for two hundred bucks.

You offer him the money you believe is his despite the bleep ty service history and place him in a quandary. Does he take the money and again acknowledge his bookkeeping shortfalls and that you are a top guy, or does he tell you to stick your two hundred where the sun don't shine and again look like a complete bleep .

Willem! It's time to do the right thing! I would be extremely disappointed should you not show compassion and understanding.

Keep the two hundred in your kick and not complicate this pricks life any more than it is.

AnswerID: 283808

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 07:54

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 07:54

Very sage words after the Eleventeenth.....LOL

FollowupID: 548511

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:40

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:40
G'day Williem,

bloody hell, it's not even football season yet!

oh well, remember Monty Python "always look on the bright side of life"

how's Judith enjoying the cricket?

kind regards,

Jeremy.

btw Jeddah, I buried Natasha's four legged one today....nasty business.
AnswerID: 283810

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 07:52

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 07:52
G'day Jeremy

Yesterday Jeddah disgraced herself whilst on our morning walk. I had her off the lead and was looking somewhere else when she bowled over another early morning walkers' doggie, also off the lead. All teeth and noise but doggie then ran home and I had to apologise profusely and tell Jeddah off. She took scant notice of what I said. When I threatened her with my finger she closed he eyes....LOL

FollowupID: 548510

Reply By: Bros 1 - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:50

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 22:50
Willem,
It is all up to you and your conscience bloke. Whatever you feel comfortable with is the answer to handing back the moola.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 283811

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 23:06

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 23:06
Hey Happy Birthday for yesterday mate.

you've got the whole weekend to celebrate!
FollowupID: 548489

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 07:56

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 07:56
Yer right mate. It will itself out.

Yeah...and Happy Birthday

FollowupID: 548512

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 18:07

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 18:07
Thanks and regards.
Bros

FollowupID: 548571

Reply By: Bros 1 - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 23:39

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 23:39
Thanks.
Where are the birthdays listed.
Bros

AnswerID: 283822

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 23:44

Friday, Jan 25, 2008 at 23:44
hey i'm still up!

listed?

i don't know mate, just wishing you Happy Birthday!

he he.....(try "Events" up the top of the Forum page.)
FollowupID: 548496

Reply By: Bros 1 - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 00:06

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 00:06
Yeah, got em. Double thanks.
Bros.

AnswerID: 283825

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 10:46

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 10:46
Hey Willem

I would walk back in the door with the $200.

You will either get an apology or told to F off.

One response will make you $200 the other sort the problem out.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 283845

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:26

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:26
Yep me too

FollowupID: 548540

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:26

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:26
Willem, Does he have a cat?

AnswerID: 283852

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 13:14

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 13:14
LMAO

FollowupID: 548543

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 21:15

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 21:15
Lets not go there Bonz....:-)
FollowupID: 548583

Reply By: RovingOz (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 10:37

Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 10:37
Willem
The chap was most likely sick and tired of taking the crap for his mechanics failings and when you said "It's a pity your mechanic didn't think of looking at the brakes..." of course he took it personally, couldn't take anymore and finally snapped. Maybe if you had worded it differently - "I think we need to look at the brakes..." but by the sounds of it you are also very sick and tired of the mechanics long term failings too so bugger 'em why should you have to put up with this crap you just want the bloody truck fixed, someone's got to jolt this guy into lifting his game. Especially since he feels he's already bent over backwards for you (explains the "inconsiderate prick" comment) and still he thinks he can't satisfy you.

As for the money I don't think it's the issue - forget it. The issue is he has offended you and whether he will apologise, otherwise in the small town he'll tell everyone who'll listen what a winging ungrateful mongrel you are. You'll have to make the 1st move, he certainly won't and is too angry to do the right thing. You'll feel better and it will put the matter to rest... oh and you're $200 in front :-) it's a win, win.
AnswerID: 283921

Reply By: Member - Jack - Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 15:33

Sunday, Jan 27, 2008 at 15:33
Pretty frustrating stuff, Willem.

Personally, if the money is owed, I would pay it, because that is the right thing to do. But in doing so I would be so syrupy pleasant that even *my* skin would crawl ... that way you win both ways ... you haven't ripped him off, and he will be totally confused and probably feel like an absolute fool.

Then . .. don't deal with him again.

Good luck with it though. I know my immediate reaction would have been to sit him on his backside, but have found out that nobody wins that stuff in the end.

Have fun.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 283951

Reply By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 09:17

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2008 at 09:17
triple check your accounts... wouldn't want to give him $200 for nothing! (if you decide to go that way)
AnswerID: 284279