Its Official.. I'm a Grumpy Old Man, 51 today!!!

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 08:09
ThreadID: 53908 Views:3088 Replies:14 FollowUps:15
I'm told by my kids this morning that i can move to the Grumpy old man category from today. They reckon i started some time back so I would be in full swing for today. Apparently this is the official starting time in a blokes life so look out from now on, i'll be putting a damper on all positive posts...:) .. Michael.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 08:38

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 08:38
You little Ripper. Join the Club, need some backup at times....lol

AnswerID: 283835

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:13

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:13
Morning Doug,

that cartoon reminds me of a memorable party I went to many years ago.

Just substitute the old bloke for a beautiful young lady, and she was sitting on a photocopier, not a table.

Not a stitch on, too.

FollowupID: 548515

Follow Up By: JJ - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:14

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:14
Hey D&D, Excuse me bogging in. Just curious about your profile pic. Can you tell me who's truck was it, what year & where at on the Nullabor? Looks like Bob P's truck. PS can't go to your profile pagee coz I'mnot a member!
FollowupID: 548516

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:48

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:48
Gone Bush
Your just a D V 8

FollowupID: 548521

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:51

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:51
JJ
Truck belonged to Vic Bramich , Brisbane, and I operated it Brisbane / Darwin only, 2 a month, the photo was taken on the Winton-Boulia road 1981.

FollowupID: 548523

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 10:50

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 10:50
Gday Doug,
Im confused ???

Your rig pic says on the Nullabor...
And the Photo is taken on the Winton-Boulia road 1981 ?
I went across the Nullabor the other day and ended up in Perth???? I feel sort of ripped off... Although...Iwas hoping to end up over there..LOL

FollowupID: 548528

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:07

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:07
I don't understand Gone Bush, was there a lack of chairs, or did she want to be able to see better cause photocopiers are higher than a chair, or did she think she needed some "up-lighting" to highlight a feature of her make-up????? What is you point of doing that?

FollowupID: 548536

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (FNQ) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:37

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:37
Hairy
Bugger....I forgot to change the text, thanks for sorta hinting at that , I will fix it.

FollowupID: 548542

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 15:35

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 15:35
Hey Bonz,

It was a long time ago. I'll try to find the photocopies to see if I can remember why we did it.

.............oh there they are.

...........NOW I REMEMBER !!! (I'll be back in a minute or so).

FollowupID: 548555

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 15:43

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 15:43
but if she was siiting up high on top she wouldnt be able to reach the copies so its a pointless exercise

FollowupID: 548556

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 16:09

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 16:09
Bonz !!

Do you want one of the photocopies !!??

FollowupID: 548558

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 16:10

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 16:10
no thanx Gone Bush, I am tall enough standing up, I dont need to sit on anything to elevate my eyesight

FollowupID: 548559

Reply By: Snowbunny - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 08:59

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 08:59
Many happy returns there Michael, an old man once told me to never trust a fart once you hit 50.!
AnswerID: 283836

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 11:34

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 11:34
Dead right snowbunny...that can lead to dis-arse-ter.

Happy 50th Michael..ahh those were the days :-))
FollowupID: 548533

Follow Up By: Member - Prado Garageo - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 19:14

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 19:14
Australia Day Too --- Congratulations. Also be advised you should no longer pass a public convenience without entering it and the third imperative is that you cannot now afford to waste an "e l ection" !

You are also qualified to tell the wiz kid salesman that you dont want to know how the Navman works.... you just want to know how to work the Navman
Beat wishes & good luck
FollowupID: 548578

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:42

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 09:42
Hi Michael

You are only as old as you feel, I recently turned 60, and can still
put in a fair days effort, as a plumbing contractor, I have bits and
pieces falling of, or getting cut off on a regular basis, my cook keeps
on telling me to retire, but I am to bloody pig headed, We are all
set up to start travelling, I think I am a Pig Headed Grumpy old
B**ST*D. but hell we enjoy life.

Daza
AnswerID: 283839

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 10:11

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 10:11
Michael

Welcome to the club . At 57+ I have been in the GOM (grumpy Old Man) club for a few years but mate life just keeps getting better. I keep on waking up on the green side of the grass so I'm so much better off then the souls living their days out under ground. Even if I'm having a s....t of a day it's always good.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 283844

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 11:20

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 11:20
Happy Birthday Ya ol Bast@rd!!!!
AnswerID: 283848

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 11:24

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 11:24
So I suppose you want some birthday greetings!!!!

Welcome to GOMC.....LOL

Yerrr....AND....Happy Birthday

AnswerID: 283849

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:09

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:09
I didn't realise there was an age limit to membership of Willems GOMC, Strewth, I have been an honorary member for years, just ask SWMBO and the kids.

AnswerID: 283851

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:09

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 12:09
And happy Birthday too old mate, I aint there yet but I can see it from here

FollowupID: 548537

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 15:21

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 15:21
Just be warned. DONT let anyone talk you into having the tests they can do to see if you have a lack of testosterone, The wife and Daughters convinced me to get them done and found out I was just naturally grumpy.
FollowupID: 548552

Reply By: Kiwi & "Mahindra" - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 16:55

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 16:55
You are officially 1yr off being twice my age....so from a young'n' to an oldie......HAPPY BIRTHDAY....and all the other yada yada yada.......!!

Laura

AnswerID: 283866

Reply By: CLC50 - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 17:37

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 17:37
Gee you young guys
I am 71 in March & my oldest boy is 50 in a couple of weeks ,& I still love my Truck when I die it can die with me not before LOL

I must be one of the oldest members with out a walking Stick
AnswerID: 283870

Reply By: jdbb - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 18:37

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 18:37
Happy birthday.

I hit 55 today - start digging into my super next week with TTR - that makes me a pensioner I suppose - who would have thunk it.
AnswerID: 283877

Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 20:11

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 20:11
Well done, Michael: it's all good mate. Happy Birthay from RayJen
AnswerID: 283886

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Kath - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 20:30

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 20:30
Have a great day Michael, I get grumpier in a couple of months myself.
AnswerID: 283888

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 20:47

Saturday, Jan 26, 2008 at 20:47
Ohhhh stop your whinging you old bugger. It's only another birthday, surely at your age you are not remembering them anyway so what you complaining about LOL!!!

Happy birthday buddy. Enjoy the pressies, the blue pill needs to be taken 1/2hr beforehand ROFLMAO!!!

Trevor.
AnswerID: 283890

Reply By: CLC50 - Monday, Jan 28, 2008 at 11:38

Monday, Jan 28, 2008 at 11:38
Open the link Guys how VERY True

Wheels of Life
AnswerID: 284068